We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an awful hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Park
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This hotel is so poor it is difficult to know where to begin. First and foremost forget about using the pool - the hotel has only 40 loungers for 500 guests and the hotel willingly allows people to "monopolise" the few there are by putting towels and books on them even though they are not being used. Your only alternative is to go to the beach (not owned by the hotel) where surprisingly the hotel has plenty of loungers available but makes even more money by charging you for the "privelege". The breakfast included is a slurry of swill and the overall service similar. We paid €192 per night for this hotel which frankly is € 150 too much - a 2 star hotel on the costa brava would be superior and frankly better value.

So take it from me - avoid this hellhole and save your money!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATAVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel in May 2010. The hotel is conveniently located a couple of minutes walk from bus routes to old city (buy bus tickets at the news kiosks, they're cheaper than paying on the bus). There is also a pedestrianised street of cafes nearby and a general store selling confectionery etc at the back of the hotel (leave the pool side, walk through the small park and across a very quiet (dead end) road. The hotel itself was very clean and we had no complaints about the room - just one gripe - ther lack of drawer space which meant half our clothes stayed in the case. I had no complaints about the range or quality of food (half board) and the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The restaurant opens earlier than published for those doing tours to more distant places like Montenegro and Mostar. The nearby beach seemed a bit run down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We booked this hotel because it had a huge indoor and outdoor pool and was within walking distance of the beach (pebbles) yet it was only a short (but very crowded) bus ride to the cultural Old Town. The pools were lovely, but there weren't many sunloungers and we struggled to find a place to sit when we came down to the pool after lunch. Our room was large with double bed and two single sofa beds, large bathroom with jacuzzi bath, but a small balcony for only two people. It wasn't cleaned too well, especially the floors and bath, but the bedding and towels were clean. There was also a free in-room safe and minibar (at cost). The food was buffet style and dinner was a bit late at 7pm (with a hungry six year old). The menu lacked variety and was sometimes lukewarm but for a short break it was adequate and service was reasonable. Drinks aren't included with the evening meal and a bottle of water costs 20kn - around £2.50 and a bottle of wine was 100kn. There are plenty of supermarkets within easy walk (2 minutes) of the hotel and I recommend you try Tommy's for good value snacks to take out during the daytime. Visiting the Old Town is a must - we did half days in the town and half days by the pool. I would recommend this hotel for families and couples who want the best of both worlds - pool/beach and culture. In the evenings, there are lots of souvenir shops open along the promenade and there is a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Right where to start..... this is the first time I have written a review but I found the reviews when booking quite helpful to get an idea of what to expect. The hotel itself was lovely and very clean, room was lovely but not much a view...infact we just had a great big tree infront of our balcony. There was not much entertainment on, just a singing duo which were very good but playing by the outside bar which is probably the most expensive bar in the whole area.
We went all inclusive.....and we were very disappointed!! If there is actually any food out then its more than likely to have been there from the night before(for breakfast) or from that morning (for dinner). Staff waiting on the tables are quick to serve you but not likely to smile whilst doing so. Towards the second half the week there seemed to be a lot more guests turning up but not an increase in food.

Sunbeds! if you actually manage to get a sunbed BEWARE they tend to just let themselves down when they feel like it, no matter the size of the person on it, every few minutes around the pool someone will get a horrible little shock mid sunbathe. I gave up in the end and just used the floor or the chairs around the pool.

The area itself is lovely, a few bars and restaurants (but only a few!) but we tended to get the bus to the old town which was one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen and definately worth the visit (only about 5 mins on the bus).

Also booked a couple of excursions through a company called Huck Finn who were fab. They picked us up and brought us back to hotel, very reasonably priced and lovely people.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LexieLexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Grand Park hotel ethos is “Feel the magic of the Mediterranean” this is a four star hotel that could not produce. I did read the reviews on the hotel and thought we would take a gamble. Please don’t get me wrong, I don’t wish to negative about the hotel, but for the amount of money we paid and being a four star we are sorely disappointed. I have tried to be fair in my review and try to keep to the facts.

I agree with the other comments put on here about the great location of the hotel. Situated by Lapad Bay, you do have a lovely view of the Mediterranean Sea and the bay its self, but you do pay for it.
The hotel is a couple minutes walk to a choice of two bus stops, the number 4 and 6.
Surrounding area you have a supermarket called “Tommy’s” here you have a choice of three ATMs. Which is about two minutes walk from the hotel. Also you have a promenade with a selection of bars and restaurants to choose from also there is an information bureau.

Hotel rooms are modern, comfortable but cosy. A free safe, which you can set your own personal pin number, so no key will needed to be carried around with you. I need to stress that the rooms are not clean, on first appearance it looks ok, but when taking a closer look. Well let’s just say I wish I hadn’t. Minimum surface cleaning was done; we found dust, human hair, cobwebs and crumbs. Clean sheets and towels are provided each day. But the bed sheets didn’t completely cover the whole of my single bed. Bathroom wasn’t cleaned, we did see the cleaning lady doing a quick swish with the loo brush but no bleach to hand, and she did do a light mop of the floor. We also noticed that the shower floor hadn’t been cleaned in the whole 10-day stay we were at the hotel. The walls are thin, we could hear our neighbour’s walking around in their rooms, and the cupboard space was enough for one person. For the air con to work, the door to the balcony had to be shut, but we noticed that if the neighbours slammed their doors, ours opened stopping the air con from working. The balcony is just big enough to sit a two chairs and a table, but there isn’t a lot of room for anything else.
My partner and I couldn’t work out where we were getting these new bite marks each morning, thinking it was a mosquito having a midnight snake. But my partner woke up to find on her bedside, ants running around; we couldn’t believe our eyes, as we had a room on the seventh floor. I know, you are probably wondering why didn’t we move rooms, we didn’t discover our friends until nearing the end of our stay, with the hotel being fully booked where would we go?

In our ten day stay at the hotel, four times the lifts broke down, only having one working for a seven floored hotel with 24 rooms on each, you can imagine how busy the one lift would be, several times we had to walk the seven flights of stairs to our room, not what you want after a long day of site seeing in the summer sun.

Reception was always busy, which cant be helped, in a hotel of this size, which I fully understand and appreciate, however it got to the stage where you felt rude to disturb them, customer service wasn’t anything special. There was no porter to help carry the bags when we arrived, but we noticed if you are a twenty something attractive woman the reception men cant be more then helpful for you.

Now for the food at the hotel, we paid for half board, I agree there was a large selection of food, but if you are looking for Mediterranean food, don’t waste your time. The first thoughts that came to our minds, “factory canteen”, there was no magic here, the food was boring, cooked meat was tuff and dry, no exciting presentation of food. The food was very hit and miss. In my opinion more misses then hits. The restaurant staffs are hard working a pleasant people. But for a four star hotel you do expect more. We noticed on more then one occasion both at breakfast and dinner, guests making there own tables. The staff would push round a trolley putting the dirty plates, cutlery and food scraps. This is fine at a distance, but not when its left beside you as the waiter or waitress walks off to do something else it can be very off putting. On Friday we had entertainment, three gentlemen playing instruments and singing. They were good when they were in the mood. But sadly they had to be in the mood. We also were surprised to see no dress code, staying at other four star hotels, trouser were to be worn by the men and women to dress appropriately. Not here, come wear what you want.

As everyone else has mentioned the web site, the swimming pool was always busy so we expected that, we did find that there was free chairs in the inside swimming pool, which was meant to be heated to 25C, it was cold salty water. The age-old battle of leaving the beach towel on the sun beds and then disappearing is a constant occurrence here. On our last holiday, the hotel that we stayed at had a “no towel on sun beds” this was policed. I would suggest that this hotel take up this policy trying to keep things fair.
On three occasions the hotel ran out of towels for the swimming pool. When we did manage to get a towel, retuning them was just a big enough challenge as well, you had to make sure you gave back your receipt as well as the towel or you would be charged. You can be left waiting for an age, as there was no one around. The hotel has a Jacuzzi, this was cold salt water and you had to find the same person that you handed the pool towels to, to ask them to switch the Jacuzzi on! It was also on a timer, so after a short while, you had to find staff to turn it on again.

If I could go back in time, I would stick the area of Lapad Bay, but look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This hotel has the possibility of being first class. It is let down with just minor problems easily sorted. it has a lovely pool but not enough beds. A covered in seating area close by is ideal for soaking up the sun but is in need of a good sweep and rubbish cleared more often. We didn't spend time on the beach as the beds were far too close together. The alternative was a walk along the coastal path where you could find some really good secluded areas on the rocks. Our room was really clean and well equipped but unfortunately our view was dominated by the green roof over the dining room. A higher floor would have been much better. There was plenty of choices of food and we had no complaints. The buses into Dubrovnik are excellent and cheap running every 10 minutes but there's no such thing as a queue so everyone for themselves. A really good base for seeing Dubrovnik, Mostar and Montenegro. Walking the walls of Dubrovnik is a must but it does get very hot and I would think it could be slippery in wet weather.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirthdaygirlWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Have just returned from a week's stay at the hotel park. On the whole I would recommend this hotel. The food is buffet with a good choice, although you may want to eat out in the main town for a bit of variety. Rooms are basic and could be a bit larger but shower good. If you have booked a sea room make sure you are above the third floor so view not obscured. We requested and were moved to the seventh floor for a superb view. Travel to the centre of Dubrovnik very easy by bus.

Restaurant staff hard-working and friendly. The reception staff on the whole are very efficient although some of the female ones on in the evening can be very rude at times - I was accused of hoading the luggage room key all day by one of them having only borrowed it for five minutes!

Small taverna with pleasant atmosphere and live music and good pizzas. The bar staff and chef there were very efficient and welcoming.

Make sure that you make the long walk around the Lapad Peninsula as views are beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank condonsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#32 of 68 in Dubrovnik
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Park

Address: Setaliste Kralja Zvonimira 39, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £58 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Park 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Park is located in the heart of Dubrovnik's Lapad Peninsula and only 100 meters away from the beautiful beach.It has a large outdoor pool and a brand new and modern spa area with indoor pool.Consisting of the main hotel building and 2 historical villas, it offers air-conditioned rooms with shower/bath, minibar, flat-screen TVs, free of charge safe and free of charge Wi Fi.Free WI-Fi is as well available in all public areas.Hotel offers a small complimentary and multilingual library for all guests.Small children corner is located within the hotel and features a flat-screen TV, CD player, books, toys and collection of cartoons.Croatian and international cuisine can be enjoyed at Grand Hotel Park’s main restaurant or in the picturesque à la carte Tavern Maria" s Castle. Bars/Snack Bars are located within hotel, by the outdoor pool,and at the beach ( as a part of beach restaurant "Plaža") , where parties take place regularly.Live music can be enjoyed 3-5 times a week.Tennis courts and a seashore promenade with restaurants , coffee shops, shopping center and magnificent views towards Elaphite Islands are only a few steps away from the Grand Hotel Park.Dubrovnik's Old town is less than 3 km away and can easily be reached in 5 minutes by frequent buses, since bus station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel.Parking is always available and is free of charge at Grand Hotel Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing