We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Villa Argentina
Nearby Hotels
US$464
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$530
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Valamar Argosy Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel More(Dubrovnik)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Lapad(Dubrovnik)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$767
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$721
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveller rating
761
454
146
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
454
146
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria restaurantsea viewpool arealokrum islandold citypool attendantl'occitane toiletriesminute walkolder partsalt water poolbeautiful hotelstar hotelbreakfast terracethe main hotelbeach restaurantwalled citysparkling wine
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is a true paradise! Every ounce of the grounds are immaculate and stunning, and the pool area is beyond words. The pictures on the hotel website look too good to be true but I can assure they are a true showcase of the amazing view and pool area at this hotel. This really is the jewel hotel of the area - we like to get the opinion of the locals on their views of the hotels and they all said that the Grand Villa Argentina is the most beautiful and best represents a luxurious Croatian experience! Stay here, you will not regret it.

The location is incredible - a true under 10 minute walk to the old city which is so essential. Although, it's hard to pull yourself away from the amazing pool to go into town! All the food at the hotel was amazing, and we also found breakfast and lunch prices to be very reasonable. Dinner at the restaurant was a little out of price range (23 year old couple) but it looked amazing! The hotel did feature a daily Happy Hour where drinks were 40% off and they played live music on one of its stunning patios which was my favourite part of our stay.

The staff was also very kind - I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and sharing your experince with us.
I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and that it was a paradise for you.
Also we are pleased that you enjoyed our food and drinks.

We hope that you will be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel is the best of Dubrovnik in terms of the location. View to the historical city. 10 min walk into the city. A separate beach on the sea.

What I liked most is swimming in the Mediterranium Sea in the morning and in the evening. Unfortunately the beach opens at 8:00 a.m. and closes at 8:00 p.m. Anyway - it was nice. The water was clear. Being here at 7:30 a.m. we got the dawn while swimming and at 7:30 p.m we got the dusk over the historic center of Dubrovnik.

However the value for money is bad for this class. The rooms were very small. We first got the worst room in class and need to ask for one with a better view. Some people of the staff gives the feeling, being pissed of of the tourists. Others are respectful. A warm welcome was the exception. I have to admit, that this was the first time I got such kind of service in this class in Europe. Far away from the extra mile. I'd recommend to replace the manager.

However the view is really exceptional. Even at the breakfast patio you have a perfect look to the Sea, to the small island nearby and to the historical town of Dubrovnic. My highlight of the breakfast buffet was the well-graved salmon. I personally missed Darjeeling tea. All the rest was very good. (There were the only tasty tomatoes in Croatia).

The fitness center has 4 Instruments of good Quality. there are 2 small pools, one inhouse, the other cloase to the sea.

Wine (Plavac-grape) and Posec served in the evening on the Bar were under avarage. The hotel offers a wine tasting tour at the winery Milos (Peljesac). Would be an adequate wine for the guests as well. The wine card contains Chateau Petrus and a Chablis wine, but not the premium class wines of Bordeaux or other top regions in Europe and US.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HerBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing detailed review about our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service, but thank you for pointing out on things where we should improve they will be taken in consideration.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel was lovely, with lovely views from the pool and good restaurants. I had a few reservations our room was fine but in had one wardrobe(single) which housed the safe. We were staying for 11 nights and we simply could not fit our clothes in and we had to have them hung all over the room! My husband had two hanger for 11 nights! A little dissapointing that they did not look at the length of time we were staying and give us a slight up grade. We did spend £500.00 in the hotel over the period! The other reservation was the lack of sun beds but we were staying the first week of August and children play in the gym! This really did not spoil a fantastic holiday for my husband and I and would definately visit the hotel again, we ate in both the restaurants and the food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: If booking for longer period and not upgrading to a room with a sea view as about storage space!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel.
We are glad that you have chosen our hotel and that your holiday was fantastic.
As we were completely booked during whole August probably our receptionists were unable to give you upgrade.
We are glad that you liked food in our restaurants and truly we hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Argentina is one of most comfortable and luxurious hotels within easy (10 minute) walking distance of the Old Town. The service is excellent. In the half-dozen times I've stayed there I had only one minor problem with my reservation but the staff took care of it quickly. The buffet breakfast is quite extensive and high quality. The hotel does not have facilities for large meetings or conferences (unlike the Dubrovnik Hotel next door) but that is probably a plus for travelers looking for a more quiet, intimate setting. The cafe in the lobby has a stunning view of the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YodaHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel.
We are glad that you are satisfied with our hotel, facilities and service.
It's nice to see that you have recognized our lobby bar as place with stunning view to the Old Town.
Sincerely we hope that you will continue visiting us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just arrived back from the Grand Villa Argentina. As were only stayed for 3 nights we . just booked a standard twin room with no seaview but I did email that hotel to ask if we could have a double room. When we arrived we were delighted that we had a double bed and a seaview at no extra cost.

Room
Basic but nice with a window and no balcony but great views. The bathroom had no bah and the smallest shower cubicle ever but plenty of nice toileteries refreshed every day. There is a hairdryer, minibar and safe but no Tea/coffee making facilities. The air conditioning is not great and a little noisy as at this time of year you have to have it on all night. I am sure that each room is different as there are other wings to the hotel so I am sure that bigger rooms are available.

Food a.nd drink
Breakfast at the hotel was set out on a terrace with stunning views over the ocean and dubrovnik old town. Good choice of hot and cold food but the hot food was generally warm at best as is buffet style but perfecly acceptable. We at once at the beach restaurant again with stunning views and plenty of shade. The food was very good with choice of sandwiches, cooked food, salads etc. The food was a little pricey for lunch with 2 burger and chips and 2 soft drinks at around £26 but the view is worth the money. We had early evening drinks in the Victoria bar which serves cocktails and from 6.30-8.30 they have 40% off all cocktails. The price with the discount is around £5 for a cocktail and and beer is around £3.50 so not too bad and you also get a large tub of peanuts and again stunning views

Hotel overall
The hotel is stunning and is terraced going to the rocky sea below with a small salt water swimming pool, the swimming pool is cold but refreshing in 35 degree heat. Plenty of sunbeds to spend the day watching the boats go by. Be warned this hotel has lots of steps everywhere and probably not that suitable for anyone with mobility issues. The hotel provides pool towels but you cannot take outside of the hotel so be sure to bring your own towels if you plan to go on a day trip

Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik old town is about 10 minute walk away, along a stunning coastline. As you walk through the city gates you will be amazed at the number of bars and restaurants everywhere, great for people watching. Food can range from cheap to expensive with a standard 2 course meal with a couple of alcohlic drinks for 2 being around £50 but you can get delicious pizzas for much less. I would also recommend the ice cream which is sold in hundreds of flavours everywhere for around £1.
A visit to lokrum island is well worth the £5 return boat fare and only takes 10 minutes. Pleny of swimming in clear sea, gardens, fort with great views and a couple of lovely restaurants at reasonable prices and Peacocks roming around everywhere which was unexpected. We also went up cable car but thought that this was overpriced at around £10 per person for a very short trip. There is a restaurant at the top but not too much else apart from great views of dubrovnik. The trip around the outside of the wall is very good and about £7 per person, try not to go when too hot as there are quite a few steps and it gets very hot. Unfortunately the wall walk closes as 7pm so whatever time you go it will be hot in August.

Overall Dubrovnik is stunning and I can't wait to return and the Grand Villa Argentina is a must for it's beauty and location

Room Tip: Ask for seaview as well worth it
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidayaddict66_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and taking your time to write such detailed review about our hotel.
We are glad that we were able to upgrade to sea view room what we do whenever we can.
It's nice to see that you had had lunch in beach restaurant and drinks in Lounge bar and that you were satisfied. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed in our beach area.
We hope that you will visit us again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews