We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed here in May of 2011. The tourist season hadn't officially started but we enjoyed the hotel. It was a 5 minute walk to old town and it had it's own private beach. The water was still cold but refreshing. Great breakfast buffet but to dine in the restaurant at night was pricey and the food was okay; however, I didn't like the food I ordered (personal taste) and they very gladly offered to take it off of the bill without my even asking. Great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goddesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest,


thank you for staying at Grand Villa Argentina and for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Fantastic Hotel, I had a dinner at Restaurant La Caravelle in October. The view and food is breathtaking and the overall atmosphere in the hotel is just amazing. Staff is very professional and corteous. Definitely the best Hotel in Dubrovnik. I absolutely recommend everybody to visit Grand Vila Argentina

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dino N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your dinner in La Caravelle restarant. Chef Thierry and his team were very happy to see that you liked his food.
We hope you will visit us again.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director
Grand Villa Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Villa Argentina in November.
It was superb experience. If you’re interested in great service and great comfort this is the place to stay at. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing this nice review about Grand Villa Argentina. We are happy to see that stay with us was a pleasant one. We hope to see you again in Grand Villa Argentina in near future.

With very best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We booked the start of our honeymoon at this hotel through Travel Action. It was very reasonably priced so we weren't expecting the level of luxury we received. The location is perfect as it is just a short walk into the centre of Dubrovnik, but far enough out that you can relax in peace on a sun lounger. The best bit by far for us was the pool area right on the edge of the sea - it had a great view and really friendly staff there and up at the restaurant and bar areas. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The hotel is split with a road between the main part of hotel and another large building of rooms. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmatkov, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time and writing review about Grand Villa Argentina. It is always nice to see stay with us was a pleasant one. We always try to work hard to meet our guests expectations.
We hope to see you in Grand Villa Argentina in future.

Sincerely,

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Director
Grand Villa Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had delivered Aid during the war and wanted to return to Croatia to see it in peacetime . The hotel appeared to suit our style being well positioned and with good facilities . It is perfectley sited , only a short walk to the Old Town and with stunning views from the public areas and pleasant gardens . An oddity is that it is built upside down as it is on a cliff . For example , we were on the 6th. floor which is at ground level with the rest of the hotel below . The views from the terrace and restaurant are perfect, overlooking the sea, Dubrovnik , the island opposite and the cruise ships which come and go .
Our room was well appointed in classic style but being on a corner had only a part side sea view and was very gloomy . Being close to the road the traffic noise kept us awake late and woke us up early ! Also , when the weather cooled there was no heating which made it uncomfortable at times .
The indoor pool is quite small and was cold . So much so that we only were able to use it twice .
The breakfast served in the Terrace restaurant which opens on to the terrace was extensive but some of the hot food was not . The restaurants were pricey but there are so many good places to eat elsewhere we ate out .
The location is very convenient for the Old Town and the setting perfect . The staff were very courteous and helpful with excellent English which was a great advantage .
Overall this is a good hotel in a beautiful location although it does not match other 5* hotels in which we have stayed . It probably rates a high 4* but I woud recommend it for a stay in Dubrovnik .

Room Tip: Avoid the side facing the road !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ART300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We chose this hotel because we were only visiting for a weekend & wanted somewhere within walking distance to the centre of Dubrovnik.
We also wanted somewhere with spa facilities and nice surroundings to relax

The Grand Villa Argentina ticked every box for us, we were able to walk into town on the Saturday morning, tour the town & the walls, have some lunch in town then come back to the hotel for a massage & relaxation....and then return into town again in the evening....perfect!

Every member of staff we met were lovely & friendly. Breakfast was efficient & good, offering a wide variety of choice. We only ate one other meal at the hotel, in the bar on the evening we arrived. The 'de-luxe burger' is highly recommended!

Thank you Grand Villa Argentina!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We spent a week at the Grand Villa Argentina this month and were blessed with truly beautiful weather in a stunning location. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the town and I have to say Dubrovnik Old Town is one of the most stunning places I have ever visited. Beautiful old buildings, a maze of cobbled streets with bars/shops/restaurants and a quaint harbour that is so picturesque. You can eat very reasonably as some of the back-street restaurants, especially the pizza places.

The hotel itself is lovely with friendly staff and a good choice at breakfast - chef cooked me a vegetable omelette on request and it was delicious. We had a sea-view room with balcony and my only disappointment was that on booking.com which is where we made the reservation they showed the balcony to be private with palm trees but in actual fact it looks down over the terrace so is not as private as I had hoped. I asked about this and the photo shown on booking.com is actually the balcony of one of the "Deluxe" rooms so I felt that was misleading and should be altered. My other concern was the lack of air conditioning even though it clearly states this on the hotel's website. In actual fact, they turn it off by the beginning of October and it isn't individual climate control. I was so hot that I didn't sleep well as I need a cool room. I asked for an electric fan but there weren't any so I suggest the hotel get a supply in. On the fifth night a kindly porter actually got his brother to bring a fan over for me and I slept well for the last 2 nights. Thank you to that guy!!

The internet and wifi is free which is impressive!

Do take one of the many boat trips from the harbour! There are several trips on offer and it was breathtaking seeing the coast line from the Adriatic Sea and eating freshly prepared fish on the boat - just pop down to the harbour to ask for details and the price was very reasonable (they even let my 11 year old son go free!)

I will definitely visit Dubrovnik again and I would stay at the Grand Villa Argentina but only if my room was cooler. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was clean but there were crayon marks all over the walls and it looked like the room could do with a lick of paint. More of a 4 star than a 5 star but we did have a very relaxing break.

Oh and just to add - three times I tried to address my concerns with the manager but he was not available. I noticed he always replies to reviews on trip advisor which shows how he cares about people's needs and I would like to say thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MazBowie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing