We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Park”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent a week at the beginning of June. After a delay due to extreme weather conditions, which dampened our spirits, the wonderful views from the airport to the hotel, soon lifted them again, and the arrival at the hotel helped also.
The hotel was lovely and clean. Yes, as people have said the rooms were a little small, but as there is so much to do in the area, you don't spend that long in the room. The areas around the hotel were all well kept and the staff who cleaned the rooms did a good job. The food was basic, but a large choice and always enough to eat.
Our room overlooked the hills towards the old town, which we were glad of late in day, as the soon had moved round the hotel and the balconies were much cooler.
A 2 minute walk to the beach and strip of bars, which due to the time of year were quiet, so we were not disturbed at night.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and this area of Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guests,


thank you so much for writing down a review.
We are so happy you were satisfied and relaxed while staying with us.
Regarding some thing you wrote we should improve, we ll do our best to do it as soon as possible .

Hope to be able to be your hosts again in the near future , all the best on both private and business fields,

kindest regards,

Lucijana Kristic

Sales Agent
Grand Hotel Park,

Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our family just spent a few days in lovely Dubrovnik staying in this hotel. We had made the reservations several months ago and when arriving the hotel the staff infomed that the due to their misbookings our children (14 and 16 years) got rooms in separate building with lower standard rooms than in the main building. There was a direct access to this building from the parking area and the front door to this building was unlocked even nights. Not a safe solution for children! After the long negotiations the only solution the staff offered was to move us all to the lower standard rooms though we had booked and paid rooms with sea view in the main building. In general the hotel was a bit untidy and dusty. So if you are considering staying in this hotel, think twice and choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CatherineK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guests ,


thank you for posting this review. Feedback is always good to have .

Further more, I am so glad to be able to clarify our side of how it was since not many web pages allow us too, and than many guests get misled. Every party needs to have a chance to explain ....and we will for sure try ....

You have booked two rooms back home with an agency you choosed....one of the rooms was sea view room that was more expensive and the other one was not of lower standard but was much cheaper from the beginning and it was all clear at your reservation.
The children were grown teenagers and despite your claim how the building was insecure , a security guard was on a duty there 24 hours. We cannot lock the main building door due that our guests are coming back from the city in different hours so we consider that unfair and impolite.
They all have proper room doors that are locked and safe.
Also, we have provided as well so many solutions for you, but what ever hotel offered was not quite enough for you. As much as we can remember, we offered immediately a great room for you next to your children, as you wanted from the beginning , but your husband was highly against that and refused several times because he wanted to enjoy sea view. The only thing you were ready to accept was to move your children (teenagers) in a sea view room next to you which was not paid . Even that we would do with a pleasure, as we always do and had done for so many guests so many times, but all of these rooms were sold out or reserved for new guestschecking in and they actually paid for that. We strongly consider it unfair to take away a room from a future guest that paid huge supplement for a sea view and give that same room to you because you do not accept any other solution. We are so sorry but that is how it was-you said you needed to be together with your children and yet refused park side room next to them.

From our side, hotel management considers, that everything possible was done to satisfy you and provide a nice holiday, but unfortunately sometimes we do not get the same feedback from the guests.

We are in every way happy you were here with us and we sincerely hope you will have a great life .

We wish you all the best on both private and work fields

kindest regards


Lucijana


Sales Department
Grand Hotel Park
Dubrovnik, Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just returned from a very nice holiday in Dubrovnik, staying at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel was spacious and clean. The room we had was overlooking the hillside and had a nice outlook, providing you did not look down at the car park. We were on the top (7th) floor so the view was good. We are not used to big hotels, and were pleasantly surprised the food in the restaurant (buffet style) was good with a range to suit all tastes for breakfast and dinner with plenty of it. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
Only a nit pick but we are used to hotels in Italy, where the hotel has a section of the beach free for guests, this hotel ( Italian owned) appeared to run a large section of the beach judging by its name on the sun loungers, but guests still had to pay for the 2 sun loungers and parasol, totalling 110 kunas per day. If this is applicable, add cost to your budget.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view, but with only 2 lifts, this can cause congestion at busy times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bykerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guests


once more we are happy to hear our guests had good time with us

We will reconsider the things you said about sunbeds and parasols.

Regarding a staff, we are doing the best we can but considering your review -it is worth the effort. And thank you for the food compliments.

Thank you once more for everything and

In hope to be able to host you again ,

we are remaining with



our kindest regards,

Lucijana Kristic

sales agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Grand Hotel Park. We were a little worried when we arrived to see building work on an annexe close by. Outside work on this completed a few days into the holiday and we were told completion of entire building is hoped by July.

We were greeted by friendly staff who spoke excellent English. I had requested a room with a sea view but knew this is not always possible. Our room was 606 and it had the most glorious view across the bay. (600-610 would have the same view I think, likewise 700-710). The balcony was narrow, but enough room to sit and look over the pool, bar and gardens.

The room compared to a good 'Premier Inn'. Bed was comfortable (double was 2 large singles pushed together), linen was changed daily and was spotless. Bathroom had bath, (Jacuzzi one), and shower overhead. State if you particularly want a bath- we spoke to a couple that were on the same floor yet only had walk in shower unit. Towels were also changed daily. There were complimentary shower and shampoo. There is a hair-drier in there (I did not use this as I found it cooler to use my own in the air conditioned room! (Air conditioning is effective and not noisy as in some places we have been).

There is a small mini bar- could not get large bottles in, but couple of small bottles of water fitted.

There isn't a huge amount of storage, wardrobe and three large drawers, but we managed for 10 days.

We stayed Half Board and found the food to be excellent. Breakfast was selection of cereal, breads, toast, meats and cheeses, variety of fresh fruit, yoghurts, juices, bacon, eggs cooked in a variety of ways, freshly cooked omelettes to order, tomatoes, sausages and more. (even 'champagne').

Evening meal was just as varied. If you like burgers, nuggets, sausages and chips- this is not the place for you. We loved the delicious selection of meat and fish, vegetables, stir- fry veg, cold meats, fresh salad dishes, lettuce, tomatoes, shredded cabbage, cheeses, cold meats and dressings.

Desserts again were not the usual bland cakes. There were different pastries, bowls of fresh strawberries, cherries, grapes, pineapple, melon and ice cream.

We loved the food and could not fault it.

The hotel grounds were spotlessly clean and the staff are all very polite and helpful.

The pool is saltwater, there is a reasonable shallow part for non-swimmers, because of the salt it was easy to float and so felt safe.
There were plenty of sunbeds (June ok, don't know what height of summer would be like)- we bought little 'padded cushion' from nearby shop as they were a little hard.
There is a good sized inside pool too- also salt water, (unfortunately the Jacuzzi was not working). There is a gym and beauty treatments. Gym is free, treatments need payment.

There is one negative - there is only one toilet each, male and female, for the entire pool area. This was not a huge problem for us but I would imagine this could be annoying in the height of summer.

There is a children's garden area where there are swings, slides and climbing frames etc. Lovely for children 5 and under. Through the garden gate and turn left there is a supermarket, turn right the bars and restaurants. Good selection, we drank at Dubrovnik Bar- they had the cheapest cocktails! and the local beer was just over £2.

The beach- not sandy- is five minute walk, down to the Harbour is 10 mins wal and a No6 bus takes you to Old City- about 20 mins.

There are lovely walks around the bay too.

The Old City is brilliant. Walk round the walls first as this is quite tiring! As soon as you go through into City there is an entrance to the left. Costs about £10 each, but it really is worth it. The views are magnificent. There are lots of steps but there are places to stop and sit- take a bottle of water- you will need it!
The walk around the city afterwards is brilliant- ice cream is a must- £1 for a very large cone!

The 'Game of Thrones' is filmed in the city and we were lucky to sit on the 'Iron Throne'. There is a building you can go in where they filmed- we paid about a £5 for two during the day- when we went back at night there was no cost. It is only one room so not worth it unless you 'must' see it.

It is worth going back for a night visit and seeing all the buildings lit up.

Close by is the Cable car- worth it to see the brilliant views- bit scary if you don't like heights- but a very smooth ride.

We went on a boat trip to the Island of Locrum. £15 for two for the return boat trip and onto the island. Well worth it- BUT, wear sensible shoes. I wore sandals and ended up with huge blister because of the stony paths. Flip flops are not suitable. There are places to swim, restaurants, botanical gardens, peacocks galore! historical buildings, cactus garden. There is a LONG climb to the fort, but if you make it the view over the Old City is spectacular.

We had the most wonderful holiday in Croatia- the Hotel Grand Park is in a brilliant position and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view- room 606 was brilliant. Rooms on floors 1-3 will not have such a good view. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindalumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guests


thank you for taking a time in posting this comment as it happens so rare that satisfied guests are writing.

It is always nice to hear you had completely satisfied guest.

It is a strong competition here so you can imagine how important it is that we stud up to your high expectations.

Thank you once more for everything and

In hope to be able to host you again ,

we are remaining with

kindest regards,

Lucijana,

sales dpt

GH Park
Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Very basic hotel. Clean rooms with a lovely sea view. The outdoor pool was not open when we were here which was disappointing. We were half board and the food was very like canteen food. Not the best but edible. Good location away from the main city. The indoor pool was basic but refreshing.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Katmargpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guests,


thank you so much for writing down a review.

We are so happy you were satisfied and relaxed while staying with us.

Regarding some thing you wrote we should improve, we ll do our best to do it as soon as possible . And we are so sorry about the outdoor pool, but the summer is really in delay this year.

Hope to be able to be your hosts again in the near future ,

all the best on both private and business fields,

kindest regards,

Lucijana Kristic

Sales Agent
Grand Hotel Park,

Dubrovnik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was disappointed with the Grand Hotel Park. The thing that coloured my opinion was our room, so I’ll start with that. We had a room in the annex (Villa Maria). The description on the Thompson website said it had a “garden view” and I read that to mean that we would be looking at the garden, not the sea, which I was perfectly happy with. Unfortunately, what I hadn’t realised was that it meant that there wasn’t a balcony. It is so many years since we have come across a holiday hotel that didn’t have a balcony with every room that it had gone off my radar. The window wasn’t very big and you only actually got a view of the garden if you stood at the window. I know you don’t want to spend all your time in your room, but we like to sit on the balcony to play cards or have a cup of tea. We couldn’t even play cards in the room as we only had one chair, but I didn’t want to stay in the room anyway as I felt cut off because we couldn’t see out of the window.
The other thing that was disappointing was the shower. It was over the bath with a glass screen that reached half way along the bath. The trouble was that the shower was not on the end wall, where you would expect, but on the side wall, facing the screen. It was impossible to take a shower without getting a puddle on the floor, however hard we tried. We discovered that the best thing to do was pull the screen inwards so that the water ran down it into the bath, but that narrowed the area that we had to shower in. So having a shower was not a relaxed, enjoyable experience!
Another problem of being in the annex was revealed on the day we left, when it was still pouring with rain after a thunder storm. You can’t get to the main building (and therefore breakfast!) without going outside. Not only did I get wet from the rain, but there were huge puddles everywhere that I couldn’t avoid so got soaking wet feet. Also, as someone else commented, there was water pouring through the ceiling at reception and the floor was awash.
It would have been good to have some instructions for the air conditioning. We didn’t realise that you had to shut the window before it would work, a notice would have been helpful. Once we got the hang of it, the air con was effective and quiet.
Breakfast and dinner were both buffet meals. They were OK, but very ordinary. Queues easily developed as the buffet area seemed small and crowded. We tended to get to breakfast before 8am so that we avoided the queues for coffee – as others have said, the machines are VERY slow.
The area in front of the main entrance is not pretty. There is a tarmac car park and a messy area in front of the building that they are constructing. Hopefully they will do something to make it look more attractive once the building is complete, but maybe not as we didn’t get the impression that the Croatians are that bothered about making things look attractive.
There were some good points. The hotel provides a free safe in the bedroom and free wifi throughout all the buildings. It is in an excellent position, near the beach and a pedestrianised walkway with lots of restaurants. There is also a very pleasant path that goes round the edge of the Lapad peninsula and ends up at the port. The Tommy supermarket is a very short walk away. It is easy to catch a bus to the old town of Dubrovnik. The Thompson rep recommended catching the number 4 bus (rather than the 6) because it is easier to get a seat as it hasn’t had so many stops beforehand.
I’m not usually so picky and wonder if I would have been happier with other things if we had been in a different room. But as things stood, I rate this hotel as 3 star, not 4.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room in the annex if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GilliJoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Park for 2 weeks during early July 2014 and have not got a bad word to say about the Hotel.

The area, the views, the excursions available, and most of all the people (including all staff) were 10/10 and we could not have asked for more - we were very disappointed to leave!

I can recommend the hotel and the area (Lapad), with its views and coastal walks, we stopped for 14 days and the area/hotel can provide both a relaxed holiday or a more exerting holiday with excursions available.

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
923 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £60 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing