We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent the Whitsun Bank Holiday at the GVA for 3 nights and were most impressed with the service. The hotel staff were all very attentive and spoke amazingly good English. The check-in/out was efficient and the room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel has a fantastic location within easy strolling distance of the old town and fabulous views from the pool area. We were very pleased with the hotel overall and the standard of service and would not hesitate to go again. Also, we arranged the hotel car to take us to the airport .... Very classy!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LawyerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you were satisfied with provided service in our hotel.
Our employees are trained to give special attention to our guests and I am glad that you recognized it.

We hope that you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Spent three nights here for my husband's 50th birthday. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The chauffeur who collected us from the airport was polite, professional and very knowledgeable about the local area. Most of the staff spoke excellent English, some speaking 2 or three different languages, which was great as our Croatian was non existent!!

The waiters were attentive and friendly, and the spa staff helpful and accommodating.

The food was lovely, if a touch pricey, and the breakfast was superb. So much choice!

The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, with glorious views. We only had one day of sunshine, but the changing weather and stormy seas were fantastic to listen to as we lay in bed at night.

Unfortunately, due to the weather, we couldn't use the pool area or sun decks, but I can imagine it is a stunning place to relax while catching a few "rays". Having said that, with the sea being quite stormy, we saw the pool regularly being refilled with sea water due to the giant waves, which was quite spectacular!! The gardens were well kept and colourful.

The city of Dubrovnik, is only a short walk away (5-10min), beautiful in the sunshine!

Dubrovnik is a beautiful old town, with so much character! We walked the walls (do it early to avoid the heat and the crowds), relaxed by the little harbour, whilst eating a huge plate of prawns! Took a trip up in the cable car, giving us amazing panoramic views and a boat trip to Cavtat (a little wet and stormy) to an amazing fish restaurant.

A lovely, friendly hotel, in a beautiful setting with an amazing city just down the road!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing a comment about our hotel.
Your comments really make us proud and we constantly try to give excellent service to our guests and we try to make them feel like they are at home in warm and friendly atmosphere.
We hope that you will stay with us again and that next time the weather would be better so you can use outside swimming pool area.

Kind regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

stunning pool area, can dive into the Adriatic with a breath taking view of the old city. Food and service were great. Walking distance to the old city, Dubrovnik was outstanding

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in Grand Villa Argentina hotel and writing your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come in our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I think that the Grand Villa Argentina's outdoor spaces--the pool deck, bar areas, and restaurant--are the most gorgeous I've seen. An unparalleled view of the Adriatic. check. The limestone fortifications of the UNESCO World Heritage Site walled city of Dubrovnik, check. Lovely terraced gardens flowing down to the sea, check. This was a short, but heavenly, break.

Our room was well appointed, but perhaps a shade less than five-star quality. I'm very glad that we invested in a sea view. While we had high speed DSL, the lack of wireless internet in the rooms was a little surprising considering the hotel's use as a conference venue.

Both my husband and I got spa treatments, and I received one of the best mani-pedis ever. Prices were quite low but potential clients should be aware that a 25% tax is tacked onto the overall price. However, even with the tax added, rates are still very reasonable. And the spa personnel were delightful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return!

Room Tip: You must, must, must, invest in a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary1744360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and spa treatments.
When you come again next time there will be also wireless internet in all rooms, because that is actually a project that we are just finishing.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again!

Kind regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Booked room after seeing it on Gilt's Jetsetter group. Beautiful surroundings, awesome perch on the Adriatic, but somewhat lacking in service. Getting a spa reservation was a nightmare and the spa is not what you would expect. It was like an afterthought and they put their two treatments rooms in old storage closets. I had to walk through someones tiny pedicure room to get to the massage room. I had a huge issue with the spa which they compensated me for, otherwise I would have really given a poor review to the hotel. The breakfast was great with a view of the sea. The location to Old Town is worth it, walking is a pleasant stroll into town.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room on floors 3 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in Grand Villa Argentina and writing a review about our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast with sea view which is really extraordinary experience.
On the other hand I am sorry that you did not have a good experience in our spa and as you said colleagues really tried to compensate for that. We are aware that our spa needs changes and we are actually in proces of making new concept.
We hope that you will stay with us again and that you will enjoy our spa next time

Kind Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We first stayed at this hotel in 2007 on the recommendation of friends who told us that for folks who want a hotel with character and charm, there are only two places to stay in Dubrovnik--the Grand Villa Argentina and the Pucic Palace in old town. However, as between the two, our friends said, we should definitely pick the Villa Argentina since it has marvelous views of both the Adriatic and old town Dubrovnik. By contrast, they said, if you stayed at the Pucic Palace you not only had no view, you would have to keep your windows tightly shuttered and curtained both for privacy and against the noise of the busy old town streets AND you would have to schlep your luggage several blocks since the old town is closed to cars.

We took their recommendation and enjoyed our stay at the Villa Argentina so much we did not even consider another hotel when we returned to Croatia (this time with our adult children) in April 2012. And this time we enjoyed it even more. Here's what makes this hotel grand:

--Character and charm. The other five-star hotels in Dubrovnik are new, modern impersonal structures. The Grand Villa Argentina consists of two old, stone sea-side villas (the Villa Argentina and the Villa Orsula), fully renovated with marble bathrooms and modern conveniences, but maintaining their old charm. Granted the two old villas are separated by a much more modern structure which houses the lobby, bar and one of the hotel's restaurants, not to mention quite a few additional rooms, but somehow, through decor and old-style service, the place still has the feel of a grand old resort on the order of the Greenbrier or the Homestead.

---Location. The hotel is only a five-minute walk from old town Dubrovnik--but is situated up a small hill so that it has spectacular views of the old town (probably one of the prettiest cities on the planet) not only from its lobby, its lovely terrace (where you can breakfast on warm days), and its Victoria restaurant, but also from quite a few of its sea-side rooms. Even those rooms that do not overlook Dubrovnik itself have spectacular views of the Adriatic and some of its lovely islands.

--Service. The hotel's manager, a handsome white-haired gentleman straight out of central casting, prides himself on providing the best service in Dubrovnik--and he delivers. On our most recent trip, our kids (who had been traveling in Greece and planned to meet us in Dubrovnik) got stranded in Albania (too long a story for this review). Not only did he graciously accept our late cancellation of the first night of their room, he made numerous phone calls for us (on his own motion), ultimately helping us arrange to pick them up at the Budva, Montenegro bus station. He plotted the most efficient route to Budva for us, gave us perfect directions to the Budva bus station (even writing down the words "main bus station" in the local language just in case we had to ask), and then gave us marvelous recommendations for siteseeing in Montenegro on the return trip so our day would not be lost. And the other staff is cut from this lovely gentleman's mold. On our first night, dead tired from a 23-hour trip, we had a surprisingly good dinner at the hotel's more casual restaurant, and my husband left what he thought were several additional twenty-kuna notes for our superb waiter. The next morning the same waiter appeared at our table and tucked the tip--as it turns out, several two-hundred-kuna notes--under my husband's coffee cup. He said, "I know you said you were pleased with the service, but I don't think you meant to do this, and I really can't accept it." How often do you get service like that?!

All in, we would give the Villa Argentina ten stars if we could.

One footnote on another reviewer's gripe about the hotel's "beach": This is Croatia, where the entire coast is rock. There is only one white sand beach in the entire country and it is not in Dubrovnik. Given that, the Villa Argentina's water-level terrace is actually quite nice, and there are lovely gardens on the walk down.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea-view room, and consider getting one with a balcony. The junior suites in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SteelMagnolia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The location is the main attraction of this hotel. The short walk to the old town is a definite major plus. As is the spectacular views from the rooms with a sea view.

The room I had was perfectly comfortable with all facilities you would expect. I found the decor and overall feel of the hotel a little old fashioned and perhaps in need of some updating. Television reception in my room was rather poor. I would definitely stay again though as it's a great location for exploring Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £102 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing