We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Villa Argentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is a wonderful hotel, set in a beautiful location with amazing views over the sea and the old town.
We were upgraded on arrival to a sea-view room, free of charge and without asking as the hotel was not busy. The view was amazing and great to wake up to. There were 5 of us and we were put in 3 rooms all together which is always good when you are in a group.
We ate our breakfast on the terrace each morning as the view is stunning. Great choice of food for breakfast, including champagne!
The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating.
The receptionist was extremely helpful in organising an excursion to 3 of the islands for us.
Hope to return one day.

  • Liked — The location/facilities
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    384
    127
    34
    20
See reviews for
157
690
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We went in October half term which was a great time to go as there were fewer tourists and the weather was still good. The Grand Villa Argentina is a really good hotel. We were upgraded to a seaview as the hotel was not so busy and this really made the break for us. The hotel is very attractive within and outside. The views of old Dubrovnik are second to none. The staff were excellent, really helpful and genuinely attentive without being over the top. The one meal we ate in the hotel restaurant was the best meal we had in croatia, simply delicious. The breakfasts were outstanding. The indoor pool and jacuzzi good. The outdoor pool looked good, but was closed for the winter although we did have access to the area for the stunning views.
We visited the nearby islands with adriatic explorer and had a fabulous day. All in all an excellent visit to Croatia and I recommend the hotel unreservedly.

Room Tip: Sea Views excellent. Terrace has stunning views of old Dubrovnik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvBCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

A beautiful hotel overlooking the Adriatic with wonderful views of Dubrovnik Old Town. A stunning location and so near to the cable car, harbour and the old walls. The sea view from the bedroom was lovely to wake up to. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant at all times. A great choice for a short break in the last week of October, still very warm and blue skies.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and to look out towards the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmtrees476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel, albeit with a few niggles. We booked through laterooms.com and were given two lovely rooms, each with a balcony, and adjoining each other as requested. The views from our balconies were super -but I hope the management get rid of the big tree which partially obscures the view of the Old City! This is a pity, as I suspect it's the view which rpompts most people to book a seaview room.
The rooms themselves were an adequate size for us - not the biggest we've had but perfectly acceptable. The beds and towels were changed daily and we found the beds more than comfortable. However, the whole hotel was far too hot- I only thought to ask if the heating could be turned down on departure...! We had the bedroom windows open the entire time we were there, and even then the room was really too hot (conversely, the indoor pool was freezing!!!). The bathrooms were lovely, and supplied with L'Occitane toiletries, which I really enjoyed using (normally I don't bother with hotel toiletries and prefer to use my own, but this wa L'Occitane!).
Service was a little hit and miss - some staff were a bit surly. I appreciate it is the end of the summer seaon, but it did colour our view of the hotel a bit.
The indoor pool area was very nice and we used this almost every day. The pool was freezing most days, but the jacuzzi made up for this. The outdoor pool was still open, but not very clean so we didn't use it, despite the lovely weather.
We only ate breakfast which was very nice. We had a bar meal a couple of nights, which was OK, but I was a bit disapointed that the Victoria was closed - especially as everyone seems to love it! I suspect this is because it was end of season.
Dubrovnik itself is only a 10 minute downhill walk, away, and an easy walk back - you don't needn't bother with a taxi or bus back. We loved the Old City, and thoroughly enjoyed eating out at night - our favourite was the Lanterna, with an ice cream after at Pokliser. We bought the 7 day Dubrovnik card and found this very good value, especially if you plan to visit the various museums and walk the City Walls (a wonderful experience). I'd also recommend the cable car and Homeland War museum in Fort Imperial.
We took a coupleof tours with Amico Tours -highly commended (see my other reviews)
I'd go back to Dubrovnik in a heartbeat, adn woudl defintely condider the GVA again - but not so late in the season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor or above with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffinette1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

My husband and I had three days at this hotel at the end of September 2011. It is certainly situated in a wonderful location and only a short walk down to the gate of the old town. Our room was at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the roof of the guests' terraces.(not particularly private as other guests were sitting on sofas just below)
Unfortunately the staff seemed tired and not so responsive as others have mentioned -perhaps exhausted after a long hot season!
However, the Victoria Restaurant was the saving grace! What a wonderful, redeeeming experience. Here, the attentive staff, ambiance, excellent food and wine made up for the inadequacies in the main hotel.
We used the hotel car and driver for our transfer to the airport. This was also excellent and provided a safe, comfortable and informative trip.

Room Tip: A front room in the middle of the building would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel has an excellent view of the old walls and the old town so just about perfect location. On the doorstep of the beach but was too cold to go in sadly... Rooms themselves are spacious, very clean and have everything you need. But I must point out the staff - they are really friendly, speak excellent english (which helps since my Croatian is non-existent...) and will go out of their way to help you.

Would certainly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

My apologies to the manager and his wonderful staff I promised to write a review when we returned from our week's stay in May 2011(!!) but have only just realised I never posted.

This hotel is wonderful. Beautiful location above a bay where you wake up to see a different cruise liner almost every morning. Fabulous views and wonderful rooms - we were upgraded to a superb room left end (as you look at the sea) of the original old building and it could only be described as sumptuous.

Be careful on room location though if facing the road down to town it is quite busy.

The food here is superb sadly the Victoria restaurant was still being refurbished when we were there, which surprised me as that project started the previous winter. Would have liked to have dined there for the experience and view but another time.

15 minutes at most down into town and a 20 minute stroll back up. Dubrovnik we waited a long time to visit and were not disappointed it is simply enchanting and at night in the town it is quite magical - especially when all the tourists have gleft to go back to their cruise ships.

So many wonderful restaurants. We don't eat Indian and were luckty not to be pout off the Taj Mahal which is one of the best meat restaurants we have ever eaten in. And next door, name escapes but may be Lanterna(?) is an outstanding fish restaurant. Surf and turf right next door to each other.

Hotel Argentina absolutely superb. But not for kids if you have them

Room Tip: As above specify sea view. This is like Bay of Naples though, or Funchal - you must have a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Edwards1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing