We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place, hope to come back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place, hope to come back soon!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have visited Dubrovnik for a week at the beginning of August 2011 and stayed at the Hotel Argentina. Private airport transfer arranged by the hotel was great, worth the extra EUR 15. We were picked up at the airport and driven by very professional and knowledgeable driver in BMW limousine. He gave us lots of useful information and also history lesson on Dubrovnik which was awesome.
The sea view room on the hotel 6th floor was very clean and overlooking the beautifully kept lush and green gardens as well as Island of Lokrum and Dubrovnik. We would strongly recommend staying in the sea view room and we never felt that we would be missing on something by not staying in sea view room with balcony. The toiletries provided were really nice L ‘Occitan products. The buffet breakfast was served on the terrace with a view of Old Town and there was plenty good food to choose from every morning. I travel for business and often get easily tired from the limited and somewhat repetitive selection in hotels breakfast buffets. This was not the case in GVA. For the lunch we would just climbed few stairs to hotel Beach Terrace restaurant. For dinner there are plenty great options either in Dubrovnik or in the hotel as well. The service at Victoria restaurant was exquisite.
The location of the hotel is great. Approximately 10 minutes casual walk downhill to Old City. It makes for nice every night trip to Old Town for delicious ice cream on Stradun.
We truly enjoyed great swimming in the Adriatic Sea. The private swimming concrete platform with the outdoor salt water swimming pool is overlooking Island of Lokrum and the harbour. The water is crystal clear and ideal for swimming. There are plenty of comfortable sunbeds and free towel set up. The pool area can get busy during the high season and we would recommend securing your sunbed before 10am (YMMV). We liked the fact that food is not served poolside, only drinks and some fruits.
When planning the City Walls walk, get up early to avoid midday sun and the crowds. It is much more enjoyable before 9am, with most of the people showing up after 10am. We could see how the walkways were getting busier and line up at the cashier grew. We also took the boat to Lokrum Island, which was nice, however almost half of the Island was closed to public due to higher risk of fires. We spent about 2 hours there, walking the gardens and left. We did not plan on swimming there. You can buy drinks and food there, but expect premium price.
I would also recommend the cable car trip to the top of the Srd hill. Tickets are available for purchase at hotel reception. No discount though. We went up just before sunset, it was truly magnificent evening. There is an outdoor restaurant with beautiful setting on the top of the hill, were we had a tasteful dinner, which we felt was quite reasonably priced. We even had a bottle of Croatian white wine and with the tip paid just over 400 Kuna ($80).
By now you have an idea about the daily rate you can expect at this hotel. I can say that our room was very nice, we did not feel it would be smaller than what we are used to in North and South American hotels. If something, we were pleasantly surprise that the level of service of this European hotel is truly 5 stars. We felt that with this service, great location and excellent amenities the rate we paid was adequate. Expensive, but reasonable compare to the other hotels in Dubrovnik area. Reception handled our reservation and all request during our stay very professionally. As in the most of the hotels, the in-room bar items, including the water, were quite expensive.
The stay was very relaxing and romantic. We plan to go back soon.

Room Tip: Book sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    404
    132
    35
    20
See reviews for
163
742
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights in early Sep, having booked through Last Minute.Com. I agree with the tenor of previous reports. This is a well run resort hotel. It is not capital city 5*, some aspects require updating. Service is good, but not immaculate . The management are very responsive. I have no hesitation in recommending it and would stay again.

Taxi from the airport cost 250/300 Kuna. With most flights from the UK arriving early morning and rooms seemingly not available until 1400hrs, pack you pool stuff somewhere handy.

Breakfast on the outdoor terrace is quite spectacular, the wasps certainly seem to enjoy it. The outdoor pool area is superb. Drinks and snacks are available pool side. Lunch at the beach bar is OK. We did not try dinner, those that did felt rushed in the main restaurant and enjoyed The Victoria. The bar at this latter restaurant is the perfect place for a sundowner, with drinks 2:1 during "Happy Hour".

We found Gil's on the City Walls to the the best restaurant and worth the expense. And can recommend Arsenal, by the Harbour together with the restaurant attached to The Pucic Palace Hotel.

A trip by Cable Car to the fortress at the top of the hill is worth it; the war museum tells the story of Dubrovnik during the break up of Yugoslavia. But for a circular tour of Dubrovnik old and new, get the No8 bus from outside the hotel - tickets cost 12kuna.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I, with our two teenage children, spent 5 fantastic nights here in August. The hotel is just wonderful- breathtaking views are everywhere! It is in a perfect location- close enough to the Old Town but far enough away for peace and quiet. And the views looking back on the Old Town are incredible!! Our rooms were lovely; great linens and beautiful bathrooms. A friend of ours from Croatia recommended Argentina and we are so grateful. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Dubrovnik!! Thank you Lule!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatsonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Really enjoyed our stay in Grand Villa Argentina. Only a 10 minute walk into Dubrovnik so really close to wander in but still be close enough to head back for a swim if the heat got too much. Clever use of space at the pool and lovely to lie back and look out towards Lokrum Island or get in to the sea and look at Dubrovnik old Port. Our hotel room was small but to be honest spent all our time out of it. Didn't go for a sea view and were glad as all the public areas have great views and there are high trees so some sea view rooms may not have had great views due to trees outside them. Breakfast was very good. Lounge Bar very relaxing. Would recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 5 day break in Dubrovnik and the Grand Villa Argentina was the perfect place to stay; a short stroll down to the old city and with its own beach and enclosed swimming area. Our room was extremely comfortable with a beautiful view of the island opposite. The beach terraces were well maintained with sun loungers, umbrellas and plenty of clean towels available. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We were slightly disappointed with the menu at the Caravelle restaurant but the Victoria restaurant was excellent with very knowledgeable waiters eager to recommend wines and dishes. We plan to return to Dubrovnik and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toasty754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Guest,

greetings from Dubrovnik and thank you on your nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are proud to see that we have met your expectation and that you were happy with hotel, polite and professional staff and with our fine dinning restaurant VICTORIA.
We are looking forward seeing you in hotel again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The location near to the heart of the city is just a perfect spot to organize your business in Dubrovnik. The staff is nice and helpfull, service smooth and excellent and we liked the atmosphere all around the premises. Next time it is going to be "vacational" visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Irena,

thank you for this nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are happy to see that we have fullfill your expectations. We hope to see you soon. Let us know when you will be coming for vacation.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My hasband and I recently spend four days at the Grand Villa Argentina for our honeymoon and we opened the door to our sea-view room with champagne and chocolate - how nice! We spend every afternoon at the pool, one of the best I have ever been to, jumping off the rocks into the blue-green Adriatic Sea. We enjoyed lunch outside every day and the manager recommended amazing local wines - we had the same bottle every afternoon! The daily breakfast had so many choices and fresh food to eat - we thought breakfast was finished at 11 and arrived too late to learn it ended at 1030 - NO PROBLEM! They made breakfast for us - how nice! We were treated so well all week. We both indulged in massages and my husband says it was the best massage he has ever had! Thank you Grand Villa Argentina - we hope to come back soon! xoxo

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericaleemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your hooneymoon and we are happy to see that we have fullfill your expectation. We hope that we shall see you in future again in Grand Villa Argentina.
With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#33 of 67 in Dubrovnik
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing