We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVER-RATED AND OVER-PRICED!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is a MESS!! Nowhere near a 5-star experience. Rooms are small, musty and the beds are terrible. When was the last time that you were in a 5-star hotel where they moved the beds together?!? This hotel is in desperate need of an update/renovation. With the exception of one woman who was helpful at the reception desk, the rest were absolutely cold and detatched. Not the exerience that I have had at numerous hotels throughout the world. My wife and I stayed at this property for 4 nights in August. We were initially put into a room without a bathtub and only had a tiny stand up shower. Packed up and next night were put into a room with a bath and only one chair!! AIR CONDITIONING WAS DISMAL!! No air conditioning to speak of. We complained and they sent a person to our room who told us that the whole hotel was this way and that there was nothing that he could do. Basically, we were told.... "don't like it, leave!" The view from the terrace for breakfast was excellent.... but the quality of the buffet was lacking for a 5-star hotel.

In all, would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone else!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
We will take into consideration your comment for updating and renovation.
Regarding the air conditioning it would help us of you could tell us which was your room number in order to check and try fix the problem.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is in a superb position to explore Dubrovnic being just ten minutes walk from the city walls. Coupled with fantastic views from the terraces across the bay it takes some beating. Unfortunately, its 5 star rating is not deserved. I booked a basic room expecting something reasonable and bearable but was given a dingy room below the outside road level coupled with traffic noise. I made my feelings felt to the reception who had a very condescending attitude, but after a lot of huffing a puffing gave me a sea view room which was still on the very small side but at least was not so depressing. I must warn any future tourist planning to stay in this hotel that the shower in our room was so small that you could not turn around in it so anyone on the larger side would be in trouble. The most dissapointing thing about the hotel was the service in the restaurants which was shambolic. There was never a manager to show you to your table so the waiters were totally unaware who was coming and who was going. You therefore had the awfull task of trying to find who your waiter was and finding someone to take your order. I gave up after the second night and found the restaurants in the town the total opposite, superb service and some of the best food I have tried in a long time. I think European hotels should realise that they are being left behind by the asian and far eastern hotels when it comes to service and satisfaction, for example, welcome fruit and wine in the room, complementary coffee etc etc etc.

Room Tip: I am afraid the only way you will get a good room at this hotel is paying the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and giving your comment!
I am glad that we were able to give you upgrade to sea view room but also, I am sorry that room that you were accommodated in did not meet your expectations. I am not sure which room you were given in the end, but I am sure that our receptionists would accommodate you in one that would meet your expectations if it was possible.
Thank you for giving your comment regarding restaurants, it would be valuable to know which one you are talking about exactly.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

The location is spectacular, like Amalfi with better views. The old palace building is lovely and, although relatively small, the rooms are beautiful with great views...but the architect of the new building must have been schizophrenic..its horrible.
After experiencing delightful reception greeting, and friendly and helpful staff at pool restaurant, it fell apart with sullen late night bar service, and truly abysmal service and poor quality food at breakfast. Restaurants lacked any atmosphere or indeed any apparent management.
We had previously stayed at Dubrovnik Palace , part of the same group, which was a far better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PresidentSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
I am glad to hear that you liked views from your room and location.
Also, I am glad to see that you were satisfied with reception and pool restaurant staff.
I am not sure which additional bars and restaurants have you visited and which ones dissapointed you.
Regarding breakfast we are constantly improvig in and using quality food.
If you have suggestions what can be changed for the breakfast in order to satisfy our guests' needs I would be glad if you could contact me on my e-mail address sanela.omercahic@gva.hr

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel Argentina for 10 days. We had a room with a sea view which was stunning. It is a lovely hotel with a magnificent pool/sea/sun bathing area with stunning views over the old town and the island of Lokrum. The victoria bar is also in a beautiful setting with stunning mango mojitos.
The room was spacious and very comfortable however the bathroom was a little dated and there was occasional smell from the drains. Also, whilst the room was very quiet and serene for 9 out of the 10 nights, a very loud wedding went on until the early hours on one of the saturday nights. We gave up at 1.40am and reception moved us to a room in the villa Glavic for the night.
Nevertheless, this didn't significantly detract from what was a wonderful holiday. In fact, we hope to return to the same place next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Asisstant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
Thank you for giving your comments which we will take into consideration.
I am glad that one night wedding did not detract your holiday and hope that you will come back again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here for 6 nights last week. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the city walls, this is slightly downhill on the way there, with some lovely views of Lokrum and the city on the way.

This hotel is nice, and i enjoyed staying there, but it is not a 5 star in my opinion. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which even cheapy travelodges in the UK provide! Also there was only one lounge chair, this meant one of us had to sit on the bed when spending time in the room. We booked a room with a double bed, but were disappointed to find that it was two single beds pushed together. On our first holiday together we effectively slept in separate beds all week, as if you moved into the middle, the mattresses moved and creating a big gap between the two beds!!

Also the quality of the housekeeping wasn't very good. The carpet wasn't vacuumed every day, as we noticed bits on the floor we there for 2-3 days running. Also when we'd used any of the glasses in the room, they were never cleaned, so we were left to wash these up. These were various glasses, not just used for water but for red wine too.

The outdoor pool area was very nice and there were plenty of spare sun loungers at various times during the day. The steps down to the sea were really useful as it's quite a drop otherwise! The indoor pool and jacuzzi area was also very nice, however there were no towels around so we had to drip dry before making our way back to our room!

We didn't eat in the Victoria restaurant but wandered down to have a look. Unfortunately a waiter looked at us and then just turned away and never came back to speak to us. We found this unacceptable, and it put us off eating or having a drink there. They seem to have a superior attitude, which certainly wasn't appreciated.

We had a meal in the Caravelle restaurant, although the food was nice, the portions were very small and the atmosphere can at best be described as average and drab.

All of these things lead to it not being 5 star standard. If visiting Dubrovnik again, i would look more carefully at other hotels, but wouldn't rule out the Grand Villa Argentine IF the price was right!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toonfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina!
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing your comments.
We will check regarding vacuuming and glasses in rooms because these are not acctually our standards.
I am glad that you liked our pool areas, both outdoor and indoor, regarding towels in indoor pool they should be taken at wellness reception so I am not sure if you asked for them.
I am sorry that you were not welcomed better in Victoria restaurant what surprises me indeed, but thank you for the comment there is always place for improvement.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have just come back from a weekend break with a friend to Dubrovnik, when we stayed at the 'Argentina'. We had booked a standard twin room, and were upgraded to a sea-view room free of charge, which was a great treat, as the views over Lokrum, the coast and the Old Town are lovely. We really only used the hotel as a base, due to only having a weekend to explore, but the staff were very helpful and the facilities we used were great. Breakfast is an enormous buffet, with pretty much any food you can imagine wanting for breakfast, and on our second morning we sat out on the terrace - again great views.
Our room was a good size, and very clean. The shower was good and powerful! The decor is a bit dated, but the l'Occitane bathroom products are a nice touch.
We had evening drinks in the Victoria lounge bar and watched the sun go down over the Old Town, which was lovely and worth a visit.
We used the sea-level pool area on our final day (available to us all day, even though we'd checked out) which was spotlessly clean, the pool had been freshly filled that morning, and there were plenty of loungers and towels with the sea merely a few steps away - gorgeous. A few hours down by the sea before our flight was the perfect way to end our weekend, and a must if you have the time and the sunshine!
We would definitely recommend Grand Villa Argentina, but with a word of caution about the standard rooms - we got a peek at one of the standard rooms at the back of the hotel, and have to say for the price we paid we would have been really disappointed to have ended up in that one which was very small and dark, however, we had our expectations exceeded, so really can't complain at all.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea-view it's probably worth it and we were on the 2nd floor which was reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beks880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
I am glad that we were able to offer you upgrade to sea view room and that you enjoyed it.
Also, I am glad that you liked our buffet breakfast and that you enjoyed in our pool area.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we hope that you will visit us again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

You can't beat the views and the location near to the old town is the reason we booked this Hotel. If you get a good room rate it's worth considering this Hotel but don't expect slick service with all mod cons. The comments below may Put you off but im only stating how it compares with other Hotels in its class. The room we were given was large, sea view and balcony, albeit a small one. The decor is not great unless you dislike the modern clean lines usually found in hotels of this standard. The bathroom layout was poor. No shower cubicle, just a bath with a small shower screen and a hand held, clamp to the wall type of attachment. Next to that was some dodgy looking SOS cord which was a tad dirty. The hair dryer was bizzarly situated by the toilet, in the bathroom, it was on a go slow and made it was impossible for us to get ready for the evening in unison. The Maid took off the heavy eiderdown after the first night and stacked it up in the corner. The beds don't need the eiderdown and the white linen looked a lot better. I didn't really want the whole thing along with bed cusions stacked in the corner of the room. Breakfast outside is lovely. The staff tried really hard but the restaurant needs a meet and greet, someone tanyhow you to a table, no one took our room number (or by the pool) so really anyone can pop in for breakfast or a swim! You just had to sit down and hope you got you got noticed. The first morning was bad, broken crockery on the floor, hardly any staff. After that things got better. Pool is nice, no drinks service tho and the Hotel are missing an opportunity there. One afternoon there were no beds around the pool, 4 pm being the peak when tiresome soles return from sightseeing. We wernt interupted from any partying, wedding receptions ect finished at 12 and once the balcony doors were closed, all was quiet. Front desk very helpful. I'd stay here again along as I'm not paying the full room rate, oh and bring your own hair dryer.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catfish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Der Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
Your comments are valuable to us and we will take them into consideration.
Just I am not sure when it could happen that there were no beds and service at the beach. Was that maybe day after storms, even then beach boys were putting out sunbeds from around noon as waves were over the beach during the morning.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
146 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,956 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £102 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing