We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Dubrovnik - Wish I'd be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were supposed to stay here for only one night and then move to the Hilton, but we loved it so much that we cancelled our reservation at the Hilton (even lost one night there) and decided to stay here.

Yes, the rooms are a bit outdated and the shower not very efficient, but you should stay here for the overall experience. You wake up with view of the Adriatic sea next to you, spend the day by the pool and sea while it's scorching hot in the Old Town, and then head for a walk in town in the earky evening. It'll be a wonderful relaxing vacation.

We stayed in 3 different rooms, the corner suite in the 7th floor which was amazing, a superior seaview room also in the 7th floor which was also lovely, and a room in one of the villas across the street which was a bit stuffy. I'd recommend you stay in the main building. We got a great deal through jetsetter.com.

The grounds are beautiful, the property is just lovely. People seem to complain about the steps, but we didn't think it was bad at all.

The location is great as it's only a 10 minute-walk to town. It's a really easy walk downhill. On our way back from the Old Town, we 'd take a cab since we'd feel lazy after dinner. The cabs were 50 kuna, about $9 usd.

The service was wonderful, especially from Robert at the front desk (he truly was wonderful), and from the concierge desk. Book your tours with them, very professional. They all seem to truly care about their guests.

The included breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. You eat while looking at the adriatic sea and Dubrovnik.

A wonderful vacation in all sense of the word.

Room Tip: Ask for 7th floor in main building and for upgrade if available.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice and detailed review about our hotel!
We are glad to that you are satisfied with our property and service we offerd.
Thank you for recognizing Robert as I can see that he left the gratest impression on you.
It is nice to hear that you decided to cancelled reservation in another hotel and stayed with us.
We hope that you will come again and be our guest.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
There are newer reviews for Grand Villa Argentina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Quite simply this hotel has the most perfect location with a view to die for. It is located about a 10 minute walk from the walled city and perched on the cliffs overlooking the Adriatic Sea. There are no beaches but from the pool deck you can dive into the sea which is so clear and clean - a most welcoming experience after a very hot day wandering around the beautiful town. The bar staff make the best mojitos and my husband rates the Croatian beer highly. There is a good variety offered at the breakfast buffet but best of all, you are seated on the terrace overlooking the city wall and sea below. The rooms are a bit small and the decor is a bit dated and this is the only reason this hotel does not receive a rating of 5 from me. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice subject of your review!
We are very glad that you were satisfied with our hotel buffet breakfast offer and views form the terrace.
I am sorry to hear that room did not meet your expectations, but we really do hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A fabulous hotel and location. We went with with friends on our annual "wrinklies" trip. It was also my husband's 60th birthday. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. They arranged a birthday cake for me and on the said day set a beautiful birthday breakfast table and a complimentary bottle on bubbly. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will return to this beautiful Croatian city and the friendly people.

Room Tip: Higher floors give the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie602012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that you recognized our employees helpful and accomodating.
We sincerely hope that you will be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Great hotel.
Within 10 min walking distance to the old city.
Rooms are comfortable and quiet.
We had a sea view room so had a great view of all the yachts going by/stowed and also Lokrum island.
Breakfast is superb.
Cannot fault!

We did a couple of day trips to Montenegro and Mostar in Bosnia. I personally thought the Mostar trip was excellent and much better than Montenegro.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pneggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your impresions about your stay in our hotel!
We are glad that you were satisfied with your room and breakfast.
We hope that we would have opportunuty to welcome you in our hotel again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

No doubt it is the best option in Dubrovnik for hot weather visitors who appreciate a private access to the sea ( which is here very rare ) and on short easy walking distance into the walled town ( 10 minutes ). The complex has charm, style, location, view and private sea access, it is important to book a sea view. If you are going for a standard room try & get the 7th floor which is first floor at street level.

From our experience was that this establishment is perfect for couples, a nice and quiet atmosphere even when fully booked. There are some beautiful terraced gardens which provide shade & tranquillity but are very underused, possibly because there is no direct access by the lift only stairs.

There are reviews on here that suggest the staff are unfriendly. What I like about this hotel and in Croatia in general is that the service isn't false and overly gushing I thought the staff were really kind and helpful.

A negative is if you are visiting the Hotel & Dubrovnik for the first time the brochures do not prepare you for the steps. If you had mobility issues then some parts of the hotel such as the gardens and bathing platform were difficult to access. The only other gripe was with the hotel management, I could not work out their relationship with staff. We had some thunderstorms on evening and had planned to eat on the terrace restaurant. Before the rain started front of house staff started rushing about clearing seat cushions set tables etc. to protect them from the storm & continued serving they worked so hard. When they had made things safe two additional staff (I presume management) came to help. One of them just seemed to walk about for an hour in which time they served 2 cups of coffee and delayed a waiter because they needed instructions to help serving a desert. During the walking they slipped twice on the wet floor but did nothing to protect colleagues by making the floor safe. This was also reflected in the level of consistency in service e.g. at breakfast if one had coffee and the other had tea sometimes you just got hot milk and on other occasion hot & cold milk.

These are minor gripes as the front of house staff were great.

The hotel is great. Friendly staff, great location, beautiful views, great beach, great breakfast and evening meals, and a nice clean room.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, 7th floor for a standard room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BradfordTravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you were satisfied with our hotel location, setting and tranqility which is really special.
Also, it is nice to hear that you recognized our employees as kind and helpful.
I remember thunderstorm night and know everything you wrote about. As you saw the wind was extremely strong and thunderstorm was aproaching quickly. In the end it was not so bed as we thought it would be, but we had to help to our employees which was a good move in my opinion. Maybe it was not completely professional and procedural, but we all help each other when possible. I would call it force Majeure. I remember that I slipped twice but it was the floor that were my shoes which were not suitable for rain.
We truly hope that you will be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We've just returned from a week's holiday with our twin toddlers and spent the whole time wishing we'd come earlier during life before children as it would have been perfect. The setting is stunning. It's a grand, eclectic building, cascading down into the sea,

The rooms are nice enough. Not five star flash but definitely fine. There was a problem with the bathroom smelling of raw sewage though, which I think was due to the rain.


We ate at the Caravalle restaurant every night where the food was excellent. At the beach restaurant it's another story. We ordered the sea food pasta on the first day and it was basically sea food dumped in a load of cream. No herbs, no seasoning even. Just bland, lazy and amateur and definitely nothing to do with Thierry who oversees the cooking at the Caravelle and the Victoria restaurant which which was excellent.

Another good thing about this place is the staff. There are a reviews on here that suggest the staff are unfriendly. What I like about this hotel and in Croatia in general is that the service isn't false and overly gushing as you'd find in countries such as the US. I thought the staff were really kind and helpful without being obsequious.

This place is perfect for people travelling without kids. Which is just my kind of hotel except I'd brought my twin toddlers. Whilst the staff went out of their way to accommodate our toddlers it's not ideal for young kids. The pool area is too dangerous as the edge of the pool is a sheer drop into the sea. The terrace has gaps under the fencing with sheer drops underneath. The windows in the rooms start at floor level have railings wide enough for little people to slip through. This hotel was a bit of a death trap for toddlers which is may be a good thing as it's all the better for being peaceful and child free.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sammi73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to hear that you liked the setting of the hotel!
Thank you for giving comments about the restaurants we will check together with Cheff the offer and quality in beach restaurant.
It is nice to hear that you commented and recognized our staff kindness.
I have to agree with you that it takes a lot of care for small children especially in the beach area as sea is immediately deep.
We hope that you will be our guest again in the future.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Nice hotel(s?), but a bit overpriced and overrated. It was very warm, and the air conditioning did not work as well as one would expect, which is inexcusable at those prices. Beautiful location, it's a couple of old villas joined by a modern addition. The modern part is extremely unattractive from the exterior but adds a lot to the package, particularly the large covered sea-view terrace where breakfast is served, which offers stunning views of Lokrum Island, the Adriatic and the old walled city. We spent some of our most relaxing moments in Dubrovnik on the breakfast terrace and at the hotel "beach" and pool area. The service was mixed. The waiters at breakfast were respectful but a bit overworked. The two women who sat at the concierge desk in the lobby were wonderful: extremely attentive, warm, friendly, down-to-earth and very helpful. We were traveling alone and needed help figuring out how we were going to get to Split and Zagreb after our week in Dubrovnik; they would research ferry and train schedules for us and send elaborate notes in perfect English. The men at the front desk (i.e. reception staff) were considerably less friendly and accommodating, and were frankly a bit the sales clerks one sometimes finds in highly exclusive shops who think it's their prerogative to assume a superior air. I would certainly recommend the hotel and return, but would advise the management to look into the air conditioning and the reception staff's attitude, and also try to cut down, if possible, on the large tour groups who left the lobby cluttered with their luggage for nearly an entire day on two occasions during our week there last month.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bin-Bin-Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with our your opinion about our hotel!
Regarding the air conditioning it would be helpful for us to know which parts were not conditioned well.
It is nice to hear that guestrelations girls were helpful. Regarding the reception staff thank you for giving us comment so we can take the action for improving.
For the luggage we do hope that we would find a better solution in the future so that all our guests are satisfied.
We are glad that you would reccomend us and truly we hope that you will visit us agian.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £103 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing