We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION BUT NOT QUITE FIVE STAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Just returned from a week in beautiful Dubrovnik. May is a good time to go because the tourists/cruise ships are not so plentiful although the place seemed busy enough! Also it apparently gets very hot in July/Aug - too much for us. As everyone says, the people are very friendly, the restaurants are in abundance - 2 stand outs for us were Pizzeria Castro - excellent pizzas for reasonable price and Restaurant Amoret (near Cathedral) for delicious meat and fish dishes.

Now to the hotel:

Positives
1. We had a seaview with juliet balcony on 3rd floor - fantastic view of Lokrum, the old town and far out to sea - also it's near where the cruise ships anchor so it was fun to spot new ones every day.
2. The room was modern and spotless the entire visit, We had complimentary fruit and wine which was a nice touch. Our beds were always made up whilst we were at breakfast. Plenty of good useable storage space too.
3. The breakfast is buffet with plenty of choices from fruit salad to egg and bacon and even a glass of champagne. Didn't eat any other meals there.
4. There were a couple of early evening recitals which were good - very romantic watching the swifts dance in the sky to the music whilst the sun set over the Old Town.
5. All staff were attentive and very helpful. A lot of young people anxious to practice their excellent English.
6. Being directly on the coastline the hotel was very quiet - especially at night which is important to us - so we can get a good night's sleep.
7. The gardens are reasonably extensive and so I was always able to find a quiet spot with a view to read my book.
Negatives
1. The main hotel is a concrete block and the terrace dining, although with great views, could do with more greenery to break it up.
2. The "beach" consists of a series of concrete levels built into the rocks - again it is very stark and unappealing - tubs of flowers would make a huge difference.
3. The outdoor pool is seawater and unheated so didn't get used much - there are steps into the sea anyway!
4. The fitness area was very small. The indoor pool was fine and always clean but the gym could do with a few free weights as a couple of running machines seem rather superfluous when you have such a beautiful place to run around outside.
5. The fitness centre changing facilities are a complete nightmare. There are no male/female changing rooms and just ONE tiny cubicle in a narrow corridor for everyone to use. I saw far too much of some men than I wanted. Also the two showers are communal and very embarrassing. There is a large hairdressers which would be better used as changing facilities. The hairdryer was in the tiny ladies toilet area and I gave up using it and returned to the room. Certainly not 5 star. Can't imagine the chaos if ever more than 3 people wanted to use it at the same time.
6. Be careful if paying extra for a balcony seaview as I noticed that many of them on the 5th floor overlooked the dining terrace so will probably be noisy and intrusive at times.
7. The website features atmospheric pictures of the Victoria Restaurant which we were looking forward to using but it's closed for refurbishment at the moment.

All in all, a good place to stay but just not quite five star! If returning to Dubrovnik I would consider it again but maybe look at the Excelsior too (a couple of minutes further down the road),

Took a local ferry to Cavtat - smaller holiday destination - very pretty but right on the flight path to the airport so not sure if it's noisy at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CheshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member CheshireReviewer,

thank you on your feedback about our hotel Grand Villa Argentina and we always take your comments very seriusly in order to improve ourself.
1. We have hotel as it is, and to change face of a new building at this moment it is a difficult task. Greenery that you are suggesting yes and we shall work on this idea.
2. Tubes of flowers are good idea. Thank you for suggestion :)
3. Outdoor pool is sea water pool, not heated, as indoor pool is heatead and with sweet water.
4. We are aware that our fitness area is a bit small, therefore we shall be doing reconstruction to inlarge it in season 2012.
5. Victoria restaurant will be open June 20th

Thank you again for giving us your feedback. Positive and negative.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

I've never written a review before but felt I had to after the GVA made our wedding there absolutely amazing. The grounds are beautiful, and have stunning views of both of the Old Town and of the nearby islands. Our room was lovely (very classiclally decorated) and was made even more special on our wedding night by the fantastic housekeeping staff. The restaurant manager was so helpful when we needed to change the venue of the dinner because of cold weather, and set us up in a great room last minute. I would also like thank the chef who made us a surprise wedding cake for us to cut (we hadn't arranged one ourselves) and for the dinner itself which was outstanding. Everybody who came to the wedding had a fantastic time made even better by excellent service from all the staff who were kind and helpful.
The whole family is planning a trip back next year as the town is stunning, and is a nice stroll down the hill from the hotel, with plenty of places to eat and drink. And if you venture up the little alley ways and lanes you will be constantly amazed at the beauty of the place (our fantastic photograher took us up a few for some bride and groom shots.)
Lastly I would like to thank Ines at Dubrovnik Event for arranging everything and making our special day outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear KathyStone,

thank you for taking time to share your positive experience from your wedding in Grand Villa Argentina on Tripadvisor. We are all happy to see that you spent nice time in our hotel and had a great time on your wedding.

Special thanks goes from our Chefs Djuro, Igor and others for your compliments on food and from Karmela for the wedding cake. Denis, Zvonko and rest of waiters are happy to see that you were happy with level of service provided.

Once again, thank you choosing us to organize your wedding dinner and we are looking forward to welcome you again to our hotel.
Also I will use oportunity to say thank you Ines for arranging everything and making your special day outstanding.

Sincerely yours,


Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel's staff is very accomodating. They upgraded us to a seaview room which was spectacular! The view outside of our window overlooked the Adriatic and Lokrum Island. It was so nice to sleep with our windows open and feel the fresh air everynight. We enjoyed the free wifi in the hotel and the indoor pool / outdoor pool. We ate at the hotel restaurant on our last day and were pleased with our meal. The breakfast in the morning was also very good. We loved the easy walk into town and felt very safe everywhere we went. We are both raving about Dubrovnik. We recommend walking the city walls, taking a boat cruise to the Elaphite Islands, and taking the cable car up the mountain behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danigal525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member danigal525

Thank you so much for the recommendation and this great review! On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to say how delighted we are to hear your kind words. We truly hope that you will have opportunity to visit Dubrovnik and Grand Villa Argentina again and enjoy in the unique location, views and services.

Kind regards, from sunny Dubrovnik :)
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The Hotel is descrbed as 5 star but it is a reasonable 4 star. Our primary purpose to visit Dubrovnik was to attend a friends wedding & so there were also family of the happy couple & friends staying at this hotel. We booked a deluxe sea view room with balcony (room 518). It was large and clean with a walk in wardrobe. The bathroom was small but clean. Be prepared for small bath towels. They are not big enough to wrap around you and not fluffy. The pool is very cold though this may be due to the time of year, but there is an indoor pool as well. Unfortunately no poolside service for drinks/food. After spending evenings in the the Old Town, we often came back to find the bar shut. It shuts at midnight. The hotel is conveniently located for Old Town, only a 5 min walk. Old Town itself is beautiful, clean and interesting with loads of bars and restaurants. You are spoilt for choice. I suggest a walk of the city walls, take a boat trip and a ride in the cable car. There a good shops and with the exchange rate of Croation Kuna to the GBP£ great value. I'll definetly be back and with a view to seeing more of this lovely country.

Room Tip: with this hotel, you have to pay to get the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahgr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member Sarahgr67

I would like to thank you for writting a review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to see that you like our hotel and how it is situated.
Concerning your remarks I would like to inform you that we shall be putting bigger towels XXXL in the rooms in near future.
Our Victoria Lounge bar is open until 1:00am so our guest can entertain when coming back from Old Town.
Cable Car tickets can be bought at the front desk in order to avoid queues over there as we see you liked Cable Car ride a lot.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We are at this hotel now and can understand some of the comments in the last review but not all of them. The hotel is on a cliff side the enterance and reception are on the 6th floor which along with the top 7th floor are at street level, Standard rooms on the 7th are therefore not very desirable and there are very few standard room on the lowere, better floors. We were allocated a 7th floor room but requester a change which was granted without any problem. Our room on the 2nd floor is very good.

We find the hotel very good, well run, staff very pleasant, gardens are also pleasant. Because May is still too early in the season the hotel is quiet and therefore lacking atmosphere and many of the facilities are not operational i.e pool area service, piano bar. Victoria. We are sure these will be better later on.

the location is fine for getting down to the old town but it is difficult uphill to get back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member Burys,

let me thank you for your coment written about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to hear that hote isl very good, well run, staff very pleasant, and that you like our gardens :).
I have to agree we were lacking a bit of entertainment in May, therefore thanks to your comment and comments from other guest we have started with open area concerts. Now, I see how much guests appriciate it and how much our guest enjoy it.
Therefore thank you for pushing us to improve ourself.

We hope to see you in near future.

With very best regards from sunny Dubrovnik

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My husband and I are currently staying at this hotel. The Location of the hotel is great, it is just 10 minutes walk from the old town of Dubrovnik (so is the Hotel Excelsior and Hilton Imperial) but we are dissapointed with many other aspects of the hotel.

The room
We booked a standard room (without a sea view) and are positioned right next to a busy main road which is really noisy at most times of the day. Its position also means if we want any privacy we have to keep the curtains shut so passers by cannot see in and it would be unadvisable to open any windows.
The wardrobe is so small it cannot fit all our clothes in and we are living out of our suitcases (thank goodness we are only here for 1 week) and the drawers in the dressing table are broken. The bath leaks which means the floor is wet and slippy after having a shower and don't expect any fluffy towels you would normally find in a 5* either, though the L'Occitane goodies are a nice touch!
We would have appreciated tea and coffee making facilities also.

The hotel
The public areas are tastefully decorated and very clean. According to the Thomson brochure we were expecting a 'victoria' restaurant which is currently undergoing building work, a beach bar which isnt open yet, a pa piano a saltwater pool with sunbeds and parasols which is not in use, sub tropical gardens that have not seen a gardener in a while-need I continue! This hotel is b&b basis and to say British guests are not catered for at breakfast is an understatement.
The staff adopt a 'can't be bothered' attitude and customer service

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matalistew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2011

Dear Tripadvisor member Matalistew,

thank you on your review regarding hotel Grand Villa Argentina.

I will contact you directly as you are still our guest to make your stay better.
We were very suprised to see that you are writing that beach bar is not opened while Beach Bar working hour is from 10 - 17.
As you can see we have two swimming pools:
one indoor pool with sweet water
one outdoor pool with salt water.
Both of these two pools are opened with sunbeds and parasol.

It is true that Victoria restaurants and lounge bar is courently undergoing through reconstruction and will be opened in June while Victoria Lounge bar will be opend May 14th.

We like our mediterranean gardens and are very proud how do they look but would like to discuss with you if you have any ideas or sugestions that might help us to improve our gardens.

While our team members here at the Grand Villa Argentina are trained and motivated to extend every courtesy and service, I do recognize that occasionally we may not have exceeded your expectations. Please once again, do accept ours apologize.

I do hope you will choose Argentina when visiting Dubrovnik next time and we will be your host again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We came here for a belated honeymoon. We were upgraded to a room with a sea view in Villa Argentina which stunning and very comfortable. The staff were extrememly helpful and friendly, especially the driver who picked us up from the airport. He gave us a lot of information about Dubrovnik and what was good to see, and made us feel extremely welcome and looked after from the start. The gardens were beautiful and very romantic to stroll around. It was a shame that we couldn't have dinner in the Victoria resaurant but that was because renovations were being carried out so it was understandable, and this didn't impact our stay at all as the fantastic location meant we only had to walk 10 minutes into the old city to find wonderful restaurants there. The hot chocolate in the Lobby Bar was delicious, as were the cocktails on the Terrace!

A wonderful hotel that I would reccomend to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToriLizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
858 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £90 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing