We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room poorly trained staff”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“small room poorly trained staff”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Got put in Villa Park. Barely enough room to put my suitcase down and single beds. Last night dinner was ok but hoards of tourists. Staff not happy and do not speak English well this for a resort town is not easy to understand. Last night I asked a question at reception, the guy said What do you want? If I were his boss, there would be some training here. Door card did not work nor was there soap in the room, took at least 3 different people to remedy this. This is a seperate building maybe to throw the bus tourists in. The ones in the main building rate a balcony. Wifi does work and breakfast was very good except the coffee.
Location - take no 6 bus get tickets at top of promenade to toen and same back . Supermarket at top of road has a bank of atms. Hotel has fitness room and pool. Several restaurants on promenade and rocky beach to the left. This is first of 2 nights. Had a nice day going to town do takr the cable car the view is great

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cactus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    578
    236
    57
    34
See reviews for
202
639
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just back from the Grand Park, room with a great sea view. Stayed on a half board basis , well worth the extra money. Good selection of food, nice rooms would definitely recommend
Great sunsets and nice loaction

Room Tip: request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymaker2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location is very good, about 15 minutes on a regular bus to Dubrovnik, but also a few hundred yards to local bars and restaurants. However this the only real positive for this hotel. The dinning room is very basic and more like a canteen; the service from the waiters is really poor, you will wait forever to place your drinks order and this is after waiting for a free table. There are plenty of tables but they just don't get cleared fast enough and this means the dining room can be half empty but the tables are full of dirty dishes. The dining room staff are very abrupt and disinterested but this is nothing compared to the staff in the onsite "Taverna" who are downright rude.

The food is not bad, but not very interesting and very repetative, you also need to arrive early because although open between 7pm and 9pm by 8 pm there is very little left apart from the stuff nobody wants.

The rooms are quite small and very basic although quite clean, the bathrooms are very small with a most of the room taken up by a shower cubicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpooleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was disappointed by the hotel. Rooms were not neat/clean (stains on walls, grounds, mould in bathroom...). The wifi in my room was so limited that I couldn't use internet. Also, be aware that when buying the room for the Grand hotel park, you might actually get a room that is not in the hotel but in a small building next to it called 'villa'. I asked to change room but really had to insist. The other room I got (in the 'real' hotel building) was not much better.
Staffing was average but definitely not the type of staff you expect from a 4 stars hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank emilie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Rooms small and bathrooms tiny with shower pod. The service in the dining room was very poor indeed, with staff having no concept of customer service. The staff in the taverna were rude. Food was very bland and repetitive and not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. What's more, if you didn't get there early enough there was nothing left.
Cleanliness left a lot to be desired in the dining room,but also in the pool area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazlemereBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Dubrovnik is the most beautiful city we have ever visited. While there are not many specific sites to see the overall ambience of the city is unsurpassed.

We loved our stay at the Grand Hotel Park. The staff was amazing, especially the beautiful woman who worked the morning shift. The rooms were very spacious, the breakfast was the best we have ever seen in the 40 countries we have visited and the pool was amazing. It was very big and my son loved swimming in it. The hotel is located in Lapad. A few minutes walk and you are on the beach. Lots of cool shops to browse through. If you travel to Dubrovnik and have a family you should look no further than the Grand Hotel Park. It is a 15 minute ride to the old town and it is like being in a resort.

Room Tip: The penthouse has two bedrooms and a private elevator. We loved the privacy and space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenandIssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our second consecutive year at the grand park. We found the hotel ideal for us in an ideal location. The service, food, rooms and general grounds were great including the pool. Extra sun beds this year negated the need to rush down after breakfast. Croatia is a wonderful country as is the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BARRY1945316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#30 of 67 in Dubrovnik
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing