We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from rooms 217, 218 & 219”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from rooms 217, 218 & 219”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel was very nice but certainly not 5star . We have stayed in 5 star hotels , ie Park Hyatt , Sydney , Peninsula Hotel Bangkok and Villa Argentina is not of this class . We stayed in room 218 , not paying extra for a sea view . We were almost below ground level and when we drew back the curtain , looked out onto a rock wall about 2feet away !! Couldn't even see what the weather was doing . Am sure sea view rooms are very different ? Our mistake !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Mrs. Alyson W,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing a review. We are aware of room 218 not having sea view. I am sure if you stayed in a room with sea view, you would enjoy much more!

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but hopefully you will come back and enjoy in better room next time you visit us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The location and view from this hotel are the two best features of this hotel. We had a lovely room with a great balcony and stunning views, but I'm afraid that's as good as it got. This hotel does not match other five star hotels. Breakfast was okay, but certainly doesn't match other five stars, just little things would make all the difference; eggs cooked to order; freshly squeezed orange juice; better quality cereals; a new toaster and staff who all looked as if they actually wanted to be there! The killer for us was the noise, particularly late evening into the evening. This hotel and others obviously host functions, which you would expect as a key business for most hotels, but we didn't expect the chest crushingly level of noise we experienced one evening, accompanied by shouting and swearing at 1.30am and a rendition of happy birthday! We're not kill joys but if we'd wanted to experience a nightclub atmosphere we'd have gone to one. If the music doesn't prevent you from sleeping the fireworks around midnight will. They were lovely the first night, the second time they were losing their appeal and by the third night I'd well and truly had enough. To sum up the hotel is in a great location well within easy walking distance of the old city, which is stunning, but if you're used to five stars this hotel will fall short and certainly if you're looking for peace and tranquility late and into the small hours this hotel can't guarantee it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Great level walk to the old walled town. Fantastic pool that is right next to the Adriatic sea. The rooms were clean and had a nice feel to it. The hotel also had a beauty parlour, spa, sauna and steam room - all welcome after a day walking around the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 6 - the same level as reception so that your sea view is not obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Argentina on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Argentina. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had a sea facing room with balcony and the view was fantastic. Breakfast taken out on the terrace looked across the bay to the Old City of Dubrovnik, simply stunning. Choice of breakfast was excellent, our room was clean, large and comfortable with a lovely kitted out bathroom. The hotel overall was immaculate. We found the staff to be friendly, very helpful and when we did have a problem with our toilet seat, it was replaced within about half-hour. Try getting that at home! We used the swimming pool and the beachside pool. Eating at the hotel is not cheap but the food was good. We had a really wonderful holiday in Dubrovnik, helped very much by this lovely hotel. Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea-view, ours was a corner suite, so not obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review hotel Argentina on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed in your stay with us. Thank you for choosing hotel Argentina . We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel (May 2013) and held our wedding reception there. We'll start with the few positives..... The hotel is lucky to have such a beautiful view and garden facilities and these are it's main saving graces and the only thing that is anywhere near 5 star.
The Victoria terrace restaurant has been newly renovated and is lovely. During our wedding reception our guests were blown away with the setting. We were all very happy with the quality of our wedding meal. The staff serving us were helpful and attentive. Especially our bar-man later in the evening.

The Room.... First impressions.....a waft of old, must and a bathroom that you wouldn't even expect in a 2 star hotel! The bathroom stank of sewage and the décor was discoloured, and very dated. The hotel did try to solve it.....but frankly a quick spray of air freshener, just didn't do the job! Believe it or not.... the bad odour did not go away for the whole of our visit.This was particularly unpleasant when trying to get ready for my wedding in the room I found myself apologising to my bridesmaids for the awful smell!!! As soon as we were shown our room we asked to be moved due to the smell. We we shown a room of a lesser standard - smaller and poorer sea view ....of a tree! We were told to, "Hurry up and decide", if we wanted to change rooms. This isn't service that is expected from a 5 star hotel and I was appalled!

The Staff - The reception staff were cold,unwelcoming and didn't want to be bothered to assist guests. They gave short, sharp and uninterested responses to questions. When visiting the pool area, we were looking forward to sunbathing. There were a lack of sun beds set out for guests on a lovely sunny day - when we asked if 2 extra sunbeds could be put out we were told no, even though many were stacked in clear view, behind the member of staff - who was busy texting on his phone and smoking!

Facilities - The gym...what gym? it resembles a home made gym with few pieces of equipment (4 machines!) However, the 'sports massage' is to be praised.

The Bill - As we held our wedding reception here we had a large bill to pay. This was expected....however when we asked for the bill it was in Kuna rather than euros. The hotel had previously quoted prices in euros and this made checking the bill impossible, which was very annoying when paying such a large amount of money.
The bill was grouped together with VAT and TAXs added here there and everywhere. It was not itemised at all just bundled together into random amounts. We paid the bill but did not feel confident that it was correct and would warn people to try and pay as you go rather than expecting an understandable bill at the end of your stay.

This hotel is lucky to have the location and sea view, if it did not have this it really would be a hotel of horrors! I would not recommend it to anyone. My mother and father also stayed there and agree that it is a really poor hotel, how they class themselves as a top hotel I do not know. For the earlier part of our week's stay we were at The Hilton...... That is somewhere I would recommend!
Stay away from room 736!
We have read a few manager responses on here....and we'd like to use the hotel manager's words to explain our view...'when paying for a Ferrari we don't expect a clapped out old banger.'

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is almost certainly the best located hotel in Dubrovnik, only 15 minutes walk from the eastern (Ploce) gate, yet with superb sea views across to Lokrum island and on the quiet residential side of the city. It must be significant that almost every view of Dubrovnik on guide books is of the old port seen from this direction. Frana Supila street is uphill but not too steep, and though narrow and busy at times, has bollards for walkers' safety. A sea view room is essential to appreciate the location.The hotel has multiple levels down the sea level pool, and includes gardens and terraces. We were in the old building, which has great character though some facilities are perhaps a little dated, such as combined bath and shower. The staff were efficient and polite at all times. Breakfast offered very good quality and variety. We did not have evening meals at the hotel, and saw that they were expensive, especially the Victoria. A good choice for a meal nearby is Gusta Me, just outside the Ploce gate.

Room Tip: Sea view essential. Old building has character but smaller windows, most have no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest , Thank you for nice review ! Hope to welcome you very soon again in our hotel. Sincerely yours,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I can only endorse the other reviews for this hotel. Fantastic hotel, helpful staff, brilliant location and views, private pool and swimming area in the Adriatic. Wholeheartedly recommended. The only criticism I have is that breakfast was cleared away at 10.30am sharp which was incongruent with the relaxed style of holidays in Dubrovnik. Other than this, I can say that this hotel made a great holiday in Dubrovnik that much better!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTotalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful Hotel again in the future.
Best regards,
Guest Realtions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing