We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for first visit to Croatia”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great base for first visit to Croatia”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel was a lovely place to stay as a base to travel around the Dubrovnik area. I can't wait to go back to Croatia but would not necessarily stay at the same hotel, partially as I would like to see other parts of the country. The hotel was very accommodating to all our needs; having travelled with my other half, it was his birthday on the day we arrived. I emailed the hotel about 2 weeks before we went on holiday requesting we have a room higher up in the hotel to make the most of the views (it really is worth paying for a balcony and sea view!) and if they could provide a surprise bottle of beer or wine for him. I was emailed back the same day saying they would ensure both my requests were met. when we got into the room on the day we arrived low and behold we had a mini champagne and a top floor room. the views were wonderful and I could watch the sun set into the sea every night. the room was great and served its purpose - staying in Croatia there is so much to see and do you'd be wasting your time spending a day at the hotel! we both needed an extra pillow which arrived in the afternoon. in the room we had a safe which on one occasion wouldn't open, after we called the reception desk someone came and sorted it within 5 minutes. the bathroom and shower areas were clean and modern, there was no lock on the door but when theres two of you it should be fairly obvious where the other is! there was a tv with limited English channels but again you don't go on holiday to watch tv! the staff were friendly and spoke English certainly enough to get by and most were fluent.
the location was perfect for us; a nice quiet beachfront area, which was quiet at night. there are a handful of bars which are open late, and along the past heading round the headland there is the Hotel more with The Cave bar - I would thoroughly recommend this! there was a small shingle beach, with a nearby bar and the loungers are free. the water is crystal clear but you will need some beach shoes to get to the water.

USEFUL INFO: you seem to be able to change any currency into Kuna at the reception desk at a very good rate. You can buy bus tickets at the little shop within the hotel reception for the same price as a Tisak stand (which are located close to hotel too) - you need a ticket per trip but can buy bulk amounts of tickets if you want and one ticket is also valid for an hour so if you get to town and find you've forgotten your purse or something you can go back and get it on the same ticket. buses on Friday and Saturday nights are VERY busy. if you don't like squeezing up against perfect strangers don't bother getting the bus - get a taxi! the hire car service from hotel reception is very good.

THE NEGATIVE POINTS: having been up at 2am to get to the airport for a 6am flight we could not check in at the hotel until 2pm - we arrived at the hotel about 11am (local time). If the hotel is full those checking out can stay in the room until 12, and then these obviously need to be made new again hence the 2pm check in. however after an already long day, and the hotel knowing so many guest will be dropped off that morning it would be nice if they could change their check out time to accommodate the incoming guests - a 10am check out wouldn't be all that painful for those checking out! we both felt this day was wasted hanging around waiting to check in - we went for a wonder around, and had lunch and some drinks but would have been nice to change out of our travel clothes etc.
the food - generally the food was plentiful but very average, although breakfast was good. I had a small fried breakfast every morning which was yummy but the bacon was occasionally riddled with cysts and so did put you off a bit - you just had to be careful picking your slices! The coffee by all accounts was terrible but there was a variety of teas, fruit juices, fresh fruit etc. being buffet, the food was never quite hot when it reached your plate, but some dishes were tasty (Gnocci with chicken sauce, fish varieties...) I feel that if you are a vegetarian you would struggle to have a good meal here. we ate at the hotel 6 evenings out of 7 mainly because we paid half board and felt we did not want to pay twice to eat. the desserts, whilst very pretty were just not as good as they looked and was often disappointed.
I look forward to seeing Croatia again :-)

Room Tip: worth paying for a room with a balcony and sea view - beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    602
    248
    60
    38
See reviews for
214
663
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from a two week vacation in beautiful Croatia. We stayed at this hotel on a half board basis. The hotel was the only option on the package I booked. The hotel is a good basic hotel but I would not class it as a 4*. Pro's are good location, staff were all very friendly and helpful and had a beautiful view from our room. Good bus service into the Old Town and restaurants and bars within spitting distance. Cons restaurant was more like a canteen, very brightly lit and no atmosphere, you could not spend a relaxing evening in their eating, it was just a place to fuel yourself. Although the Dinner times were between 7pm and 9pm, if you got to the restaurant at 8.30pm you felt like you were getting the dreggs. Cannot complain about how the food was cooked, nothing was bad but just very samey and bland. No atmosphere in the restaurant at all Breakfast was much the same and the queue for the coffee machine in the morning was a bore. We actually chose to eat out for 2 evenings.
Also found the hotel had many much older guests so even being in my late 40's i felt quite young! Swimming Pool was clean but the sunbathing areas were quite unattractive.
Bearing in mind all of this I absolutely loved Croatia and would recommend it to anyone - will definitely go back but probably chose a smaller boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 4th floor or above with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatBow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel Reception - Swift check-in, polite, good English (heard speaking German and French too) with majority of staff. Plenty of seating, easy to find your way round. 4*

Room - Not overly large, balcony a bit small and two singles, not one double, but lovely bathroom and clean/tidy and ok decor. 3*

Food (we were half board) - Breakfast a large choice buffet, with omelettes cooked to order, not exactly gastronomic excellence, but tasty. Dinners were basic, not much local cuisine, but again - tasty. Taverna (pay separately) had really good food. 3*

Hotel General standards - Hotel looks great while also isn't ornate at all, and doesn't have an air of 'poshness' which could be good or bad depending on your views! Some areas look a little dated, while efforts have been made to make it modern with some lovely decor/furniture. A spa is available, but we did not use it. Pool is very nice, seawater, with an indoor pool and gym which both look great. 3.5*

Surrounding area - A stone's throw from the beach and about 10-15 bars/cafes and restaurants within 2-3 minutes walk. Beach is pebble (smooth thankfully!) with beautiful clear blue water. Plenty to walk and see close by, bus routes and supermarkets also very close while it still feels nicely secluded. Kids Park on site too and even sculptures of the Predator and Alien! 5*

Overall - A lovely holiday was had here, with a really relaxing feel at all times, staff were friendly, and with Dubrovnik being beautiful itself, I would highly recommend the Grand Park Hotel, but don't expect a true 4*, more like a '3 star plus'. I'll give it a 4 out of 5

For comparison, we were a late 30s couple going during school term (no kids!). Mainly elderly people the week we were there, although the day we left it seemed like more young couples were arriving, it's suitable for all child free hols!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnasher1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Fantastic holiday staying at this hotel, where staff was so helpful, Breakfasts were amazing, with such array of choices on offer, Hotel so close to beach and restaurants, access to regular buses and probably the best holiday that I have had for years. highly recommend to everyone who wants to visit Croatia and this hotel.

Room Tip: View over looking pool and sea is the best with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned from a couple weeks in Croatia, and reflect happily on our four night stay in this terrific hotel. The room was slightly above average in decor, but small considering that one large suitcase could not be supported on the stand without intruding on walking space at the foot of the bed. That said, it was a fully functioning room with air, hair dryer, small fridge and the four person elevator worked every time. Even a little outdoor balcony for two for smokers. There was an excellent variety of foods available in the huge well appointed dining room for the buffet breakfasts and dinners. Good, prompt table clearing service.
Gorgeous outdoor pool and large indoor pool. Hotel faces a promenade to the beach loaded with restaurant options in all price ranges. Market five minute walk away. Entertainment nightly at outdoor restaurants on the promenade. Young families abound. Lovely area is Lapad. Terrific intro to our vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinihut2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

grand park is a good hotel. food is very enjoyable.
service exelent. the area around the hotel at night is vibrant.shame there is no entatainment in the hotel. a visit to dubrovnik is a must.my main purpose for visiting croatia was my sons wedding.he was married in the old town.what a place to do this.fantastic setting. would recomend it to any one. the drive back to the airport reminded me of the amalfi drive in italy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Recently spend 5 days in Park Hotel on a package holiday from Jet2.com. The hotel in located a few miles away from Dubrovnik town on the Lapad peninsula. The location is convenient for getting around the Dalmatian coast.

Pros.

1. Good clean rooms.
2. Great looking bathroom
3. Excellent staff with quick check in and helpful in organizing trips.
4. We had a half board with buffet for breakfast and dinner and enjoyed both meals as there was a reasonable variety of food available.
5. Easy walking distance within reach of scores of restaurants along Lapad beach walkway. Though we never ate in Lapad except on arrival.

Cons.
1. No kettle or tea/ coffee making things in the room. (This is missed sorely)
2. Wifi was free but was very slow in the evenings. Early mornings and late nights it worked fine
3. The hotel in not on the beach. But they have an area on the beach just across the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jubbin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#43 of 68 in Dubrovnik
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing