We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a 5-Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Truly a 5-Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Yes - the basic rooms could cost up to $300/night but the views from this hotel and the amenities are priceless. If you are short on time like we were, take advantage of the hotel beach and pool for some true R & R during the day, and head into the old town after 4pm to avoid all of the traffic from cruises. The ships dock here daily and can bring in almost 10,000 visitors per day! For the hotel pool, during peak season, I would suggest going down early, right after breakfast, to reserve some lounge chairs. We went the first week of September which is technically no longer peak season, and never had a problem getting a lounger, but did notice that there were very few of them and sometimes none left at around 2pm. It's really nice having both the pool and the sea especially for me since I'm quite afraid of deep water - it was perfect to cool off in the pool. While down at the beach area, you can order drinks and also go up to the Beach Restaurant for lunch. Check the hours however since depending on the season, they vary.
Should it rain during your stay, don't let that hold you back. The hotel also has an indoor pool and spa facilities. We took advantage of these and also booked the sauna for an hour to unwind while it was raining outside. The rain stopped after a couple of hours and we were the first ones back down at the outdoor pool. The breakfast here is much better than other European cities I've visited. You get an entire buffett (fresh bread, cheese, eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, etc).and if you're not happy with the options, you can request that something is made for you outside of the buffett. The service at this hotel is what I believe truly sets it apart from any other place I've visited. The hotel staff in unbelievably attentive and courteous. During our stay here, we also had dinner at the hotel restaurant Victoria, TWICE. We felt that the restaurants in town were all too similar with very limited options. The restaurant at the hotel had amazing French cuisine and the view of Dubrovnik at night was unreal. I highly recommed this hotel if you are looking for some luxury and good service.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the sea view because really, how much time do you spend in the room anyways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a nice and detailed review about our hotel!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our pool and beach area. Also, I am very glad to see that you liked our breakfast and in the end of course that our emlpoyees were attentive and courteous. In the end thank you for choosing Victoria for dinner twince.

We hope that you will visit us again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    388
    127
    34
    20
See reviews for
159
706
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Great location, and what a stunning view! Just wish we could have stayed longer. Only a few minutes walk to the walled city, but all the amenities of a resort farther out. We wouldn't have booked something so expensive, but being procrastinators, the cheaper options were filled up already. But it was a lovely treat. The style is a little old school, I tend to prefer a little more modern or interesting design, but that is hardly a fault for all.

Room Tip: A view of the water is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
It is very nice to read that you would stay longer if it was possible.
We hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the Grand Villa Argentina for 1 week in July. It is built on the side of a hill, so that you enter the reception on street level, then go down stairs/lifts to your room, restaurant and beach. The room was very clean and well laid out, however I was slightly disappointed in the view - we had paid additional money to our travel agent for - it was obscured by a large tree. This is because there is a lovely tree lined avenue below the rooms which face onto the sea. For anyone who has long hair - the hairdryer in the bathroom can take a long time to dry your hair so I suggest taking your own. We did however have a fantastic stay. Contrary to what some reviewers have put, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The selection of breakfast was good and a few guests even had a glass of bubbly in the morning. The views from the terrace/breakfasting area are fantastic. There are breathtaking views over the sea and to Dubrovnik itself. The 'beach' area is more of a sun terrace with pool, where you can enter the sea for a swim & order drinks from staff. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk away from the city, so is very convenient. If I am fortunate enough to visit Dubrovnik again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemmaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to come back again.
I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service.
We will take in consideration your advice regarding hair dryers.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is a true paradise! Every ounce of the grounds are immaculate and stunning, and the pool area is beyond words. The pictures on the hotel website look too good to be true but I can assure they are a true showcase of the amazing view and pool area at this hotel. This really is the jewel hotel of the area - we like to get the opinion of the locals on their views of the hotels and they all said that the Grand Villa Argentina is the most beautiful and best represents a luxurious Croatian experience! Stay here, you will not regret it.

The location is incredible - a true under 10 minute walk to the old city which is so essential. Although, it's hard to pull yourself away from the amazing pool to go into town! All the food at the hotel was amazing, and we also found breakfast and lunch prices to be very reasonable. Dinner at the restaurant was a little out of price range (23 year old couple) but it looked amazing! The hotel did feature a daily Happy Hour where drinks were 40% off and they played live music on one of its stunning patios which was my favourite part of our stay.

The staff was also very kind - I cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and sharing your experince with us.
I am very glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and that it was a paradise for you.
Also we are pleased that you enjoyed our food and drinks.

We hope that you will be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markgräfler Land
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel is the best of Dubrovnik in terms of the location. View to the historical city. 10 min walk into the city. A separate beach on the sea.

What I liked most is swimming in the Mediterranium Sea in the morning and in the evening. Unfortunately the beach opens at 8:00 a.m. and closes at 8:00 p.m. Anyway - it was nice. The water was clear. Being here at 7:30 a.m. we got the dawn while swimming and at 7:30 p.m we got the dusk over the historic center of Dubrovnik.

However the value for money is bad for this class. The rooms were very small. We first got the worst room in class and need to ask for one with a better view. Some people of the staff gives the feeling, being pissed of of the tourists. Others are respectful. A warm welcome was the exception. I have to admit, that this was the first time I got such kind of service in this class in Europe. Far away from the extra mile. I'd recommend to replace the manager.

However the view is really exceptional. Even at the breakfast patio you have a perfect look to the Sea, to the small island nearby and to the historical town of Dubrovnic. My highlight of the breakfast buffet was the well-graved salmon. I personally missed Darjeeling tea. All the rest was very good. (There were the only tasty tomatoes in Croatia).

The fitness center has 4 Instruments of good Quality. there are 2 small pools, one inhouse, the other cloase to the sea.

Wine (Plavac-grape) and Posec served in the evening on the Bar were under avarage. The hotel offers a wine tasting tour at the winery Milos (Peljesac). Would be an adequate wine for the guests as well. The wine card contains Chateau Petrus and a Chablis wine, but not the premium class wines of Bordeaux or other top regions in Europe and US.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HerBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing detailed review about our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service, but thank you for pointing out on things where we should improve they will be taken in consideration.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel was lovely, with lovely views from the pool and good restaurants. I had a few reservations our room was fine but in had one wardrobe(single) which housed the safe. We were staying for 11 nights and we simply could not fit our clothes in and we had to have them hung all over the room! My husband had two hanger for 11 nights! A little dissapointing that they did not look at the length of time we were staying and give us a slight up grade. We did spend £500.00 in the hotel over the period! The other reservation was the lack of sun beds but we were staying the first week of August and children play in the gym! This really did not spoil a fantastic holiday for my husband and I and would definately visit the hotel again, we ate in both the restaurants and the food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: If booking for longer period and not upgrading to a room with a sea view as about storage space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel.
We are glad that you have chosen our hotel and that your holiday was fantastic.
As we were completely booked during whole August probably our receptionists were unable to give you upgrade.
We are glad that you liked food in our restaurants and truly we hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Argentina is one of most comfortable and luxurious hotels within easy (10 minute) walking distance of the Old Town. The service is excellent. In the half-dozen times I've stayed there I had only one minor problem with my reservation but the staff took care of it quickly. The buffet breakfast is quite extensive and high quality. The hotel does not have facilities for large meetings or conferences (unlike the Dubrovnik Hotel next door) but that is probably a plus for travelers looking for a more quiet, intimate setting. The cafe in the lobby has a stunning view of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YodaHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel.
We are glad that you are satisfied with our hotel, facilities and service.
It's nice to see that you have recognized our lobby bar as place with stunning view to the Old Town.
Sincerely we hope that you will continue visiting us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing