We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel but not with kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've just returned from a week's holiday with our twin toddlers and spent the whole time wishing we'd come earlier during life before children as it would have been perfect. The setting is stunning. It's a grand, eclectic building, cascading down into the sea,

The rooms are nice enough. Not five star flash but definitely fine. There was a problem with the bathroom smelling of raw sewage though, which I think was due to the rain.


We ate at the Caravalle restaurant every night where the food was excellent. At the beach restaurant it's another story. We ordered the sea food pasta on the first day and it was basically sea food dumped in a load of cream. No herbs, no seasoning even. Just bland, lazy and amateur and definitely nothing to do with Thierry who oversees the cooking at the Caravelle and the Victoria restaurant which which was excellent.

Another good thing about this place is the staff. There are a reviews on here that suggest the staff are unfriendly. What I like about this hotel and in Croatia in general is that the service isn't false and overly gushing as you'd find in countries such as the US. I thought the staff were really kind and helpful without being obsequious.

This place is perfect for people travelling without kids. Which is just my kind of hotel except I'd brought my twin toddlers. Whilst the staff went out of their way to accommodate our toddlers it's not ideal for young kids. The pool area is too dangerous as the edge of the pool is a sheer drop into the sea. The terrace has gaps under the fencing with sheer drops underneath. The windows in the rooms start at floor level have railings wide enough for little people to slip through. This hotel was a bit of a death trap for toddlers which is may be a good thing as it's all the better for being peaceful and child free.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammi73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to hear that you liked the setting of the hotel!
Thank you for giving comments about the restaurants we will check together with Cheff the offer and quality in beach restaurant.
It is nice to hear that you commented and recognized our staff kindness.
I have to agree with you that it takes a lot of care for small children especially in the beach area as sea is immediately deep.
We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Nice hotel(s?), but a bit overpriced and overrated. It was very warm, and the air conditioning did not work as well as one would expect, which is inexcusable at those prices. Beautiful location, it's a couple of old villas joined by a modern addition. The modern part is extremely unattractive from the exterior but adds a lot to the package, particularly the large covered sea-view terrace where breakfast is served, which offers stunning views of Lokrum Island, the Adriatic and the old walled city. We spent some of our most relaxing moments in Dubrovnik on the breakfast terrace and at the hotel "beach" and pool area. The service was mixed. The waiters at breakfast were respectful but a bit overworked. The two women who sat at the concierge desk in the lobby were wonderful: extremely attentive, warm, friendly, down-to-earth and very helpful. We were traveling alone and needed help figuring out how we were going to get to Split and Zagreb after our week in Dubrovnik; they would research ferry and train schedules for us and send elaborate notes in perfect English. The men at the front desk (i.e. reception staff) were considerably less friendly and accommodating, and were frankly a bit the sales clerks one sometimes finds in highly exclusive shops who think it's their prerogative to assume a superior air. I would certainly recommend the hotel and return, but would advise the management to look into the air conditioning and the reception staff's attitude, and also try to cut down, if possible, on the large tour groups who left the lobby cluttered with their luggage for nearly an entire day on two occasions during our week there last month.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bin-Bin-Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with our your opinion about our hotel!
Regarding the air conditioning it would be helpful for us to know which parts were not conditioned well.
It is nice to hear that guestrelations girls were helpful. Regarding the reception staff thank you for giving us comment so we can take the action for improving.
For the luggage we do hope that we would find a better solution in the future so that all our guests are satisfied.
We are glad that you would reccomend us and truly we hope that you will visit us agian.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed in the actual main building of the Villa Argentina. I did study other reviews and believe that this is of importance in relation to the "comfort" factor. The Grand Villa Argentina is a 5 star rated establishment and is accordingly expensive, especially in high season. Is it worth it ?, solely based upon my short two night stay - my answer is yes, most definitely. Our main reason for choosing the G.V.A. was the proximity to the old town - perfect - a 10 minute walk.
Secondly, I had noted the "beach" & bathing facilities. A high score on this part, note that sandy beaches are not to be expected in this part of the Adriatic, they are relatively seldom.
We were met with a courteous correctness upon check - in. I believe that this "correctness" can be, mistakenly, experiencied as being aloof. I could not find any fault with the staff in reception, in fact their response to my asking to pay for an upgrade, was to grant one without charge, find a room which was instantly available (this was relatively early morning) and then send a staff member across to the car park, to carry my cases up to the room. Top score on all points. So lets be finicky in finding something to complain about - Breakfast - there is a too small selection of tea! Lunch at the beach restaurant - I do not agree with the current French Chef and his lacking use of herbs, the pasta was somewhat tasteless! note that we once ate lunch on the breakfast terrace and both the pasta and Ceasar salad was much better there - do they have different Chefs/kitchens ? The waiter-staff on the both lunches are very friendly - again high score. The room was, as expected, very clean and as befitting - nice touch with the evening chocolate/turn-down. If it is of any importance (for the ladies?) the supplied bathroom toiletries are from L`occitane. The beach staff were quick in rendering extra sun-shades, towels etc. The indoor pool, showers etc. were kept spotless. There is, in short, practically nothing to complain of. A small annoyance that some guests go to the pool in the early morning, before breakfast, solely in order to reserve sun beds by placing towels upon them, selfish ignorance, but this is not the fault of the hotel! My experience was that this establishment is perfect for couples, a nice and quiet atmosphere even when fully booked. To sum up - I can honestly recommend a stay at the Grand Villa Argentina.

Room Tip: Try for the main building, with sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank That-was-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing detailed review about our hotel!
I am glad that you recognized our front desk, restaurant and beach area employees.
Thank you for giving comments about food too, acually it would be good for us to know which pasta you had and to check it.
It is very nice to hear that you would reccomend us and we hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days. Food and drink very expensive for what you get. Rooms are nice and with good views but air conditioning leaves a lot to be desired.

Only problem was; in general staff were not very friendly and on a number of occasions just ignored us if we asked for a drink or a coffee at breakfast or lunch.

Was six of us staying here and there was some queries on check in and the reception staff could not have been less helpful if they tried.

Given this is supposed to be a 5* hotel, a few basic customer service lessons would go a long way. Only exception was a girl who served us cocktails in the Victoria bar who was very friendly and nice and was tipped accordingly. Her older colleagues could learn a thing or 2 from her and make more tips in the process!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
I have to say that I am sorry to hear that you perceived our staff as unfriendly. In the other hand I am glad that you were satisfied with our young employee in Lounge bar and that you recognized her smile and friendliness.

If you decide to visit us again please contact us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is actually a complex of several old very nicely refurbished mansions, interconnected by a modern structure and all sharing the public areas and services.
They segmented the market from Villa Glavic's low rate rooms to the upscale Villa Orsula's with rate differences of around 3 to 1. This unusual rate gap makes the selection of a room very important because its easy to get confused and disappointed from their rate segmentation : they market the different Villas as different hotels ( although they indivate that they all share the areas of the whole complex ). For reasons I cannot understand, along the road in the city of Dubrovnik you can find a sign signaling Hotel Villa Orsula and another signaling in the same direction as Villa Argentina, both beeing a different wing of a same hotel called Grand Villa Argentina.
Said this, the complex is beautiful. Its location is stunning. Cascading from lobby level 6 to the sea level 0 along several terraces of gardens, bars, restaurants and a fantastic sunbathing seashore area with pool.
The two restaurants plus the beach one, serve excellent fare, specially the gourmet Victoria restaurant with its vine pergola terrace overlooking Dubrovnik.
The breakfast buffet is OK and served in another outdoor modern terrace on level 4 with an unparaleled view of the sea, Lokrum island and the walled city.
WIFI is complimentary in the whole complex. Unreliable in the rooms with speeds under 0,7 mb/s but replaceble with a cable connection that works very well. WIFI in public areas is OK.
The Spa and indoor pool are nice but the gym is a little small in space considering the size of the complex.
We had a good sized room in Villa Orsula, with modern tasteful furnishings, with an oversized bathroom and excellent AC.
it is very important to book a sea view room.
No doubt it is the best option in Dubrovnik for hot weather visitors who apreciate a private access to the sea ( which is here very rare ) and on short easy walking distance into the walled town ( 10 minutes ). The complex has charm, style, location, view and private sea access, all of which none other hotel in Dubrovnik has.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
As you wrote yes we do have 5 buildings in the same location and many room types. We separated villas and hotel and markt them differntly in order to help our guests understand better when they book a room.
We are glad to hear that you liked our restaurants, gardens and outside swimming pool area.
We hope that you will be our guest again in the future!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My sister and I stayed at this hotel two in September. Our room had a queen bed instead of two beds that we had booked, and it was very small. They would not accommodate a request for a different room. We quickly discovered that the hotel was perhaps half capacity, if that. Management/staff were not friendly or accommodating. Very disappointed in our visit and our room. Would not recommend this hotel. We had just spent more than a week in Italy at quality five-star hotels, so perhaps that is why this hotel was so disappointing.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank MarleyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We always try to meet our guests' needs especially in cases like yours if we had rooms available.
Honestly it is very hard for me to give a comment as you stayed in our hotel almost a year ago when I was not involved in hotel operations, but I still hope that Dubrovnik stayed in good memory.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great location. Terrific front desk staff, I cannot say enough great things about them. So helpful, knowledgeable, all together awesome. We had called a day before to confirm our arrival as I booked the hotel via booking.com and since we've had numerous problems in the past with other hotels, I decided to confirm. They had our reservation for the night all was set. When we arrived rather late in the evening, the front desk staff promptly informed us that this was our lucky night as they had overbooked all their "Villas' (they have three, Vila Glavic, Orsula, and Argentina). However for those that wish to pay 8000 euros a night, they also have their secluded and very exclusive Villa Sheherezade, which is a 4000 sqm villa with it's own pool, hot tub and sea side 'beach'. This was all ours for the night. And it was our anniversary. Indeed our lucky day!
We went to the hotel for dinner which was OK, nothing to write home about. Service was lacking and the food was OK. Great wine. The next day we had lunch which wasn't great either, but who cares after what we had experience right?
A little dated - the Argentina that is. But well kept. Awesome location

Room Tip: In front of the sea side is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliane_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you liked our Villa Sheherezade and thank you for recognizing our front desk staff.
I am sorry that you were not so satisfied with our service in the restaurants and meals as well, but I do hope that you will visit us again and that we will meet all your expectations.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £101 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing