We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very good”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Hove Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Generally very good”
Reviewed 12 September 2008

we have recently stayed from a stay at this hotel. Having read all the reviews prior to going we were slightly apprehensive. However most of our fears were unfounded.
We stayed in the main hotel. I would agree with the comments that the rooms are a bit small, and there is definitely a lack of storage space.The rooms were refurbished last year and are nice. There is plenty of hanging space, just no drawers or shelves to speak of. There is a large shelf at the top of the wardrobe where spare pillows and blankets are stored and you can get these removed and use this.
If you like a bath, as I do , this may not be the ideal hotel.Most rooms have fantastic large walk in showers with extra jets and a seat. I had asked for a room with a bath and 2 days later we were moved to one, which was a rather old-fashioned hip bath.larger rooms for 3 people had modern jacuzzi type baths.

Food. - Breakfasts were excellent, every type of hot and cold food imaginable. I don't drink coffee, but there were different types of tea available and herb teas. My husband had coffee from the machine and said it was fine.
We were booked half-board and were pleasantly surprised. There was plenty of choice, lots of salads, 2 soups, several different meat dishes,a fish dish, omlettes , and pasta, and lots of different interesting vegetable dishes each day. Not cordon bleu, but well-cooked and very good value for £6 a head.

Staff. Generally we found these to be very helpful and friendly. Anything I phoned down for was brought very quickly.

Pool area. Very nice. During our 1st week there beds were reserved with towels on as early as 7. Madness! We were not bothered, and like to sit round the pool later in the day when some were vacated. By early September there were always spare beds. The two pools, indoor and out, are strong seawater which some don't like but I enjoyed them.
The beach is two minutes away and the sea is lovely to swim in.

Location is excellent. Lapad is very pleasant and it is good to get away from the mad bustle of Dubrovnnik old city. Lapad is a true resort, sea, cafes, little shops etc. and lots of hotels have outside entertainment in the eve where you can sit and have a drnnk.

MY FINAL POINT If you are going to Croatia make sure you have a very good travel nsurance policy. I was taken seriously ill at the beginning of our second week there and had to have major abdominal surgery. Our lovely holiday became a nightmare. BUt thank goodness for many things. Firstly the hospital is in Lapad, which at least made it easy for my poor husband to visit. Secondly,our insurance covered everything, - extended stay in hotel, escorted travel home. Thirdly we booked through an excellent company, Holiday Options,highly recommended. Our holiday rep was wonderful, the best ever. She helped my husband sort everything out, visited me, answered queries and even brought me food as the hospital food was awful. We would never have managed without her.
Also, the hotel staff were kind and helpful. They lent us a wheelchair when I came out of hospital and often asked my husband how I was.

To sum up,the hotel was generally good, and everything about the area was very nice, but try not to get ill! The hospital standards are way behind ours.

  • Liked — modern
  • Disliked — lack of storage space
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank musicmaam2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    593
    245
    59
    37
See reviews for
209
657
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Stayed here with my wife for 1 week in August and despite getting mixed reviews here I felt overall it was pretty good.

On arrival at 12.30pm, our room was not ready but as check in is at 2pm we were expecting this. The staff offered to store our luggage while we had a drink in the bar and a look about. I felt that the staff were helpful throughout the stay.

The rooms are not very big and storage space is very limited in the rooms. The bathroom was nice with a power shower and water jets. We had paid extra for a balcony and sea view and in keeping with the theme, the balcony was also quite small. Despite the size, the room was well appointed and would rate somewhere between a 3-4 star.

we stayed on a B&B basis and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and tasty although it would be recommended to get here before 9am as food is not replenished at a rapid rate between 9-10 (as numbers dwindle)

The area around the pool is nice but there is a shortage of sun beds and again an early start is needed to compete with those who use them to store their towels for all but 1 hour of the day. The pool is a salt water pool and really nice, in addition there is an indoor pool.

The bar areas were very nice with one bar near reception and one near the pool and food is served in both (light snacks, toasties etc). Again, the staff were very friendly and food quality was good. We saw entertainment in the 'Taverna' on 2 of the 7 nights that we were here and it was a local singer.

Nearby, there were some nice restaurants on the promenade and I would recommend the Kompas (Hotel) restaurant and the Terraca. The Kompas did have some live music during dinner.

The number 6 bus will get you to the Pile Gate entrance of Dubrovnik and the bus stop is at the top of the hill 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

This is a nice hotel, it recently became a 4 star and to be fair it is probably just about a 4 star. If the rooms were a little bigger, the pool area extended and a policy of removing towels that have been orphaned for more than an hour then they would cement that 4th star

  • Liked — pools not too crowded
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkPaul23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We are a couple both aged 50, and this was our first visit to Croatia.
We were very surprised and impressed by the quality of this hotel, and indeed the whole surrounding area.
Everything is so clean and airy, and there are so many seating areas outside we often had one to ourselves!
The pool area is ample, and the water itself very pleasant for swimming. Although earlier on in the day you may have to be quick to get a bed and brolly, we preffered to use the pool late afternoon/early evening when we had the run of the place.
Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean.
Thebathroom had no bath, but a very good walk in shower, toilet, basin and bidet. Plenty of clean towels and ample space.
I also thought the room was rather lacking in storage space because there were no drawers! Not bad for just two people though.
A very short stroll brings you to the 'main' street, which is extremely pleasant and has a great choice of bars and restaurants. Very pleasant place to eat out on an evening, no loud music blaring, and everyone was very polite.
It only takes a couple of minutes and a few easy steps to get to the beach. It is pebbly, but we prefer this (no sand in your food or anywhere else for that matter!)
Very clean, right next to bars/restaurants and a few shops, and very relaxing.
Plenty of beds etc to hire, and the water is fantastic for swimming, best I have ever been in.
It is wise to wear something on your feet just in case you bump into the odd sea urchin, it also helps when you are walking on the hot pebbles down to the sea.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and the choice and quality were very good indeed.
Very easy to get the bus into DubrovnilK, which is well worth visiting, but do not expect much in the way of shopping, unless that is you have lots of dosh to spend on things like art or designer type clothing. Lots of museums and grand buildings to view, along with many restaurants.
We did an island boat tour trip, and this was on a replica of a galleon, so good for any pirate fans.
Not a lot to see on the islands but interesting anyway.
Just be warned if you do not like fish served complete with eyes and hundreds of bones! Apparently it was possible to reserve a vegetarian meal which looked far more appetising, but our rep did not inform us about that option.
These trips are on offer from lots of little kiosks at cheaper prices but we were a little worried about safety etc (yep, we are wimps) so we paid more, but did get a very authentic boat!
You can also get the ferry from the marina in Dubrovnik across to the nearest island, which is a nice little trip.
All in all a wonderful holiday, I would use the word perfect but the weather was extremely hot whilst we were there, which made sightseeing a bit less enjoyable.
We would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and large outdoor seating areas
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suzydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Making the mistake of turning up in Dubrovnik in high season with no accommodation booked, we walked into a number of hotels in the Lapad area to see if we could get anything. Hotel Park had a room for one night which we really loved. It was in the new building separate from the main hotel, I don't know if these rooms are better. It was really big and modern, as was the bathroom.

We really liked it, and we liked staying in Lapad too as its close to good little beaches.

  • Liked — Size and quality of room and bathroom.
  • Disliked — Was a bit steep so couldnt' stay there for more than a couple of nights - not something for a whole week or fortnight.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This hotel seemed to be cheaper if booked in a package from the UK, so that is what we did.
On the drive away from the walled city, I started to wonder why I had booked a hotel which appeared to be so far away, but in fact I would do the same again.
The hotel is of a 4* standard. We had requested and paid extra for a sea view, but this was not ready when we arrived so we were put in a room on the 1st floor for the first night. I complained about this the following morning and was placated with a bottle of wine.
When we eventually got the sea view the following day, it really was wonderful.
There is plently to do in Dubrovnik, but we chose to take it pretty easy, spending most days in the pretty cove which is right in front of the hotel. We also walked the city walls one day which is a must!
Getting from the hotel into the city was very straighforward and very inexpensive. The bus stop is outside the hotel entrance.
We had a bed and breakfast rate and this was fine. Some people were on full board, but I had a look at the evening food and it wasn't up to much. It was also as expensive as eating out, which we did every evening.
There are inexpensive restaurants all over the place, but if you head into the walled city in the evening, expect to pay a premium.
All in all, we had a wondeful trip. We were definately some of the youngest people holidaying in Croatia, but this did not take away from our enjoyment. We weren't there for nightlife, we were there for a relaxing break, which is exactly what we got!

  • Liked — amazing views from our balcony
  • Disliked — food was poor and everything closed down by about midnight
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura_go_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We spent 4 nights here as part of a group tour. After reading all the mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised to find an extremely comfortable bed, adequately sized room and an amazing buffet breakfast. Storage space in the room is somewhat limited. The bar and lobby areas were fine and the pool and exterior areas were very lovely.
The negative reviewers may not be taking into consideration the fact that this central Europe, with different standards than American resort hotels. Also, that the breakfast reflected local eating customs, not American customs.

The location is perfect. Just steps from a long promenade lined with cafes, restaurants and many other things. The bus stop is convenient for an easy, inexpensive ride to the Old City of Dubrovnik.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mexfandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

After reading a lot of reviews ( some good, some not so good ) about this Hotel, I consulted with my local travel agent who told me that he sends customers there all the time with no "major "complaints. So I reluctantly booked our family trip only to be very pleasently suprised. We found that the Grand Hotel Park was very centrally located for trips to the old town , only a 10 minutes bus drive that cost about €1.30. The beach was about a 3 minute walk away. Breakfast was very adequate with a vast selection of cereals, cooked foods,fruits, cold meats etc. However my family did only sample the cereals and coffee but the rest looked good and seemed to be refreshed regularly. The room was adequate if you just slept there, otherwise it might contribute to "cabin fever" but this did not apply to us as we were out all day. I would not classify this hotel as a 4 * but probably close enough. A fellow countryman, George Bernard Shaw described Dudrovnik as the "Pearl of the Adriatic" I would describe some of the staff that I came in contact with in a similar fashion. All staff were very pleasant but we found 2 particular
" Pearls " The first was named Soldas and he was Manager of the poolside bar. He was smiling from early morning to late at night, seemed to speak several languages. He even spoke The "Cupla Focal" for us Irish. I heard him converse in at least 3 other languages. He smiled permanently for the total duration of his shift . The pool bar was spotless at all times and he was particularly nice to all the children that were there. Whatever amount of money you pay this Guy is not enough because he could be an Ambassador for your Country, not to mention your Hotel.
The 2nd Pearl that we encountered was Niksa. He seemed to be the Manager of The Hotel Bar. We went to him for our nightcap most nights and he knew our order immediately. When we asked "how are you Niksa tonight" his reply was the same "always good"
For us these 2 Guys "were "The Grand Park Hotel." We feel if you didnt have them then the Hotel was nothing particularly special.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room a little dark
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roccoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing