We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love an upside surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

OK, so much of the interior could use an update. The changing rooms at the spa (which you'll need to shower and change due to normal flight times not lining up at ALL with check out time) are more than a bit grotty. Compared to the rest of our experience, I say 'big deal'. The location is terrific: close enough to the old city to be an easy walk, far enough that one doesn't get run over by mobs of cruisers. The outdoor drinks lounge has an AMAZING view of the old city at sunset, a can't-miss. But what made our stay really special? The concierge, Julia, was just wonderful. Not only were all of her recommendations spot on, not only did she accommodate our ever changing restaurant reservations without a hitch, she noted my birthday in our reservation months ahead of time, and sent a bottle of wine and flowers to our room. We almost fell over. The staff overall was lovely, and the pool? Spectacular. Villa Argentina is a great option. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Facing the sea. Accept no substitutes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJMnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
As you wrote that you would come back again we would be more than happy to welcome you.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The rooms are fabulous with huge bathrooms with Bulgari amenities, super comfy beds with a tasty hazelnut chocolate treat placed on your pillow with the evening turndown service, fantastic views of the walled city of old town Dubrovnik (especially at night) and the Adriatic Sea, the buffet breakfast of all buffet breakfasts complete with champagne (all included for free with your room), friendly staff, a gorgeous infinity edge pool, a relaxing outdoor terrace bar with the best caipirinhas outside of Latin America, and all within a quick 5-10 minute walk of the Walled City. Stay here. I promise you will NOT be disappointed. Do yourself a favor and get a seaside room view or a seaside balcony room.

Room Tip: Seaside view or seaside balcony is a must for most gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karpedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
I am very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A terrific location that enhanced the Dubrovnik experience. However, the room was small, and the quality of service could have been better. The breakfast area was lovely, but the food was mediocre. Some of the members on the staff were a little distant at first but warmed up towards the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LongDistanceVoyager5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I'm suprised to read some of the reviews by fellow guests who feel that this hotel shouldn't be ranked as 5 star, of course everyone is entitled to their opinion but I wonder if we were staying in a completely different hotel!? We were fortunate enough to have our wedding reception at GVA on the Victoria Terrace and I have to say that the hotel lived up to our expectations in terms of its position & outlook, decor, quality of the rooms and communal areas and exquistite food, which by the way is prepared under the supervision of one of the Chefs who was invited to prepare the wedding dinner for Prince William and Kate. The food quality & presentation was amazing & our room just beautiful. I found the staff to be attentive and helpful. The only slighly negative comment I could make is that unfortunately a small corner of a glass table was cracked by accident by a guest and the hotel charged us for this, which I found a little unreasonable given in normal circumstances a hotel would have insurance provision for accidental damage.

Thank you GVA for making our short time spent with you a great experience. I highly recommend guests to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a corner deluxe room overlooking the sea and it was simply stunning. I think it was room 903!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to congratulate you and I am very glad that you were stisfied with your wedding reception in Victoria Restaurant. We are aware that it was the most important day for you and we always try to make it unforgettable.
We truly hope that you will come and celebrate your anniversary in our hotel, if you decide please contact us.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

A lovely hotel with magical views of the coast and island of Lokrum with old Dubrovnik set to one side, only a 15 min walk away. The room was spacious and the beds were so comfortable. The shower was great and the toiletries were numerous. Dressing gowns and slippers were supplied and the fridge in the room was most welcome.

Room Tip: No. 310 to 314 roughly and you will have the most fantastic sea view with an island right in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCATDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Small room, bathroom in need of refurbishment, unbearable sewer smell (reported to reception but without any long term solution as smell was back the next day).

Very nice location (10 mins from the old town), very pleasant breakfast overlooking the sea and the old town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gascondomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing your comment.
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room it would be helpfull to know in which room you were accommodated.
I am glad that you had pleasant breakfast on our terrace.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We checked into the hotel on 18th September and were in room 506. Front desk were efficient but not friendly - apart from the porters. The room was on a par with most 4 star European hotels, nice view and clean, however at night time the bathroom took on an 'aroma' of its own, to cure this we put a towel over the drain on the bathroom floor!!

We had dinner the first evening in the Caravelle restaurant, service was poor with the mains arriving before we had finished the starters so back they went into the oven. Whether this was why my husband's mussels lost the will to live and closed up again I don't know but half of them had not opened and were therefore not fit to eat. The octopus in his starter salad had obviously been sliced with a pencil sharpener it was virtualy non existent. My greek salad was good, however after a further ten minutes in the oven when my fish arrived it was shrivelled and only accompanied by a portion of limp chips definately not worth the money. Breakfast was good although again the staff barely managed to raise a smile.

The setting is lovely and the guys at the beach bar very pleasant, the food here was good just right for alfresco dining. The lads in charge of the sun beds etc seemed rather pre-occupied and somewhat oblivious to the sun umbrellas precariously launching off in the wind, I think a little bit of balast in the base of the umbrellas may help.

We would stay here again as the short walk into Dubrovnik is very convenient, however the food and drink prices are somewhat extortionate and the house white wine un-drinkable There are some wonderful restaurants in the city where the staff actually seemed pleased to see you and the entertainment varied and enjoyable. The entertainment at the hotel was virtually non existent we did see a couple of musicians but they played very dreary music not really in the holiday spirit!

Room Tip: Our room was evidently 'superior' so dont go for anything less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzieboo186376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanela O, Assistant to Hotel Director at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service, but thank you for giving all comments which we will take into consideration.
In the end I am glad that you would stay with us again and I hope that we will meet expectations.

Best Regards,

Sanela Omercahic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
146 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,956 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £102 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing