We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here first 2 weeks in June.
Accomodation;
We stayed in the Villa Maria. Room comfortable but a little drab, also not much space to move around. As previously stated the storage is very poor with very little hanging space (and only 6 hangers) a cupboard full of shelves and no drawers, we didn't have a balcony but the room has a room akin to a conservatory on the back which I loved because it remained cool in there all the time, also it was one way glass so you can see out and others can't see in, very entertaining the way people check themselves out in the mirrored doors! Downside of that was we had no drying space so had to put towels and bits outside to dry. Cleaner comes in daily, changes towels daily and beds alternate days and does a very quick whip round the bathroom.
Could only find plug sockets in the bathroom so had to rotate charging our various electronics.
Dining;
No complaints about the food, generally delicious and plenty to choose from, never came out hungry. All self service from buffet, the only time you are served is in the evening when ordering drinks, I felt it would have been nice to have a jug of tap water on the table and have the choice.
All staff generally pleasant and friendly however felt particularly patronised on two occasions when pointing out to staff that our wine had ?cork/?sediment in it and were told it's supposed to be like that with clarification from the floor manager! Er I don't think so, but as this occurred on our first couple of nights we didn't want to make a fuss, this improved however after the first couple of days.
Only two drinks machines which were terribly slow resulting in massive queues, would have been better to put them in an alternative location as they are situated close to the food.
Champagne included with breakfast.
Amenities;
Reception extremely helpful and immediately available when we attended. Lovely interior and bar area tastefully decorated.
The hotel does not have an ironing board so be prepared to do your ironing on the floor!
There is no entertainment in the hotel but the whole resort is just very chilled.
Lovely terrace area with snack/drinks bar, large outdoor salt water pool, indoor pool, (also salt water) with loungers. Jacuzzi although this was out of order throughout our stay.
Great little gym with cardio and weight machines and a selection of free weights. Sauna & steam room, shower facilities. Spa treatments available.
Free Wi-Fi available within the hotel.
The hotel is situated in the middle of the resort, there is a strip of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and it only takes a couple of minutes to get to the beach. Reception staff will call taxi's or direct you to bus stops. There is so much to explore in Croatia, we found our 2 weeks were so full we were exhausted at the end of every day.

Tips;
Take your own hairdryer.
Don't worry if you've forgotten something, there's a big supermarket just up the road and it probably works out cheaper buying your lotions and potions there than carting them all with you.
If you don't take beach shoes invest in them when you get there, they're only the equivalent of a fiver and save a lot of pain!
You can also buy padded cushions similar to what you'd have on a sun lounger for about seven pounds which are a great investment when you're sunbathing on rocks.
Relax, Explore and Enjoy, You're on holiday! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 days. The room was large with a nice balcony where we could hang laundry. It was in a refurbished room which they called an apartment. In spite of construction going on around us, it was quiet. The room would sleep 3 comfortably. The quality of the soaps and bath gels ware below a 3 star level. The towels were thin but worked. The a/c worked well. On our last day there was very heavy rain and the main hotel building had many leaks. We were not able to make spa appointments because they did not have enough staff. The reception desk was outstanding, helping us with our questions and supplying us with requested items, all with a smile. Because of the construction dust, it was difficult to keep the room clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great Hotel stayed here end of May room good fantastic shower food good plenty of choice staff very friendly and helpful Thomson Rep very good and friendly pool very clean plenty of sunbeds but could do with more umbrellas we had a room over looking back and gardens which ok no sea view but we could see plenty of what was going on around and view of mountains and we were able to sit on balcony inlate afternoon which with sea view you couldn't as the sun was to hot only down fall was the holiday excursion touts near the hotel we booked with one as much cheaper than our tour rep but wished we hadn't promised us we would be picked up by mini bus and taken to the harbour for our island boat ride but we had a 20 minute walk to the harbour and on our return we were left high and dry on the quay side and told to walk by the boss of the tour company he was very very rude and left 3 ladies to find our own way back this spoilt a otherwise lovely day

Room Tip: ask for high floor in the main building not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly - this is not a four star hotel, three star is more accurate. (A number of reasons make that our view having experienced 5/4/3 star before.

POSITIVES:

Our sea-view was lovely.
The hotel is clean
The Staff are mostly very friendly
There is free wi-fi
A good location for a younger family.
Plenty of restraunts nearby.

NEGATIVES:
The hotel is in a residential area - and very noisy from mid-afternoon because of the play area at the back of the pool.

We stayed at the start of the season, so the pool area was a touch neglected and items not cleared up.

Overall - I would say that if you're a couple looking to relax, then probably stay at a quieter hotel, with a few nearby in Lapad that our much more of four star or five star quality. Dubrovnik is stunning but you probably don't need a week there, as a day/two day trip would be enough to see everything.

The coastline in the area is amazing and think about staying on one of the islands or inland for a more tranquil stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ascottrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights last May, as this was the conference hotel. I had stayed at the Berkeley Hotel, earlier. The Grand Park Hotel is very nice, and I have no complaints. But, if I was staying on my own dime, I would have stayed at the Berkeley, as it is a better value, and has a slightly better location.

The room is quite large, and comfortable. We had a flat screen TV, and a huge bathroom. The weather was unseasonably cool, and so I cannot comment on the air conditioning system. I heard someone at the front desk tell a hotel guest that the A/C was turned off. I slept very well, with the windows open - until about 7 AM, when the noise from an adjacent construction project woke me up. They appear to be building some kind of annex to the hotel, and they work 6 days a week.

I did not get to use the pool. The included breakfast buffet is huge, and includes an omelette station. This hotel appears to be popular with groups, as I saw a lot of tour busses coming in and out.There is a supermarket "Timmy Hipermarket" about a block away. There are numerous shops and restaurants in the area. The bus stop, for busses to the Pile Gate, and the old town, run frequently; or you can splurge for a taxi. All in all, a very nice establishment.
.I would return again, especially if someone else was paying the bill.

Room Tip: Ask, when you check in, if you can be placed far away from the construction noise - especially if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely one week stay here. The staff were very helpful and we were right in the centre of the Lapad area. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the beach and the bus stop which takes you into the Old Town. There are lots of restaurants nearby which are cheaper than in the Old Town, as well as a park which is great for families. The Old Town is a lot busier too, so it's an ideal hotel for those wanting to relax and have some quiet time. I would recommend paying extra for the sea view room (we choose park side which was good but I wish we had upgraded). The outdoor pool was refreshing, especially in the heat and not too cold. Overall, a decent hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CManzariUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Needs investment..the indoor pool is shockingly dirty. The jacuzzi (indoor and outdoor) didn't work for the whole time we visited. Would have been a lovely and modern hotel 3 to 5 year previous. The staff tried very hard, were friendly and helpful. 3 star, not 4!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £58 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing