We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Croatia”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“First Time Croatia”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for a week from 13th June 2014 & didn't know what to expect as its our first time to this country & what a pleasant surprise it was..the scenery is terrific & the people friendly.
The hotel is fine though not quite up to what we expect from usual 4*..small things do make a difference such as padded sunbeds (they looked great but were very uncomfortable)..fresh food cooking stations at evening meal..no courtesy room at end of stay etc, so all in all I would give this hotel a good 3.5*.
The room had a free safe . free aircon & a nice hot all over jet shower (cubicles bit on small side though)Storage space is a bit limited but the views were great out over the bay.The double room beds were two beds pushed together but were fine & comfy & the tv is mainly Croatian channels with a few dubbed over English films.
We enjoyed the food that was offered (no cooking stations apart from omelette at breakfast) as there was a variety of fish & meats & fresh strawberries most nights although as people have mentioned the orange juice in the morning is just coloured water but the coffee was fine as was the cooked breakfast choice.
The hotel is in a perfect location looking out over a park and onto the bay with the main pedestrianised avenue two minutes away..this ran from the main road down to the beach with several restaurants and half a dozen bars on it.There are bus stops nearby for number 4 or 6 buses to Dubrovnik which run every 15 minutes and cost 15 Kunas each for single trip though these can be pre bought for around 13 Kunas & it takes around 15 minutes to old town Dubrovnik.(A must see!)
The beach is a pebbled one & isn't particularly scenic though the water is clear & there is a couple of beach bars and a very nice coastal path which takes you round the peninsular past the cave bar at Hotel More (Well worth the visit for a drink inside & out)
To sum up we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & will definitely return to Croatia..probably not to this hotel as we feel like we have "done" Dubrovnik so need to experience somewhere new.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holaddictCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    593
    245
    59
    37
See reviews for
209
657
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch of imagination. Upon arrival me and my girlfriend whilst waiting for room to be ready decided to look around hotel grounds and immediately was disappointed. It was untidy, unkept and the pool area needed more than a lick of paint! Pictures on their website show their fountain area trim and tidy while in reality was messy and a little bit overgrown.
But that was not the worst. We we're put in the villa Maria annex and believe the other reviews saying beware of the villa Maria! The room was dark, grim and as about as well kept as the gardens! The bathroom had a pokey shower that was a fidget to get in and out and flooded very easily! So overall not very impressed to say the least!
Hotel staff were a bit arsey but some were friendly enough, breakfast was alright nothing to write home about.
Best thing about it was the location, just catch the no.6 bus straight (20mins) into the old town which was amazing!
This hotel is not a 4 star hotel and their website is very misleading. Really not sure how it is to be honest.
Most of all beware of the villa Maria, was quite depressing to come back there after the old town.
But dubrovnik and the country is amazing and would recommend anyone to stay here but not in this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First impressions are of a very corporate looking set-up that wouldn't be out of place in a city. The reception, with its drab-coloured fixtures and fittings is not especially attractive.
The fact that the hotel did not allow guests to check in until 1400 also created a bottleneck which wasn't ideal. Not to mention tiring for guests with early morning flights. Perhaps management should review this?
A wider look though confirms that the reception is out of keeping with the rest of the ground level which has a large and luxurious cafe bar area with striking mosaic decor. There is also a shop selling some very fashion forward outfits and accessories and yes, a library. This is great news for all of you who love to read as the selection is both plentiful and excellent. These books have been donated by Dubrovnik Foreign Circle and other guests. It is as nice a touch as you could hope to see This area also boasts internet access.
There are only two lifts which for a seven storey hotel of this size gums up the works a bit .
Fitness fans are extremely well catered to as the hotel boasts its own wellness centre. Here is where you will find a gym, sauna (handy for the many Finnish guests!) , beauty salon and an indoor pool to complement the outdoor one - it was absolutely invaluable in the unseasonable weather.
The pool outside is certainly around the 25 metre mark. Both pools are saltwater - bring goggles! This is undoubtedly one clear aspect of the hotel that is truly four star.
Our room was very much to our liking - it was a corner room and was exceptionally spacious as was our bathroom.
However, is impossible to ignore the fact that there was building work in place during our stay as a new accommodation block was created. This created a lot of noise and piles of debris and rubbish which made sitting on the balcony no-go. Apparently it was behind schedule because of flooding in Croatia but I have to say it wasn't a very good look.
Onto the food. The breakfast is exceptionally hearty. So much so the cooked version features chips! There's a lot of choice there. Cereal, rolls and fruit are also in plentiful supply. I'd also describe the breakfast as four star but I think the evening meal is of the three star variety. While the selection of salads and grilled meats was tasty, I don't really think the hotel has mastered say, pasta and slightly heavier dishes that felt a bit processed. The same was true of some of the desserts.
It is also 100 per cent self service, barring the drinks at the evening meal and I know that is a dealbreaker for Tripadvisors who just don't like buffets. I must however praise the staff. I noticed how popular they were with the guests and this is not an accident. They were lovely and extremely quick to respond to any issues.
The hotel enjoys a good location. Lapad is an attractive part of Dubrovnik to stay in even if the beach is no great shakes. There are some lovely coastal walks and bars along the way for a sundowner as cruise ships are seen sailing, gliding by moonlight as they leave the nearby port. Shopping fans will be pleased to learn that there is a precinct with a Benetton and designer boutiques nearby. There's also more than one supermarket and even a multiplex cinema in easy reach.
It has to be stressed however that the hotel is not in walking distance of the old town - this will take 15 minutes in a number 6 bus which stops a couple of minutes away. Having said this, the tariff of hotels within the old city is absolutely sky high in comparison to this one which is a more budget conscious way to stay in this potentially expensive destination.
To recap: I did not think that the hotel was absolutely 100 per cent in every respect but I would consider returning as there are no shortage of plus points to enjoy.

Room Tip: The lift situation means you might be wiser to ask for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrantGroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after looking on their official website and doing plenty of research to ensure this was the right hotel for us.
We managed to get a good deal as we booked it quite late and went for a standard room with an inland view in the main hotel, there was no mention of an annex room when we booked.
However when we got to the hotel and checked in, we were surprised to learn that our room was in the Villa Maria annex. The room was very disappointing and nothing like the rooms advertised on their website. It was dark (painted a dirty brown and orange colour) and small with one window which you couldn't have open as it was on floor level and overlooked the construction work which was going on right next door to the hotel. The room was also dirty, there was smeared hand marks all over the wardrobe and dressing table and marks all over the walls. We didn't feel safe in the room as it felt like we had just been stuffed in a cheap and nasty room.
Unimpressed, we went to reception to complain and we were told that room is what we booked and if weren't happy we would have to wait to speak to the manger who wouldn't be in until the following morning.
We decided to phone lastminute.com to see if there was anything they could do and I have to say they were brilliant. They were disgusted and had no idea that the hotel had an annex and didn't know why we were in the annex room when they had booked us a room in the main hotel. We were told that lastminute were going to phone up the hotel and sort the situation out however my boyfriends phone decided to have no signal so we didn't discover what had happened until we saw the manager the next morning.
After spending an uncomfortable night in room, we got up early and went to speak to the manager. She had an attitude with us and seemed like she couldn't be bothered. She informed us that the hotel was fully booked as it is peak season and that as we booked quite late (3 months before our arrival at the hotel) and paid less we were in the annex. However they took us to another room in the annex (room 755) which was slightly better as it had a terrace bit so we didn't have to go in the depressing room as much. I checked the availability online as we were not convinced the hotel was fully booked as it wasn't too busy and as predicted rooms were still available for the duration of our stay. However we were told that the main hotel was fully booked and the room is all that was available. We really got the feeling that because of who we booked through we we're put in a cheap room to keep the decent rooms for people who paid top money which is very wrong as if I knew we were in the annex I would have never booked it.
I would also say that the whole hotel and grounds seem a little bit tired, the gardens could do with tidying up and could do with a little bit more tlc especially as it's supposed to be 4*.
We spent as little time as possible at the hotel which was easy to do as Dubrovnik old city was absolutely amazing!
In summary, we would never go back to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.
However Dubrovnik and Croatia is absolutely out of this world brilliant and I will definitely recommend people to go to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vxt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Dear Vxt26,

Thank you so much for choosing our Grand hotel Park as a place for your stay while in Dubrovnik. We appreciate your feedback.

We are terribly disappointed to read that your experience fell far below your expectations. We truly apologise for all inconveniences you went through during your visit, especially with regard to your room type reservation.
Please be assure that we did all necessary corrections in order not to happen again.
We look forward to the opportunity to regain your faith in our ability to properly serve you.

Apologetically,

Grand hotel Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Good - This is going to be a generally positive review, the hotel has a fantastic location, the staff are friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was superb (room 607), what a lovely sea view to wake up to every day! The food was generally good, some dishes were great, some were average or bland. I found it essential to eat out every now and again to try something different. Nice touch that the hotel has a library where you can borrow books and magazines while you are staying.

The Bad - The lifts are too small and get very crowded, we walked the stairs quite a lot. The indoor pool area smells quite unpleasant. This is a 4* hotel, but in reality I would say it's about 3 1/2*, it just needs to tidy up some of the areas in and around the hotel like the roof on the restaurant, the pool area should be swept a bit more often, a bit more attention to detail will earn that 4th star.

The Ugly - There is construction work going on right next to the main hotel building, this didn't generally disturb us, except for when the pneumatic drill started going on a couple of days. When it is completed and full of guests the pool area will be overcrowded. It is full now without the extra guests.

Overall we had a lovely 2 weeks, thanks to all the staff at GHP!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank airflow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guests,


first of all, thank you for visiting Dubrovnik and for staying in Grand Hotel Park for 14 days..

Further more, thank you for posting this comment, since it is always important for us to hear what our guests have to say.

As you said, generally, it is a quite positive and good review, but still some thingsthere to be improved.

The pool smell as you said is ,unfortunately, due to a intensity and amount of rains we had lately and since it is a salt water coming directly from the sea , it happens sometimes , but as much as we try , our hands are tight there..but will keep on trying to find some more effective solution. I must advise on how that happens rarely , as the rain did this year , so it took us all by surprise as well.

Building works are thankfully done, and we sincerely apologize if it bothered you in any way, but a big effort was put in from our owners and management side to make our future guests stay even better and them even happier. Thank you for hopefully understanding that.


On the other hand, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the room, the views, the library, the excellent location and service.


We are really trying our best but are always open for any suggestion you might have so thank you for advising us of on how to do things even better. Highly apperciated.



And at the end
let us wish you the best on each life field and
to remain in hope about hosting you again

our kindest regards

Lucijana

Sales Department

Grand Hotel Park

Dubrovnik, Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just returned from a 10 day stay at this brilliant hotel, first two negatives, the weather was a bit overcast and wet for half our stay but I can hardly blame the hotel for that! The only thing I did not like was the hotel sticking to it's check in time of 14:00 which resulted in long lines at reception at that time and also long lines at the lifts which are a little small for the size of hotel, but hey ho that's their advertised check in times so not much you can do.

Now for the positives and there are many, the staff are all very helpful and spoke excellent English, location is brilliant only minutes from the beach, minutes from a lovely pedestrianised street with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants and minutes from a bus route into the old town which is beautiful and a must see, the food at breakfast and evening meal were always varied with something for everyone, omelettes made to order at breakfast which was a nice touch. Hotel room was a decent size with a modern bathroom, no complaints there. Facilities in the hotel were fantastic, indoor and outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, spa and gym, small library and free wi fi throughout the hotel which worked very well. The hotels tavern serves the most fantastic pizzas at a great price, have a pizza here and you will never look at the pizza served up by the likes of pizza hut and domino's ever again! All in all would highly recommend this hotel. I would also recommend cafe bar van gogh and epic which are both on the pedestrianised street good service at reasonable prices and nice food at epic, van gogh did not serve food. Lapad is a beautiful area of a beautiful city, if you are thinking about a visit please go!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jambo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guests


thank you for taking a moment in writing this comment over our hotel.

It is always nice to have a feedback from your respected guests and learn from it.

Thankfully, nothing to learn from this one but to be very proud , and thank you for that....it means a world to us...

In hope to be able to host you again here in our "brilliant hotel ,country and location" ,

we are wishing you all the best and are remaining with

our kindest regards,

Lucijana Kristic

sales agent


Sales Department
Grand Hotel Park
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel. We stayed in the villa and found our room to be clean and extremely comfortable. Our room overlooked the Taverna but as the music stopped at around 11pm it was no problem although I am not sure what it would have been like had we
stayed in the height of the season.The restaurant was bright and airy and has a relaxed atmosphere. The food was good and there was plenty of choice. The main reason we stayed at this hotel was the location and we were not dissapointed. With a 5 minute walk we could reach the stony beach and a lovely panoramic walk around the coast. In the opposite direction we were 5 minutes away from a bus to take us into Dubrovnic. At only 12 Kuna which is around £1.50 we were in the old town in no time. At all times the staff were friendly and polite and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Dont be at the front of Villa Maria if you want to sleep before 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacci o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelpark, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Park, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Respected Guests,


it is a privilege to read such a review ...one gets happy and satisfied....

For us, in a first place , always is an effort to make our guests feel special.

We are so thrilled to hear we managed to do that, as we did with you.

Thank you so much for posting this review that will help us in promoting all nice things you experienced in grand Hotel Park , while staying as our dear guest.

we are looking forward to have an opportunity to host you again

and until than ,

we wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing