We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel Argentina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel Argentina”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My apologies to the manager and his wonderful staff I promised to write a review when we returned from our week's stay in May 2011(!!) but have only just realised I never posted.

This hotel is wonderful. Beautiful location above a bay where you wake up to see a different cruise liner almost every morning. Fabulous views and wonderful rooms - we were upgraded to a superb room left end (as you look at the sea) of the original old building and it could only be described as sumptuous.

Be careful on room location though if facing the road down to town it is quite busy.

The food here is superb sadly the Victoria restaurant was still being refurbished when we were there, which surprised me as that project started the previous winter. Would have liked to have dined there for the experience and view but another time.

15 minutes at most down into town and a 20 minute stroll back up. Dubrovnik we waited a long time to visit and were not disappointed it is simply enchanting and at night in the town it is quite magical - especially when all the tourists have gleft to go back to their cruise ships.

So many wonderful restaurants. We don't eat Indian and were luckty not to be pout off the Taj Mahal which is one of the best meat restaurants we have ever eaten in. And next door, name escapes but may be Lanterna(?) is an outstanding fish restaurant. Surf and turf right next door to each other.

Hotel Argentina absolutely superb. But not for kids if you have them

Room Tip: As above specify sea view. This is like Bay of Naples though, or Funchal - you must have a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Edwards1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Argentina is lovely hotel with unique location and amazing view. It was a bit cold to enjoy the beach bit the inside pool way nice alternative. The staff is friendly and they all speak good english. During our two weeks stay we made few good friends.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie_med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Definitely one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in! I have had the opportunity to visit other five star hotels in Dubrovnik and elsewhere, and this hotel is without a doubt my favorite one so far. It does not merely meet one's expectations, it exceeds them greatly. Even the most demanding customer will be thrilled. The employees of the hotel are beyond helpful, nice and friendly, and are at any time more than prepared to attend to your every need. As gorgeous as this hotel is, I would say its greatest value are its employees - they give you a feeling of home away from home at all times.The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable to stay in and the hotel as a whole is really something to see. The location of the hotel is also excellent, a walking distance from the Old town. It was a perfect vacation which I intend on repeating - the best hotel in one of the most beautiful towns in the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I would ike to thank you for writting this nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were happy.
We are looking forward seeing you in future.

With best regards from Sunny Dubrovnik

Mario Matkovic and rest of the GVA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

If I could recommend one hotel in one unique, stunning location, it would most certainly be Grand Villa Argentina in Dubrovnik.


What a great location overlooking walls of this breathtaking medieval city, calm turquoise waters of Adriatic Sea, friendly service and top quality food influenced by French cuisine ... this is simply a treat you would like to indulge in.


Loved it and comming back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I would ike to thank you for writting this nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were happy. It gives us a pleasure to read coments like yours where we see we have managed to fullfill your expectations.
We are looking forward seeing you in future.

With best regards from Sunny Dubrovnik

Mario Matkovic and rest of the GVA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Villa Argentina.
It was absolutely amazing. If you’re interested in great service and great people, then this spot is definitely for you. I look forward to a return visit for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I would ike to thank you for writting this nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were happy.
We are looking forward seeing you in future.

With best regards from Sunny Dubrovnik

Mario Matkovic and rest of the GVA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Since I had an opportunity to stay in other 5 stars hotels in Dubrovnik, I consider this one my favorite since it justifies every star it possesses. I really had a pleasant stay in this beautifully decorated hotel. Room quality is immeasurable with other 5 stars hotels in Dubrovnik; it is extremely clean and there is no shortage on whatever you need. Service is amazing; staff is always available and has lot o patience in dealing with most demanding customers. This hotel really is without an exception and provides great experiences no matter you are traveling with family or you are on a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miglich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I would ike to thank you for writting this nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were happy.
We are looking forward seeing you in future.

With best regards from Sunny Dubrovnik

Mario Matkovic and rest of the GVA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The location is just 5 min from the Old town yet the price ot the hotel is a lot cheaper then hotels nearby. Very friendly staff, magnificent view, clean and quiet

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Dea30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing