We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting!!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel Argentina for 10 days. We had a room with a sea view which was stunning. It is a lovely hotel with a magnificent pool/sea/sun bathing area with stunning views over the old town and the island of Lokrum. The victoria bar is also in a beautiful setting with stunning mango mojitos.
The room was spacious and very comfortable however the bathroom was a little dated and there was occasional smell from the drains. Also, whilst the room was very quiet and serene for 9 out of the 10 nights, a very loud wedding went on until the early hours on one of the saturday nights. We gave up at 1.40am and reception moved us to a room in the villa Glavic for the night.
Nevertheless, this didn't significantly detract from what was a wonderful holiday. In fact, we hope to return to the same place next year!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
Thank you for giving your comments which we will take into consideration.
I am glad that one night wedding did not detract your holiday and hope that you will come back again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    422
    141
    37
    21
See reviews for
178
776
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for 6 nights last week. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the city walls, this is slightly downhill on the way there, with some lovely views of Lokrum and the city on the way.

This hotel is nice, and i enjoyed staying there, but it is not a 5 star in my opinion. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which even cheapy travelodges in the UK provide! Also there was only one lounge chair, this meant one of us had to sit on the bed when spending time in the room. We booked a room with a double bed, but were disappointed to find that it was two single beds pushed together. On our first holiday together we effectively slept in separate beds all week, as if you moved into the middle, the mattresses moved and creating a big gap between the two beds!!

Also the quality of the housekeeping wasn't very good. The carpet wasn't vacuumed every day, as we noticed bits on the floor we there for 2-3 days running. Also when we'd used any of the glasses in the room, they were never cleaned, so we were left to wash these up. These were various glasses, not just used for water but for red wine too.

The outdoor pool area was very nice and there were plenty of spare sun loungers at various times during the day. The steps down to the sea were really useful as it's quite a drop otherwise! The indoor pool and jacuzzi area was also very nice, however there were no towels around so we had to drip dry before making our way back to our room!

We didn't eat in the Victoria restaurant but wandered down to have a look. Unfortunately a waiter looked at us and then just turned away and never came back to speak to us. We found this unacceptable, and it put us off eating or having a drink there. They seem to have a superior attitude, which certainly wasn't appreciated.

We had a meal in the Caravelle restaurant, although the food was nice, the portions were very small and the atmosphere can at best be described as average and drab.

All of these things lead to it not being 5 star standard. If visiting Dubrovnik again, i would look more carefully at other hotels, but wouldn't rule out the Grand Villa Argentine IF the price was right!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toonfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina!
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing your comments.
We will check regarding vacuuming and glasses in rooms because these are not acctually our standards.
I am glad that you liked our pool areas, both outdoor and indoor, regarding towels in indoor pool they should be taken at wellness reception so I am not sure if you asked for them.
I am sorry that you were not welcomed better in Victoria restaurant what surprises me indeed, but thank you for the comment there is always place for improvement.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have just come back from a weekend break with a friend to Dubrovnik, when we stayed at the 'Argentina'. We had booked a standard twin room, and were upgraded to a sea-view room free of charge, which was a great treat, as the views over Lokrum, the coast and the Old Town are lovely. We really only used the hotel as a base, due to only having a weekend to explore, but the staff were very helpful and the facilities we used were great. Breakfast is an enormous buffet, with pretty much any food you can imagine wanting for breakfast, and on our second morning we sat out on the terrace - again great views.
Our room was a good size, and very clean. The shower was good and powerful! The decor is a bit dated, but the l'Occitane bathroom products are a nice touch.
We had evening drinks in the Victoria lounge bar and watched the sun go down over the Old Town, which was lovely and worth a visit.
We used the sea-level pool area on our final day (available to us all day, even though we'd checked out) which was spotlessly clean, the pool had been freshly filled that morning, and there were plenty of loungers and towels with the sea merely a few steps away - gorgeous. A few hours down by the sea before our flight was the perfect way to end our weekend, and a must if you have the time and the sunshine!
We would definitely recommend Grand Villa Argentina, but with a word of caution about the standard rooms - we got a peek at one of the standard rooms at the back of the hotel, and have to say for the price we paid we would have been really disappointed to have ended up in that one which was very small and dark, however, we had our expectations exceeded, so really can't complain at all.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea-view it's probably worth it and we were on the 2nd floor which was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beks880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
I am glad that we were able to offer you upgrade to sea view room and that you enjoyed it.
Also, I am glad that you liked our buffet breakfast and that you enjoyed in our pool area.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

You can't beat the views and the location near to the old town is the reason we booked this Hotel. If you get a good room rate it's worth considering this Hotel but don't expect slick service with all mod cons. The comments below may Put you off but im only stating how it compares with other Hotels in its class. The room we were given was large, sea view and balcony, albeit a small one. The decor is not great unless you dislike the modern clean lines usually found in hotels of this standard. The bathroom layout was poor. No shower cubicle, just a bath with a small shower screen and a hand held, clamp to the wall type of attachment. Next to that was some dodgy looking SOS cord which was a tad dirty. The hair dryer was bizzarly situated by the toilet, in the bathroom, it was on a go slow and made it was impossible for us to get ready for the evening in unison. The Maid took off the heavy eiderdown after the first night and stacked it up in the corner. The beds don't need the eiderdown and the white linen looked a lot better. I didn't really want the whole thing along with bed cusions stacked in the corner of the room. Breakfast outside is lovely. The staff tried really hard but the restaurant needs a meet and greet, someone tanyhow you to a table, no one took our room number (or by the pool) so really anyone can pop in for breakfast or a swim! You just had to sit down and hope you got you got noticed. The first morning was bad, broken crockery on the floor, hardly any staff. After that things got better. Pool is nice, no drinks service tho and the Hotel are missing an opportunity there. One afternoon there were no beds around the pool, 4 pm being the peak when tiresome soles return from sightseeing. We wernt interupted from any partying, wedding receptions ect finished at 12 and once the balcony doors were closed, all was quiet. Front desk very helpful. I'd stay here again along as I'm not paying the full room rate, oh and bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catfish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Der Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
Your comments are valuable to us and we will take them into consideration.
Just I am not sure when it could happen that there were no beds and service at the beach. Was that maybe day after storms, even then beach boys were putting out sunbeds from around noon as waves were over the beach during the morning.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is our third night of 5 in the hotel and two nights have been loud partying. . . . . . it is 23h37 Sunday night and loud loud music and voices via loudspeaker is blaring outside. We have paid $500. for a room here. At this very moment I demand my money back. This is just ridiculous. Taking ones money and then do what they want? Is this just because the culture is different? This is not acceptable. Beware, if you do come and stay at this very overrated expensivce hotel that you may land up in the same situation.

Room Tip: any room here will be a gamble?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moira-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant of Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina!
I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by music from a wedding and I would like to take this opportunuty to apologize for that.
For any additional information you can contact me by e-mail, my e-mail address is sanela.omercahic@gva.hr.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We recently had a six night stay during the first week of September and would have loved to have stayed longer. We could not fault the hotel on anything, everything was excellent. This hotel has amazing views of the old city and the breakfast/terrace is a beautiful place to start and finish your day. It is less than 10 minutes walk to the old town. The breakfast was by far the best we have ever had in Europe and the happy hour at Victorias bar is a great spot for a pre dinner drink with live music and that amazing view of the old city at sunset. For a large hotel it has such a calm ambience. The staff were very good and the day we picked up our rental car they were so obliging. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Even though the view can slightly obstructed by trees we definitely feel it is worth the additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
It is nice to see that you wanted to stay longer in our hotel if it was possible.
We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast, drinks in Victoria Lounge bar and that you were satisfied with our service.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Yes - the basic rooms could cost up to $300/night but the views from this hotel and the amenities are priceless. If you are short on time like we were, take advantage of the hotel beach and pool for some true R & R during the day, and head into the old town after 4pm to avoid all of the traffic from cruises. The ships dock here daily and can bring in almost 10,000 visitors per day! For the hotel pool, during peak season, I would suggest going down early, right after breakfast, to reserve some lounge chairs. We went the first week of September which is technically no longer peak season, and never had a problem getting a lounger, but did notice that there were very few of them and sometimes none left at around 2pm. It's really nice having both the pool and the sea especially for me since I'm quite afraid of deep water - it was perfect to cool off in the pool. While down at the beach area, you can order drinks and also go up to the Beach Restaurant for lunch. Check the hours however since depending on the season, they vary.
Should it rain during your stay, don't let that hold you back. The hotel also has an indoor pool and spa facilities. We took advantage of these and also booked the sauna for an hour to unwind while it was raining outside. The rain stopped after a couple of hours and we were the first ones back down at the outdoor pool. The breakfast here is much better than other European cities I've visited. You get an entire buffett (fresh bread, cheese, eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, etc).and if you're not happy with the options, you can request that something is made for you outside of the buffett. The service at this hotel is what I believe truly sets it apart from any other place I've visited. The hotel staff in unbelievably attentive and courteous. During our stay here, we also had dinner at the hotel restaurant Victoria, TWICE. We felt that the restaurants in town were all too similar with very limited options. The restaurant at the hotel had amazing French cuisine and the view of Dubrovnik at night was unreal. I highly recommed this hotel if you are looking for some luxury and good service.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the sea view because really, how much time do you spend in the room anyways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a nice and detailed review about our hotel!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our pool and beach area. Also, I am very glad to see that you liked our breakfast and in the end of course that our emlpoyees were attentive and courteous. In the end thank you for choosing Victoria for dinner twince.

We hope that you will visit us again!

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,013 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing