We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
254 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good service.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This hotel is not cheap, but it's food is. We were disgusted at the low quality of food in this hotel. Frozen seafood was being used in the restaurant, the so-called French chef changed out the menu at his pleasure, without informing the guests. So, a selection of Croatian Cheeses arrived as a mediocre choice of typical French tourist cheeses! The menu didn't have wines to match our food (I know this is personal, but port wine etc for some cheeses is expected), Although they had the wines in their other bars in the hotel! Beautiful views from most of the hotel rooms, bars and restaurants. Good service from the staff, I just feel the management lets this hotel down badly by not attending to all the details that make a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaezoR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing with us your experiences about our hotel.
I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with food in one of our restaurants, but certainly we will take your comments into consideration.

If you decide to come in Dubrovnik again please contact us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife and I just spent three nights here and we loved every minute of it. After spending 2 nights in a Sobe inside the city we were looking forward to having some relaxation time. The Grand Villa did not disappoint. It was a quick 10 minute walk from the walls to the Grand Villa which wasn't bad at all. Along the way we passed a small bakery where we got sandwiches and a small grocery which provided beer water and snacks. Our room was not yet ready but we were told that our luggage would be kept at the front and we were free to relax by the pool. The pool area is great! The pool is filled with sea water so it can be a bit cool at times. We used both the pool or simply dove right into the Adriatic. The only problem with the pool area is the wait staff does not come around often enough to take orders and much of the time you need to chase them down.

We lucked out and ended up getting a room in the villa section overlooking the water and old city. It was great at night sitting on our balcony listening to the band play right below us while we enjoyed a bottle of wine and admired the view. It couldn't be beat!

This hotel was great and it was a great way to end our 2 week European vacation. If my travels find me in Dubrovnik again I know where I will be staying.

Room Tip: You definately want an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpfitzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
I am glad that you liked your stay and that you would like to come again if you travel to Dubrovnik.
Thank you for giving all comments and also about beach so we can improve our service there.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed entertainment that we prepare every evening in order to amuse our guest.

We sincerely hope that you will be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just returned from staying at the Grand Villa Argentina - stunning location and views; can walk into the Old Town easily. Had a great meal at the Victoria restaurant and the breakfasts had a good selection. Would recommend without hesitation. Just a couple of things to note - the Beach cafe is not to the same standard for whatever reasons and quite expensive; and the most surprising and disappointing thing was the towel reservations!!! Thought this type of thing did not go on anymore especially in such a lovely hotel! It was a very small minority but they were paying the pool boys to put towels out for them in the prime places. They turned up half way through the morning, disappeared for a long long lunch and then returned late afternoon. This should not happen or should be made aware to all. There are plenty of sunbeds but only a few in manoverable, more private positions and most people do not get the opportunity to try these. I would be interested in what the manager has to say about this 'policy!'

Room Tip: Higher the better to have a seaview due to the tall trees outside the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1mccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
Moreover I would like to thank you for writing your comment regarding the "policy" in beach area and pointing us this issue for which we have already taken the action and would not happen again.

Sincerely I hope that you will stay with us again and if you do please contact me.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is the second nearest to the old town gates up hill from the town, but a very pleasant walk with sea views all the way. Ten minutes downhill and 15 uphill.

We had room 617 in the old house to the left of the entrance, a few steps up from the entrance reception level. It faced the road, although separated from it by the service drive to the adjacent villa, a tall hedge and the perimeter fence. - we couldn't face paying the extra for a sea view - but we could see the sea from the room window on the end of the building. I understand some of the balcony views are obscured by the very tall trees. The room was very good with a king size bed which was really comfortable. Air con worked all the time and didn't go off when you take your key card out of the 'slot' at the door to isolate the lights. That was good.

Cleanliness was excellent throughout and food / drinks service was polite, swift yet unobtrusive at breakfast and in the evening. Very professional.

The view from the reception area (level 6), the eating terrace (level 4 for breakfast and evening meals etc) and from the pool down at level 0 / sea level was very special. At pool level there were always sunbeds available. I would definitely stay there again.

Minor points:-
Our bathroom faced the road but only the lower windows were obscured and there was clear glass in the top / arched window. Standing at the toilet and in the bath / shower I could see the windows of the upper floors of the buildings over the road - presumably they could see me too (yuk, poor souls).

It took us a while to find that you need the larger of the 2 lifts to take you down to level 0 to access the pool by the sea - via a 'cave'. There is a button actually on that lift door frame to call only that lift, rather than the general buttons between the lifts which can call either,

We once wondered about having a light evening meal in the hotel (being about to face a giant breakfast in the morning) but we didn't find a menu or price list for the evening dining. Plenty of places in the old town though. We sometimes had an evening picnic / bottle of wine in the grounds by the sea and watched the sunset.
--------------------------
Dubrovnik is a great place, the old walled town and its harbour, the large port and the newer areas. It was very pleasant to walk about, clean and beautiful. Ice creams, wine, meals and beer - all good and not extravagant prices.

You can get a list of cruise ships and passenger numbers off the 'net. This warns you when there will be lots of added tourists in the town.

Go round the walls (£7) but avoid the mid day sun. There are a few toilets and places to get a drink on the walls, but there are lots of steps, so don't carry any shopping etc with you to load you down.

Take a trip to Lokrum, the island just outside the old town and opposite the Argentina, Walk past the ticket touts on the pier in the old harbour (glass bottom boats etc) and you get the tickets for the island from a bloke sat at a table under an umbrella half way down the pier. £5 for the return trip and access to the island (a sort of National Trust set up). Find the 'dead sea' on the island - a sea water pool with a small stony beach. Fabulous. We spent about 3 hours laid on the beach with feet in the water (no swimming gear with us) listening to the peacocks in the trees and watching folk play in the water.

The cable car is new - original damaged in the 90's war and the view from the top is fabulous. At the top there is also a museum in the old fort (Imperial Fort) behind the cable car station which gives a good description of the 90's war - photos and film. Very moving.

The tour rep we met, Ivana, was very efficient and coped well with our last minute decisions.

We had perfect weather - 12th to 20th June. 30' in the day and a bit humid for long walks. But, apparently they had had blustery / cloudy weather just the week before. Be lucky.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing so detailed review about our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you would like to come back.
If you do I hope you will have dinner in one of our restaurants La Caravelle or Victoria, please contact me so we can reserve nice table for you.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I had the great pleasure to spend four nights at the hotel as part of a company conference. The particular location of this hotel with its stunning views of the old walled town and many beautiful gardens and terraces down to the pool and sea, make it something very special. I was fortunate to have a room in the recently and beautifully refurbished villa section of the hotel which had the great views from a balcony off a well sized room and large modern bathroom. Food and service excellent. Truly five star all round.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
I am glad that you were safisfied with our hotel and service during your stay.
We hope that you will come back in our hotel for vacation.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linithgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed here with my wife from June 6th to 13th for our 40th wedding anniversary. Could not fault the hotel in any way. Probably the best hotel staff I have encountered anywhere. Nothing was to much trouble. The day before our anniversary I had a sudden attack of toothache. I told the front desk about this at 4.00pm. At 6.30pm I was in the sugery of a private dentist having treatment. And this was on a Friday afternoon ! On the day of our anniversary there was wine and flowers in our room with the compliments of the management. As a luxury hotel for adults I cannot reccomend it highly enough. Faultless !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant of Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel!
I have to say that I am sorry to hear that you had toothache, but I hope you felt better after the surgery.
Thank you wor giving recognition to our emlpoyees they are really doing their best to satisfy our guests' needs.

I hope that you will come back in our hotel in future.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in June 2012 following a recommendation. This hotel is ideally situated - just a short (10 min max) walk to the gates of the old town and away from the hustle and bustle of the old town (which can get really busy with cruise ships visiting daily - sometimes there are 4 cruise ships docking per day), but close enough to get in and out of it every day. The hotel itself (5 star, and a Luxury Adriatic Hotel) doesn't have a grand entrance as one would expect, and isn't overly staffed, but the staff are pleasant and happy to help. We arrived early and our room was available immediately (11.30 a.m.). I had booked a deluxe room in the old part of the hotel with a sea view. The room was spacious and pleasantly decorated. The balcony was huge and did over look the sea, although you could only see the sea in very tiny parts as the trees are so tall they hid the view, so you could in reality only see trees with a tiny glimpse every now and then of blue water beyond that. So if you are going for a room with a view, you will be disappointed. The bathroom was small but functional. There are no irons/ironing boards provided in the rooms and you cannot have one due to the potential hire hazard, so you have to have the hotel cater for your laundry and/or ironing (just a small point for the ladies to note!). The Victoria restaurant is fantastic. Chef Thierry is a magician with food - you will not be disappointed dining here. The manager and waiting staff are all very attentive and the views are stunning. A buffet breakfast was included in the price - it was average (nobody can cook a good old English breakfast like the English!) and had all of the ususal suspects (i.e. cereal, fruit, breads/croissants, pancakes, bacon, egg, sausage, cold meats etc etc), but nothing overly special. The downside, if you want relaxing pool time, is that the pool area is small and looks quite dirty and unappealing. There is no beach, just a few steps down the side of the pool area into the sea, so if you intend to sunbathe and relax around the pool, don't have high expectations. The hotel could do with a complete revamp in the pool area - it really is unappealing in its current state, for a 5 star hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short city break vs a long holiday, and a definite visit to the Victoria Restaurant - it's a must!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms don't really get a sea view due to the trees being so tall blocking the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOD1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such in depth review about our hotel!
It is very important for us to hear good comments and also those which can help us to improve our service and facilities.
Truly we hope that you will decide to stay in our hotel again even though it would be shorter stay.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing