We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the Boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ticks all the Boxes”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a fantastic hotel and place to stay. The ambience is excellent and the ability to swim in the choice of pools or in the sea itself. Breakfast is excellent sat on the terrace and the choice is first class.The old city is just a short walk away.Parking is easy also. The Victoria Restaurant serves excellent food and wine and perfect for that special evening with a stunning view of the old town.

Room Tip: If possible pay for a seaview room in the hotel itself rather than in Villa Glavic across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKingdom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you liked our ambience, swimming pools and especially dinner in Victoria Restaurant which really creates special atmosphee and experience.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    387
    127
    34
    20
See reviews for
159
703
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Grand Villa Argentina is an great hotel. The location and view are simply stunning, you just can't beat it in Dubrovnik.

It's about 10 minute down-hill walk to the old town. On a hot summer day the walk back can be exhausting, but it's easy to get a taxi if you don't want to walk.

The pool area is right down on the water with views of the old town and is one of the only hotels where you can swim in the ocean. The nearby beach club is nothing compared to Grand Villa Argentina.

The hotel needs some updating but the outside areas more than make-up for what the interior is lacking.

The hotel is divided by a road. We stayed on the other side of the road and the rooms are not great and pretty dark, but you don't spend much time there anyway so it wasn't a big issue. The bathroom had been renovated.

The service is extremely poor which is a shame for such a beautiful hotel. Staff don't say anything to you and they aren't terribly helpful but if you can get by that then this is a fantastic hotel.

Even with the poor service, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service. As all our guests' comments are more than welcome we would be very glad if you would write us what particulary dissapointed you, my e-mail address is sanela@gva.hr.
In the end I am glad that you would like to stay in our hotel again and I hope that we will offer service that you expect.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at GVA at the beginning of July to attend a family wedding. All I can say is that the staff were fantastic and polite as all the Crotians I came across. The hotel was great, full of character and some lovely panormic views.

If there was a fault and its just a very little one, the outdoor pool was freezing! lol

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsassock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
I hope that wedding reception was nice and that you had good time.
Thank you for recognizing our staff and service.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao apulo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

There are lots of excellent reviews for Grand Villa Argentina.
I endorse all the good things that have been said: tthe friendly, helpful, highly professional staff
always getting out of their way to make you feel happy, excellent location, beautiful decoration...
i´d like to add that I came back to the Grand Villa for the second time last May to enjoy all the privilege they offer, and for me, nothing compares to having a sunset drink ( preferably Croatian wine) at one of the Grand Villa´s terraces overlooking the unique Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant of Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
It is very nice to hear that you are so satisfied with our hotel, staff and service we provide.
Please let us know when you come in our hotel again I would like personally to meet you and thank you for being coming again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is quite simply stunning - the staff are so friendly, the food fantastic, the Spa amazing, the location perfect. I can honestly say this hotel has got it completely right in terms of service, standards and the customer and I wouldnt hesitate in returning there..
Thank you Grand Villa Argentina for helping us to have one of our best ever holidays..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that you were satisfied with staff, food and service.
It makes us really proud that we offered you unforgettable holiday.

Please contact us if you decide to visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great location, great pool and views of Old Town and Lokrum island across. Breakfast is nice and especially having it with gorgeous view of the Old Town walls. Just breathtaking!
One thing to recommend to the management: DON'T TURN AC OFF when guests leave, because it takes days to cool the room down for new guests when they arrive!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for pointing for air conditioning, actually it should not be turned off, but we will take more attention to that.

We hope that you will stay in our hotel again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Grand Villa Argentina in Dubrovnik was our first stop in Croatia. After a long flight, it was a most welcome sight. There were 4 of us and one of the rooms to be shared had only one bed. We were quickly given a 2-room, 2-bathroom suite with a balcony on the same floor. Both rooms had a balcony and view of the Adriatic, were roomy and extremely clean. The hotel is located close to the Ploce gate of Old Town and is a quick downhill walk. Walking back was a bit more challenging, but my 72-year-old mother-in-law did it many times - in flip-flops!

The pool area is spectacular. The pool is refreshing in temperature and is right on the ocean. You can sit in the pool area and you are at the sea shore. We immediately jumped into the Adriatic from the pool deck, the temperature being even warmer than the pool. The pool area can get quite crowded so we would do our sightseeeing and shopping earlier in the day and swim around 4 pm until time for dinner. There is also a public beach just down the hill on the way to old town.

Our first night we were exhausted and ate outside at the Terrace Restaurant. The view of Old Town and the sea was breathtaking. The food and wine were delicious and the staff was outstanding. The weather cooperated as well as there was no wind and the sky was crystal clear. Each morning, we had breakfast (included and served until 10:30 am) on the terrace and watch the sailboats and cruise ships pass. The hotel concierge was most helpful, arranging a rental car and a kayaking trip for us. Even the gift shop help was outstanding, with one woman explaining the intricate lace-work on display and a gentleman allowing my daughter to try on several t-shirts before purchase.

Dubrovnik is a fantastic city and the Grand Villa Argentina made our stay even more special.

Room Tip: Splurge for a sea view with a balcony. You are on the Adriatic - take advantage of that gorgeous tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing so detailed review about our hotel.
I am glad to see that our staff was helpful on your arrival and that they were able to meet your needs.
Our platform beach area indeed offers beautiful views and peace and we are glad that you enjoyed particulary there.
Thank you for giving recognition to our concierge and lady in souvenir shop.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
747 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing