We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-Star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,055 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,543 helpful votes
“3-Star hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We've stayed at "Grand Villa Argentina" for 3 nights and I wouldn't do that mistake a second time.

The main building is a Soviet style complex which got some upgrade years back. It's a hotel for older American tourists, not for somebody who looks for style or luxury. Yes, the view is stunning - but at the rack rate (which I didn't pay) you would expect much, much more.

We had a standard room which is a bit small and without any style. Especially the bathroom is terrible, old - with one of this wall-fixed hair dryers you know from cheap Motels.

Service? Forget about it. There's no real help when you ask for restaurants etc.

The pool area offers a wonderful view - unfortunatelly the pool staff doesn't clean up (empty plastic glasses laying around). When you want something to drink you've to be luck when the staff shows up. Normally the !!! 3 !!! guys are sitting together, smoking, chatting - and don't care about the customers.

When you get a very good rate (below € 150/night) the hotel is okay. But when you pay more you'll be very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant of Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel.
We appreciate to hear your comments in order to improve our service.
As the main hotel building was built in 1969 and is protected there is not a lot that we can do in order to change it from the outside.
Regarding the pool staff actions were already made weeks ago and service is definitely improved now.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We are currently staying at the hotel, and thought we'd write a quick review.

Firstly this hotel is in a fabulous location, with wonderful views and a great beach area.

Sadly though the hotel is far from 5* quality and is quite dated- we really aren't fussy people and rarely complain, but when you pay this amount of money you have basic expectations.

On arrival we were allocated a room that was very smoky smelling, with an obscured sea view and twin beds- not ideal on a romantic break.

We asked to move and confirmed in the morning the new room would be a double, sea view, non smoking. We now have these things, but the room, bathroom and window are tiny. Plus the ac doesn't seem to work very well.

Staff are very variable, Robert on reception was most polite and really seemed to want to help us, his colleague however was verging on rude and couldn't understand why we would want to change rooms.

All in all not good, not bad, just pretty average.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happyh0liday5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant of Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you writing review about our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you were disapointed with your stay in our hotel.
Robert is always willing to do everything in order to meet guest's needs and I am glad that he was able to find another room for you even though it did not completely meet your expectations.
I truly hope that you were able to enjoy our facilities.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location, just a 5 minute walk up a small hill from the old city's wall. It has a nice pool and sea entrance with great views of the old city. Breakfast was good with views as well. Our issue was that we booked our last 5 nights of our trip at this 5 star hotel, but had better cleanliness at our other accommodations. Our bathroom was not cleaned prior to checking into our room, there were hairs in the bath tub and trash was not emptied. When we told the reception, it was cleaned by the time we got back, but should never happen in a 5 star hotel. When we checked out, they made a mistake and never got our wake up call (5 AM), as well as the to-go breakfast was not ready. If it wasn't for our own alarm, we would have missed our flight back home.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Salandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing your review about our hotel.
I have to say that I am sorry that you had so many unpleasant situations which should not happen. First because of room cleanliness and in the end for you wake up call and box breakfst.
I would like to apologize for all inconveniences.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

this was one of the best hotel i stayed in,we went for friend holiday but would be suitable for families too, it had great facilities, great pool and see,beautiful scenery, if you visiting Dubrovnik, it cant get any better than that, 5 minutes walk to great sand beach, clubs and restaurants, 7 minutes straight walk to old city walls and city centre,most amazing sunset from the hotel.service great, people are kind,pool restaurant was also great,nice breakfast, overall,i will definetly go back with my family.only problem was air conditioning need an update.it can get hot in room.

Room Tip: we had room with the sea view, air-conditioning need updating,it is worth to pay for sea view room,h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elifff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant of Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write review about our hotel!
It is nice to hear that our hotel was one of the best you stayed in.
We are glad that you were satisfied with our service and employees.
We sincerely hope that you will come back in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Grand Villa Argentina, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is in a fantastic position, with stunningly beautiful sea views, as well as a lovely view of the old town of Dubrovnik. It is only a 10 minute walk from the old town, and there is a taxi service and bus service available if you don't want to walk.
The food was excellent. The buffet style breakfast offered a wide variety of fruits, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries etc. as well as a good variety of cooked items. You could even have champagne at breakfast if you really wanted it!
The pool bar was really good - we loved the salads, paninis and ice creams - and the staff there were exceptionally friendly, yet courteous, and always willing to help.
We were staying half board and ate in the Caravelle Restaurant - on the terrace - every night, overlooking the fantastic views. The half board menu offered 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts. The food was always lovely, and beautifully cooked, but we were a little disappointed with the fact that there was quite a bit of repetition in the weekly menu. We were offered salmon at least 3 times during the week, which was a shame, as we understand that Croatia is a great place for different kinds of fish - we would have liked to sample a few more of them. Having said that, the service was excellent and the staff friendly and courteous, so it is only a minor criticism.
The bar staff were really great, serving cocktails and nibbles before dinner, and coffee and liqueurs afterwards, and offering lots of helpful advice about local beers, wines and spirits.
The pool area was lovely, with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas - although it can get very busy and people reserve their sunbeds before breakfast by putting towels on them, so be warned. There were plenty of beach towels available however, and the pool staff were always available to serve drinks etc.The pool was lovely and you could access the sea from the pool area. There is no beach, but there is a large area of the sea cordoned off in front of the pool area which is safe and pleasant to swim in. The sea was very warm when we were there, and we loved watching the huge yachts and cruise ships which moored themselves just beyond the hotel. However, there was an area near the pool, by the edge of the sea which was quite slippery due to algae, which I thought could be a bit dangerous, so be careful.
Our room was in the villa across the road. It had everything we needed, and was well serviced, but there was no lift, and I would want to be in the main building if we went there again.
All in all, we thought it was a great hotel, and well worth its 5 star status. We would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write review about our hotel!
We are glad that you liked our hotel location, food and breakfast choice.
Thank you for highlighting our Beach restaurant and our employees in restaurants.
Your comment about half board is helpfull as you specifically wrote what would you like to change.
I am glad to hear that you liked and enjoyed our pool area. Slippery area due to algae is already under the treatment we took the action just two days ago.
It is nice to hear that you would like to stay in our hotel again and truly we hope that you will.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were supposed to stay here for only one night and then move to the Hilton, but we loved it so much that we cancelled our reservation at the Hilton (even lost one night there) and decided to stay here.

Yes, the rooms are a bit outdated and the shower not very efficient, but you should stay here for the overall experience. You wake up with view of the Adriatic sea next to you, spend the day by the pool and sea while it's scorching hot in the Old Town, and then head for a walk in town in the earky evening. It'll be a wonderful relaxing vacation.

We stayed in 3 different rooms, the corner suite in the 7th floor which was amazing, a superior seaview room also in the 7th floor which was also lovely, and a room in one of the villas across the street which was a bit stuffy. I'd recommend you stay in the main building. We got a great deal through jetsetter.com.

The grounds are beautiful, the property is just lovely. People seem to complain about the steps, but we didn't think it was bad at all.

The location is great as it's only a 10 minute-walk to town. It's a really easy walk downhill. On our way back from the Old Town, we 'd take a cab since we'd feel lazy after dinner. The cabs were 50 kuna, about $9 usd.

The service was wonderful, especially from Robert at the front desk (he truly was wonderful), and from the concierge desk. Book your tours with them, very professional. They all seem to truly care about their guests.

The included breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. You eat while looking at the adriatic sea and Dubrovnik.

A wonderful vacation in all sense of the word.

Room Tip: Ask for 7th floor in main building and for upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice and detailed review about our hotel!
We are glad to that you are satisfied with our property and service we offerd.
Thank you for recognizing Robert as I can see that he left the gratest impression on you.
It is nice to hear that you decided to cancelled reservation in another hotel and stayed with us.
We hope that you will come again and be our guest.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Quite simply this hotel has the most perfect location with a view to die for. It is located about a 10 minute walk from the walled city and perched on the cliffs overlooking the Adriatic Sea. There are no beaches but from the pool deck you can dive into the sea which is so clear and clean - a most welcoming experience after a very hot day wandering around the beautiful town. The bar staff make the best mojitos and my husband rates the Croatian beer highly. There is a good variety offered at the breakfast buffet but best of all, you are seated on the terrace overlooking the city wall and sea below. The rooms are a bit small and the decor is a bit dated and this is the only reason this hotel does not receive a rating of 5 from me. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice subject of your review!
We are very glad that you were satisfied with our hotel buffet breakfast offer and views form the terrace.
I am sorry to hear that room did not meet your expectations, but we really do hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing