We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, close to the old town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel, close to the old town.”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We spend a fantastic four days in this hotel, and highly recommend it. The service was excellent, and the setting/location was amazing. It is a short distance from the old town, maximum 10 minutes walk at a leisurely pace (but up hill on the way back). We did not have a sea view from our room, but it was not necessary as the view from the outdoor terrace/restaurant/bar and pool is all of the old town and the sea. The hotel really is in breathtakingly beautiful location. We booked directly with the hotel and they were very helpful with any questions we had prior to our visit. The breakfast was served in the outside and was excellent, both food and the views. The one slight negative was the dinner we had in La Caravelle restaurant, which was not good. The hotel is surrounded with cypress trees and birds, which added to the lovely athmosphere. The hotel has plenty of good value packages, and the dinner in sister hotel in Cavat is not to be missed. Grand Villa Argentina provide a transfer to Cavat and back, by the hotel driver who is a very interesting man. The hotel also organised a day trip as requested with Amico tours, who again we could not fault. They were a local tour group provider which catered for small groups. Overall, we would give Gran Villa Argentina five stars, without question.

Room Tip: Don't worry about sea view from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed four days break at Grand Villa Argentina.
We sincerely hope you'll visit us again during summer months to reveal hidden aspects of our hotel. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed ride with our driver Niko, and that our staff was nice and polite. We always try to fullfill guest wishes. It gives us a pleasure to see that you were very happy with us. Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you again at Grand Villa Argentina
With kind regards,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel the last week in May and can't say enough good things about this hotel. two of our friends stayed next door at the Exelcior and while that is a nice hotel as well, Grand Villa has it beat. First, grand Villa is more charming and has more character. Second, the service was more personal and staff were more involved, better sense of engagement and humor while being professional. Third, the pool and surrounding area is better.
it is a delightful place to stay with many nice places to sit and relax and take in the spectacular view. the location is easy walking distance to the old town. I highly recommend Grand Villa, I can't wait to go back. Hands down, one of the nicest places I have been.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Kimberly,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from hotel Grand Villa Argentina on Tripadvisor. It is great to see that you had a fantastic time in our hotel.
I hope that rest of your journey is nice as well.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Sincerely yours,

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We chose to stay at the Grand Villa Argentina as the final leg of our Italian/Croatian honeymoon. We couldn't have picked a more wonderful place.

We did splurge a bit for a deluxe room in the Villa Argentina, but it was worth it. The views were amazing and the room well appointed. We had a small balcony, though I'm not sure all the rooms have this feature. The whole hotel does fall inline within 5 star standards, and it had some 'old world' charm that I think other, more modern, 5 star hotels lack.

It's just a short 10 minute walk to the old city, and it's something that we found added to the appeal rather than a detraction. The views are something that you wouldn't get if you stayed in the old city and we appreciated the peaceful quite of the grounds over the hustle and bustle of the old city.

The swimming pool and seaside seating were very agreeable, and something we appreciated over the rocky beaches for the ease of entry and exit for swimming.

Overall, we'd recommend the hotel whole heatedly to anyone looking for a romantic vacation. I'm not sure we would have had such a good time if we were in the more modern rooms, or in a room without an ocean view. Spend a little extra and I'm sure you'll find it's worth it.

Room Tip: Reserve early and online to save.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Guest,

we are delighted to see that you were very impressed with our hotel and service and that this was a wonderfull end for your Honeymoon.
It is a great pleasure for us knowing that we made your honeymoon special.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for such special occasion and we hope we will see you again in the future.


Sincerely yours,

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My fiancee and I stayed in this hotel for 3 days while we visited Dubrovnik. I would highly recommend it.

Cons: WiFi did not work in our room. We were prepared for this, as other reviews on tripadvisor seemed to indicate the same. While it didn't work in our room, we didn't have a problem taking our iPad out to the lobby where WiFi works just fine. The other potential con is that the hotel is located a little bit away from the old town (perhaps 10 minutes or so). It isn't prohibitively far by any stretch, it just got a little old doing it several times per day.

Pros: Given our recent engagement, we were upgraded to a water-view room. We had a beautiful window that overlooked the Adriatic Sea. In addition, the straff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was complimentary. Guests eat their breakfasts on a beautiful deck/balcony that overlooks the Adriatic. It was truly stunning! Lastly, the hotel offers two amazing pools (one inside and one outside). The outside pool is located DIRECTLY on the Adriatic. Amazing.

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edevilbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member Edevilbiss,

thank you for writting this review on tripadvor. We are very very happy to hear that you liked our hotel and service. Seeing coments like this, make us proud as we know we did our job well. We do hope to see you again in near future.

With very best regards from Grand Villa Argentina and sunny Dubrovnik :))

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just back from a brilliant 4 nights in Dubrovnik. The positives of this hotel well outweigh the negatives and Dubrovnik is possibly one of the most beautiful city I have ever visited.

The hotel is by far the best location of any we saw and the view from our room (paid extra for a seaview) was just like a postcard. The pool area, all be it a little tatty, was lovely with the backdrop of the old town and the sea right there for a dip. The hotel staff were really wonderful and couldn’t be more helpful and friendly.

The negatives: such a shame they built an awful ugly modern extension onto this lovely building (our room was in the old part); the breakfast was very average (but the views from the terrace where we ate it were amazing); definitely not a 5 star hotel as advertised, an average 4 star but the views, the staff and proximity to the town well made up for this.

Dubrovnik itself, the Old Town, is just brilliant if a little more expensive that we expected to eat out (as the standard is not particularly high). A must on a short stay is the old wall walk and a trip to the island of Lokrum (only 15 mins away). Think May is the ideal time to go as lovely weather and not packed.

All in all a brilliant holiday destination and I would recommend the hotel and town to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The room where we stayed in this hotel provided a great view of the sea. We could look at the islands too. It was a clean and comfortable room. We had peaceful sleep here at nights. The bathroom was clean too. The food was good. The hotel is a safe and quiet place to stay. It has pleasant green gardens around. The staff are quite helpful. There is free wifi facility. There are both indoor and outdoor bars. The beautiful old town is in vicinity. You can take a short walk to reach it. There are lots of restaurants and bars there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosinhe212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member Kosinhe212

I would like to thank you for writting this nice review about our hotel Grand Villa Argentina.
We hope to see you in hotel again in near future.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Just returned from a week in beautiful Dubrovnik. May is a good time to go because the tourists/cruise ships are not so plentiful although the place seemed busy enough! Also it apparently gets very hot in July/Aug - too much for us. As everyone says, the people are very friendly, the restaurants are in abundance - 2 stand outs for us were Pizzeria Castro - excellent pizzas for reasonable price and Restaurant Amoret (near Cathedral) for delicious meat and fish dishes.

Now to the hotel:

Positives
1. We had a seaview with juliet balcony on 3rd floor - fantastic view of Lokrum, the old town and far out to sea - also it's near where the cruise ships anchor so it was fun to spot new ones every day.
2. The room was modern and spotless the entire visit, We had complimentary fruit and wine which was a nice touch. Our beds were always made up whilst we were at breakfast. Plenty of good useable storage space too.
3. The breakfast is buffet with plenty of choices from fruit salad to egg and bacon and even a glass of champagne. Didn't eat any other meals there.
4. There were a couple of early evening recitals which were good - very romantic watching the swifts dance in the sky to the music whilst the sun set over the Old Town.
5. All staff were attentive and very helpful. A lot of young people anxious to practice their excellent English.
6. Being directly on the coastline the hotel was very quiet - especially at night which is important to us - so we can get a good night's sleep.
7. The gardens are reasonably extensive and so I was always able to find a quiet spot with a view to read my book.
Negatives
1. The main hotel is a concrete block and the terrace dining, although with great views, could do with more greenery to break it up.
2. The "beach" consists of a series of concrete levels built into the rocks - again it is very stark and unappealing - tubs of flowers would make a huge difference.
3. The outdoor pool is seawater and unheated so didn't get used much - there are steps into the sea anyway!
4. The fitness area was very small. The indoor pool was fine and always clean but the gym could do with a few free weights as a couple of running machines seem rather superfluous when you have such a beautiful place to run around outside.
5. The fitness centre changing facilities are a complete nightmare. There are no male/female changing rooms and just ONE tiny cubicle in a narrow corridor for everyone to use. I saw far too much of some men than I wanted. Also the two showers are communal and very embarrassing. There is a large hairdressers which would be better used as changing facilities. The hairdryer was in the tiny ladies toilet area and I gave up using it and returned to the room. Certainly not 5 star. Can't imagine the chaos if ever more than 3 people wanted to use it at the same time.
6. Be careful if paying extra for a balcony seaview as I noticed that many of them on the 5th floor overlooked the dining terrace so will probably be noisy and intrusive at times.
7. The website features atmospheric pictures of the Victoria Restaurant which we were looking forward to using but it's closed for refurbishment at the moment.

All in all, a good place to stay but just not quite five star! If returning to Dubrovnik I would consider it again but maybe look at the Excelsior too (a couple of minutes further down the road),

Took a local ferry to Cavtat - smaller holiday destination - very pretty but right on the flight path to the airport so not sure if it's noisy at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CheshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Tripadvisor Member CheshireReviewer,

thank you on your feedback about our hotel Grand Villa Argentina and we always take your comments very seriusly in order to improve ourself.
1. We have hotel as it is, and to change face of a new building at this moment it is a difficult task. Greenery that you are suggesting yes and we shall work on this idea.
2. Tubes of flowers are good idea. Thank you for suggestion :)
3. Outdoor pool is sea water pool, not heated, as indoor pool is heatead and with sweet water.
4. We are aware that our fitness area is a bit small, therefore we shall be doing reconstruction to inlarge it in season 2012.
5. Victoria restaurant will be open June 20th

Thank you again for giving us your feedback. Positive and negative.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing