We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in very nice location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in very nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

Hotel was situated in a great place that alows you to take part in Dubrovniks cafe culture, its surounded my trendy cafes and resterants.......it was light airy and modern in side and the views from the front of the the hotel are beond stunning.

Breakfast was serves from between 7 to 10 so convinent for early or late risers.

The other great thing about this hotel is its situated just outside the centre in Le Pad which means the prices for food, drink and the very reasonable locally made wine and spirits means you get much more value for money. Also easily situated near the number 6 bus root which can get you back and too from town for as little as 3 kunas which saves on the frankly exhorbitant taxi fairs.....if you can avoid them i would!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickobravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    549
    228
    54
    29
See reviews for
190
613
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed there during early April, as part of the group. We generally liked the hotel and we loved the Lapad area. The hotel public areas are quite nice and the rooms quite spacious (not huge) with wonderful seaview and modern bathroom. As for the food, it is rather good and tasty. Even though there is quite a big breakfast quantity, very often they bring out items from last night's dinner, which are not as appropriate. Therefore instead of this, they could add maybe more fruits, crepes, etc. However, the dinner is very good and of a big variety. Even though the rooms are generarally clean when checking in, I wouldn't say that the housekeeping is doing a very good job there. The beds are very roughly made and the rooms are not thoroughly cleaned. So you can mostly tell that the room has been made just by looking at the clean towels. As for the amenities, these are not substituted once finished...As of that, we had a very enjoyable stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

The reception staff were fantastic, the location was brilliant, facilities good, lovely pool area (although people kept leaving their towels on loungers all day meaning it was near impossible to get a seat by the pool even during quiet times) room was lovely, big, quiet, clean and relaxing with good temperature control.

We had a fantastic stay in Dubrovnik and would definitley recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JK0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

I know this is not everyones experience but this is how we found it. The rooms are lovely and modern (although not cleaned very thoroughly). We had the best sea view ever but i'm not sure that makes up for the cramped room. There was no drawer space so you had to leave most of your clothes in your case. The pool area had very few sunbeds. No where near enough to accomodate even a small proportion of the guests. As a result everyone would reserve a bed with a towel before 8am. The restaurant was ok; usually lots of choice.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jen_in_Sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We travelled to Dubrovnik and stayed in the Grand Hotel Park in May 2009.

The Hotel:

The Grand Hotel Park is a modern hotel set in a good location 100M from Lapad beach which is mostly a shingle beach.

Luckily, there is a promenade and a walkway right next to the hotel with restaurants, shops, small supermarkets and people selling excursions.

The Room:

The rooms are modern, and clean, and there's a mini-bar with the normal overly expensive drinks in it. You must note that it is a mini-bar and not a fridge because if you can squeeze some of your own drinks into it there’s a member of staff who does the rounds on a daily basis to top the mini-bar up who will leave you a polite notice to tell you that if you continue to put your own drinks in the mini-bar you will be charged.

There’s the usual satellite TV though only a few channels were in English (CNN was one) and there’s Pay TV with a large video-on-demand selection of films.

The bathrooms are beautifully modern and sleek with elegant square wash basins and a contemporary ‘floating’ toilet. There is also a bidet.

The multi-jet shower takes some getting used to as it can shower you from multiple adjustable angles. There isn’t an alternative because there is no bath.

There’s the usual balcony with either a car park view (which is OK) or pool and sea view.


The Hotel Food:

To me, especially in the first week, the hotel food was very good. Hotel buffet food is rarely anything special but the beef steak with Béarnaise sauce was lovely.

The breakfasts are the usual continental type: cheese, tomatoes, spam/ham, some bread rolls and sausage (continental style) and bacon.

The Hotel Entertainment:

The hotel has very little on the entertainment side of things. There are some musicians in the bar and once a week three musicians sing local songs acoustically as they stroll around the restaurant as you eat.

There is no focused entertainment that attracts guests to gather in some focal point as you might have in some hotels but I would guess that not many of the hotels in Dubrovnik do that and this hotel is not the exception.


The Resort:

Dubrovnik is a small town and there is nothing to do there apart from sight-seeing.

Once you have been through Pilè Gate and strolled down the old Roman road Stradun within the walls of the old city then, other than excursions, that’s your lot.

There is little else to see in Dubrovnik other than the old town and generally this is a place to come to chill out and relax rather than do, or see, anything of great interest.

Transportation:

There are a few buses that run from the road just a short walk up from the hotel.

You can buy bus tickets on the bus but I think they are a little bit cheaper and it is quicker and more convenient if you buy your bus tickets from the kiosks on the pavements.

Tickets are valid for 1 hour after they are stamped on the bus if I remember correctly so if you take one bus you can slot your ticket into the machine on another bus and catch that one having already paid for it as long as you enter the second bus less than an hour after you stamped your ticket on the first..

The number 6 takes you to Pilè Gate and the old town and to Babin Kuk in the other direction where Copacabana beach is.

The only thing that you will find in Babin Kuk are some hotels, a small shopping parade and the ridiculously named Copacabana beach which is a joke and a complete waste of time; you have to go there to see how much it is oversold via the deliberate misnaming of it.

I think the number 7 bus goes to the coach station and if you are adventurous you can take a ride to Split. I wouldn’t advise it because it’s a 4 hour drive but it’s worth a walk around.

You can see the bus routes of the local buses on the bus company Libertas’ website.

Cavtat is nice quiet place (at the end of the number 12 bus route) but again there is nothing there to either see or do.

Excursions:

Because there is little to do in Dubrovnik especially if you are there for over 2 weeks excursions may be the highlight of you trip.

We went on the day trip to Montenegro and it was great. We stopped in Kotor on the way to Budva and I would have preferred to go on holiday in Montenegro and taken a day trip to Dubrovnik rather than doing it the other way around.

Buy your excursions from ‘Lea Ivica’, a nice guy who sells excursions (with his son, I think) on the promenade beside the hotel. He’s usually on the corner where the small supermarket is on the walk down to Lapad Beach. If you are walking by I’m sure that he’ll have a chat to you anyway. Their prices are more reasonable than the tour operators.

You can take a day trip to Bosnia and Mostar too which is worth it because there’s plenty to see on the way even though Mostar itself and its famous bridge aren’t that much to talk about.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trippyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
202 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We have just returned after spending a lovely week at the Grand Hotel Park in Dubrovnik.
On arrival at the hotel we where warmly greeted by a very friendly Reception Team.
The check-in process was handled quickly and efficiently. We stayed in Room 306 on the third floor which afforded us good views across the bay, although recommend that if booking a sea view room then request a room on a higher floor to get the best views. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a road and do not have a good outlook.
Our one major concern, which was also expressed by many other guests, is the distinct lack of drawer space in the rooms. Our wardrobe also had only 9 hangers for a weeks clothing which appeared inadequate.
The restaurant operates a " Free Seating" policy which allows guests the option to sit anywhere they wish although the restaurant does get very busy especially if you arrive for dinner after 7.30pm. Meals are also on a self service basis with a good good choice of dishes available. The restaurant team work hard to keep everything replenished.
We had a problem with the Safety Deposit Box in our room and after reporting the problem to reception a member of staff arrived within a couple of minutes to resolve the problem. Now that exceeded our expectations of good service. I must also mention that there is no charge for using Safety Deposit Boxes in this hotel which is a welcome touch
We booked our holiday with Thomson Holidays and the representative visited the hotel every day except Saturday. We found the rep to be very helpful and he gave us some very useful local advice.
The most frequent bus to Dubrovnik City is the Number 6 which operates from
Babin Kuk to the Pile Gate and is very frequent. Unfortunately it is always packed solid when it arrives at the bus stop nearest the hotel. An alternative would be to catch the Number 4 bus which operates between the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel and Pile Gate and is always only half full at most. This bus can be boarded from outside the Hotel Adriatic which is only about 400 metres from the Grand Hotel Park. Bus tickets can be purchased from either the kiosk at the bus stop or from most newsagent stands for 8 kuna per journey. Alternatively the cost is 10 kuna if purchased on the bus.
If the intention is to walk the city wall (50 kuna) the best place to join the wall is at Ploce Gate. Ploce Gate can be reached by walking to the end of the Stradun and then bear left for about 100 metres to reach Ploce Gate.
Most visitors join the wall at the main entrance to the city at Pile Gate and are immediately faced with a walk up over 300 steps. Ploce Gate is a more comfortable experience with less than 90 steps in total.
A pleasant trip is to take the water taxi from the harbour to Cavtat - single fare is 80 kuna and takes 45 mins and also calls at the Island of Lokrum on the way.
Cavtat is a gem of a town with an attractive promenade. Upon reaching Cavtat the water taxi calls first at one of the main hotels before journeying round the headland to the main part of the town. We got off the water taxi with all the other travellers and then we found out that they were all guests at this hotel although we then enjoyed a pleasant walk around to the main part of the town.
It is possible to return to Dubrovnik by bus from Cavtat, if wished, and the journey takes 30 mins and costs 12 kuna per person.
My wife and I had a lovely holiday at the Grand Hotel Park and found the hotel staff to be very friendly and in all cases went out of their way to make our holiday a pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed therefrom the end of August until the first week of September. The hotel was fine. The rooms were cleaned everyday. There were a few problems, our room was a little small with barely any room for clothes. The pool was very nice, although salty water and there were not enough sun beds for the size of the hotel (about 120 rooms and 30 sunbeds). We went half board and the food was good and they catered for the various nationalities. They do a good offer that you can cancel your dinner the day before and get
lunch, which was very nice. The hotel has it's own sun loungers on the beach (2 min walk) but you have to pay 65 Kuna (about 8 quid) to sit on the hotel loungers. Lost of lovely little bars on the doorsteps. Hotel bar was a bit too expensive. Had a really nice time, but it needs to raise it;s standards to really be 4 star.
Old Town is lovely, and there is a number 6 bus just a short walk from hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bowie_harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Property: Grand Hotel Park
Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing