We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were really excited after looking at this hotel on line. We were soon disappointed. On arrival the female receptionist was detached and abrupt.The 3rd floor room that we booked was seaview double with juliet.it was tired looking and in need of upgrading. The seaview was interupted by huge trees. The double bed was two single beds not fixed together and moved around freely. After two nights there we managed to get moved to the 7th floor in a true double, excitedly we thought that would be above the trees WRONG!! There was a half dead palm tree right outside our window. The aircon was useless, trying to sleep with the window open and the tree russelling all night I had to resort to sleeping tablets to get any sleep. The restaurants were poor, the much promoted Victoria was very expensive and average.The Victoria Bar was poorly stocked and the barman rude and unhelpful. The Caravell restaurant was almost empty due to the total lack of atmosphere, the service was dreadfully slow. The music was ok and finished too early, if you went out to eat and wanted to come back and have a drink and coffee the place was like a graveyard. The bathing area was ok with a lift down to basement level then still steps to get down to pool/sea level. The pool bar/eating area was up to a level between 0 & 1st floor and my husband who is not overly mobile struggled with the steps. To get service at the poolside was very difficult, there were a couple of sunbed assistants/ waiters who were never around and when we did spot them they suffered temporary customer blindness when you tried to attract their attention. On the whole a very expensive hotel with illusions of grandure, Dubrovnik is beautiful. But beware if you are going tp Croatia for a cheaper holiday than the Euro zone, you will be disappointed the prices are just as high and in some area's ( The Old Town ) even higher. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you will struggle below 6th floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for writting the review about our hotel. I am very sorry to see that you have not been satisfied with your stay with us.Please accept our appologies about it.
I would also like to mention that we are taking your comments seriously and we shall trimm some trees to provide better view toward he tsea. Palm tree you are mentioning is not half dead and it is protected by dubrovnik heritage. We cannot cut it.
Live music is finishing at midningt as per house rules and city regulations.
Victoria restaurant and Lounge Bar is one of the best places in Dubrovnik with best selection of wines, cocktails and drinks offering happy hour for our clients as well.
I will have to agree with you that Croatia is not a country for cheep holidays and that prices are sometimes high which can cause dissapoitment. I hope you will change your mind and decide to come back to Croatia to Dubrovnik, to Grand Villa Argentina, and if so, please do not hesitate to contact us. It would be our pleasure to host you again and to show you the hotel from different prespective knowing what you like.
With very best regards from sunny Dubrovnik

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

Far enough from Old town to not be affected by the noise, but close enough to walk over. Great views and amenities and wonderful service made for a great trip to beautiful Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jig2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The most amazing place i have been lucky enough to visit!!!!! you will never stay anywhere else once you have stayed at the grand Villa Argentina!!!! I have never been so pleased in my whole life!!!! you have a repeat customer my friends.you will not regret staying here there staff answered every question i had. What a amazing place!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shann7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review about Grand Villa Argentina. It is so nice to see that you have been satisfied and that we have fullfill your expectation. We are looking forward seeing you in hotel again.
With very best regards from sunny Dubrovnik,
Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Perfect location, 10 minute stroll downhill to old town. Beautiful terrace/ pool area right on the sea. The rest was disappointing, lumpy beds, we booked a double but got two singles pushed together, the duvet was too small and the pillows were the worst ever. Small room for 5 star. No atmosphere here, the restaurants and bars are always empty, staff not very welcoming. Not great value for money, you have to pay tons more if you want a balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Byrne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We "treated" ourselves to a 5 star hotel for the last 2 nights of our holiday. The rooms were clean, but v old-fashioned. No balcony. The breakfast was actually cold and not nice at all.
However, the sun terrace was amazing. The pool area and the sunbeds on the cliffs were stunning. Only this was 5 star quality. If you don't plan on spending any time at all in the hotel and looking for a lovely suntrap, then book this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albi264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stunning setting overlooking the old city of Dubrovnik (around a 5-10 minute walk); on the less touristy side of town so more relaxed. Beautiful swimming area, fantastic service at the reception and an excellent breafast buffet- an ideal place to stay in Dubrovnik. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, only complaint.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finn1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Breakfast was very good as was the service. 2 things bothered me. The wifi was very slow and all I heard was excuses why it was so slow. Never got any better. There for 4 days. If you are expecting a king sized bed, you will get 2 twins put together with the crease in the middle and no king sheet.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £100 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing