We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful holiday in a lovely city.”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We have just returned after spending a lovely week at the Grand Hotel Park in Dubrovnik.
On arrival at the hotel we where warmly greeted by a very friendly Reception Team.
The check-in process was handled quickly and efficiently. We stayed in Room 306 on the third floor which afforded us good views across the bay, although recommend that if booking a sea view room then request a room on a higher floor to get the best views. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a road and do not have a good outlook.
Our one major concern, which was also expressed by many other guests, is the distinct lack of drawer space in the rooms. Our wardrobe also had only 9 hangers for a weeks clothing which appeared inadequate.
The restaurant operates a " Free Seating" policy which allows guests the option to sit anywhere they wish although the restaurant does get very busy especially if you arrive for dinner after 7.30pm. Meals are also on a self service basis with a good good choice of dishes available. The restaurant team work hard to keep everything replenished.
We had a problem with the Safety Deposit Box in our room and after reporting the problem to reception a member of staff arrived within a couple of minutes to resolve the problem. Now that exceeded our expectations of good service. I must also mention that there is no charge for using Safety Deposit Boxes in this hotel which is a welcome touch
We booked our holiday with Thomson Holidays and the representative visited the hotel every day except Saturday. We found the rep to be very helpful and he gave us some very useful local advice.
The most frequent bus to Dubrovnik City is the Number 6 which operates from
Babin Kuk to the Pile Gate and is very frequent. Unfortunately it is always packed solid when it arrives at the bus stop nearest the hotel. An alternative would be to catch the Number 4 bus which operates between the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel and Pile Gate and is always only half full at most. This bus can be boarded from outside the Hotel Adriatic which is only about 400 metres from the Grand Hotel Park. Bus tickets can be purchased from either the kiosk at the bus stop or from most newsagent stands for 8 kuna per journey. Alternatively the cost is 10 kuna if purchased on the bus.
If the intention is to walk the city wall (50 kuna) the best place to join the wall is at Ploce Gate. Ploce Gate can be reached by walking to the end of the Stradun and then bear left for about 100 metres to reach Ploce Gate.
Most visitors join the wall at the main entrance to the city at Pile Gate and are immediately faced with a walk up over 300 steps. Ploce Gate is a more comfortable experience with less than 90 steps in total.
A pleasant trip is to take the water taxi from the harbour to Cavtat - single fare is 80 kuna and takes 45 mins and also calls at the Island of Lokrum on the way.
Cavtat is a gem of a town with an attractive promenade. Upon reaching Cavtat the water taxi calls first at one of the main hotels before journeying round the headland to the main part of the town. We got off the water taxi with all the other travellers and then we found out that they were all guests at this hotel although we then enjoyed a pleasant walk around to the main part of the town.
It is possible to return to Dubrovnik by bus from Cavtat, if wished, and the journey takes 30 mins and costs 12 kuna per person.
My wife and I had a lovely holiday at the Grand Hotel Park and found the hotel staff to be very friendly and in all cases went out of their way to make our holiday a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed therefrom the end of August until the first week of September. The hotel was fine. The rooms were cleaned everyday. There were a few problems, our room was a little small with barely any room for clothes. The pool was very nice, although salty water and there were not enough sun beds for the size of the hotel (about 120 rooms and 30 sunbeds). We went half board and the food was good and they catered for the various nationalities. They do a good offer that you can cancel your dinner the day before and get
lunch, which was very nice. The hotel has it's own sun loungers on the beach (2 min walk) but you have to pay 65 Kuna (about 8 quid) to sit on the hotel loungers. Lost of lovely little bars on the doorsteps. Hotel bar was a bit too expensive. Had a really nice time, but it needs to raise it;s standards to really be 4 star.
Old Town is lovely, and there is a number 6 bus just a short walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bowie_harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We had a lovely, relaxing stay at Hotel Park Dubrovnik - the outdoor pool is lovely, the room was a good size, the bathrooms were modern and the beds were comfortable. However, there were a few things that would have put me had i known about them in advance. These are as follows:-

- location: although conveniently placed near Lapad beach, Lapad is a very touristy area with lots of souvenir shops and overpriced restaurants and bars serving poor food at prices similiar to London restaurants. There are some decent restaurants around but they are much pricier on the whole and you really have to rely on guide books to find them in this area. If i went back, i'd probably stay somewhere in the Old Town as there's more choice for dining and more atmosphere at night - Lapad feels rather dead in September after 8pm!

- hotel staff: although friendly enough, hotel staff seem unable to offer any guidance on activities and even bus information. We wanted to go on a boat trip to the Elafiti Islands but there were so many people offering boat trips on the road leading down to the beach, we wanted some advice on which company to go with. When we asked in the hotel, they just said to go with any of them as they were all good. We did go with one of them and it was very poor - bad food, very little information given on the islands and little time to spend on the islands themselves, so in short, a total waste of money.

- gym facilities: not a major issue for me but might be for some people - the gym facilities are a couple of rusty machines circa 1980 in a non air conditioned room (just to the side of the indoor pool). They look like they hadn't been used or checked for at least 10 years.

- general hotel atmosphere: we are both relatively active people in our twenties and we felt a bit out of place in the hotel. There were a lot of older people staying at the hotel and as such the hotel catered particularly for them in terms of food, hotel bars and entertainment. It's still a nice place to relax and unwind for younger people but it's rather lacking in terms of anything for twentysomethings in the evening. I would recommend the hotel only as a good place to relax as aside from that it has little to offer.

- one final thing, if you are planning on going to Dubrovnik, you really only need 2 or 3 days to see and do everything. I'd recommend a kayak tour with Adriatic Kayak Tours (not Adventure Dalmatia) - we did a half day tour to Lokrum and it was the highlight of the trip for me. Also, walk the city walls, go to Wanda restaurant (pricey but lovely, even the inexpensive 1L house red!) The city itself is one of the most beautiful places i've been to and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LucyRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Well what can i say we have just returned from a great holiday at the grand hotel park.what is it with the Brits and complaining???? Having read some reviews on here we were dreading going!!!!
The flight - 2 and a bit hours from Gatwick
The transfer - 40 mins (last drop off . )air con coach, great views on the way
The hotel- arrived checked in within 3 mins smiling efficent reception staff.
upper room with amazing sea views,beds the most comfortable iv'e slept on in any hotel, compact bathroom with great power shower. wardrobe with hangers ect. air con.
powerful and free as was the safe.
On half board so - Dinner always lots of chioce 4/5 meat dishes, 2 soups,loads of fresh veg salads ect. fresh fruit available all the time. example meal for me- veg soup, pork medalion,chicken fillet, mash with garlic(yum) sprouts,green beans.choice of sauce.
i never made it to the puddings saw but cake, ice cream ,fruit, fruit pie ect.
Breakfast lots of hot stuff ,eggs(scrambled fried boiled), bacon,sausage and whatever was left from last night!! lots of cheeses, cold meats, rolls ,fruit tea, coffee, fruit juices ect.ect.
the pool is salt water but clean and large ,people do lay their towels out but hay-ho. kids were few and far between mainly Croation in the late afternoon -but not a problem.
good bar / barman by the pool.
there is a beach within 5 mins pebbles and a bit crowded when we were there but we walked past the beach and swam in the crystal waters from rocky platforms(GET SHOES FOR SWIMMING LOTS OF URCHINS!!!) fantastic
Also went on the 3 island trip good fun get it from the street not the rep much cheaper.try not to get a big boat 28 peopleis about right .Lunch and drinks included (dont be afraid to ask for more wine its paid for!!!
You have to visit Dubrovnik it's amazing.........walk the walls in the morning before it gets to hot(£6.50 but so worth it)
All in all a fab time. staff are friendly. cleaners work hard. Not that many brits lots of unsmiling russians and germans. try to say hallo for a smile from the locals

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnboyRyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Went to Dubrovnik in July and stayed in this hotel.Good points, rooms were always clean and tidy, huge selection at breakfast, excellent transport to old town with bus and taxi links nearby. Indoor and outdoor pool were nice. Bad points, probably not a 4*, reception were not too helpful, storage in room was a slight problem,every morning the sun loungers by the pool were "reserved" by a few idiots til lunchtime,expensive to eat evening meal if you are only at hotel on b+b basis,sea view on lower floors well there isnt one. Also website suggests the hotel has a gym, believe me that isnt a gym.
Near to the hotel is a myriad of restaurants to suit any budget. Much of the food is sea food based as you wuld expect. A few restaurants have a service charge which is not always made clear from the outset. Not much in the way of nightlife,more of a social drink atmosphere than clubbing. The nearest beach is very pebbly as are the majority of beaches in croatia.
I would recommend the kotor bay trip to montenegro, also any of the island hopping,and definitely the old town is a must. Dubrovnik is very friendly, romantic but pretty expensive place. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Our family of 4 stayed here in August 2009 and we were very impressed with this hotel. Yes the comments about sunbeds are right, but this didn't bother us. The pool is a large sea pool and beautiful for a dip late afternoon. The hotel is next to a street lined with some great restaurants, particularly good is the Kompas restaurant overlooking the beach. All along the street are swing chairs great for sitting in with an ice cream. The rooms are clean, with comfortable beds and a great bathroom. The breakfasts were very good. We did not have the half board option as we preferred to eat out at the many restaurants. Dubrovnik is amazing and the walking the walls are a must. We went early evening as they won't allow anyone up after 7pm. The views are wonderful and its not too hot. Everyone tells you to take a number 6 bus these are always full, take a number 4 bus and at least you'll get a seat, and get your bus tickets from the tisak just along the road from the minimarket near the beach. Gruz harbour is where you get ferries to various islands like lopud, sipan and kolocep. The no. 7 bus goes to gruz harbour but is very unrelliable and packed you can be waiting for over an hour in peak season. Make sure you go to Lokrum its a great day out and you catch the boat from Dubrovnik old town harbour. This is a great hotel and fantastic location. If you like a bit of history and culture with amazing views and beautiful water then you'll love this place as much as we did. ENJOY.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SHIVERMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We were 2 weeks on the 7th floor seaside.
Good:
- Spectacular view from the balcony.
- Beach is very near.
- Pedestrian street and bars and restaurants are close
- Nice live music at the pool bar in the evenings.
- Air conditioning was very good
- Friendly staff
Bad:
- Room was quite small
- The linen of the bed were not changed as usually as it was promised. We had to complain twice about it.
- Breakfast was quite ok but it was the same food every day (youghurt was very good)

We didn't use the pool. We noticed that people don't take a shower BEFORE they go to the pool. They went into the pool with sweat and sunoil. The water of the pool smelled dirty. I didn't see a single person to use the shower. A few russian guests even washed their underarms and necks with their hands when they went swimming there. That was disgusting.

Other things:
- Croatian people are very friendly and they speak very good english
- Old town is really beautiful and worth for a several visits. Some ideas: Take a walk on the city walls but go early in the morning before it gets crowded and too hot. Best coffee: Cafe Bar Afrika on the side street. Taste also the bosnian coffee at the bosnian Taj Mahal restaurant. (And also their spinach pie) Best ice cream: Dolce Vita on the side street. Taste smoothies at the Smoothe Bar. Best pizza in the world: Mea Culpa. Incredible vegetarian food: Nishta (remember to check the funny toilet). Great sea food: Moby Dick. Tasty drink. Pear liquor kruscovac. Tasty fruit: Fresh figs.
- Best restaurants near hotel: The restaurant of Hotel Zagreb, Eden and Konovac...........
- Lokrum island is a nice small place. Remember to take your swimsuit and test the small "dead sea"
- Lopud Island has a beautiful sandy beach. They take people there with a golf carry. 20 kunas per person.
- Cavtat is almost like a small town at the Riviera. Very clean and comfy. 30 minutes by the bus nbr 10. If you are interested in art and paintings visit the home museum of Vlaco Bukovac. It is a real treasury.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MazaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £57 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing