We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun loungers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great hotel, but with one annoying feature.Why do the pool staff allow guests to reserve beds, by placing an object on them, and then leave them unattended for 4 hours or more? On several days guests were unable to get beds, desite the fact that there were several unused beds available. Put a sign up saying that unattended beds will be made available to guests who wish tto use them, after, say, 1 hour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mr.JohnR,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write a review.
Thank you for letting us know about sun loungers, we will investige what happened and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.
We hope you will come and be our guest again!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

All that was expected of a five star hotel delivered in style. Mix up with booking which the management sorted quickly and efficiently. Would definitely return again for a special occasion. Conveniently situated to visit Dubrovnik and the cable car. Pool and sea swimming area very pleasant with plentiful loungers and good attention from staff. All in all an excellent hotel - Grand and stylish

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a18frg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear a18frg,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Went on a Thomson package in July. Very early flight so we arrived at hotel at 11.00 to be told we couldn't check-in until 14.00. We paid extra for "Superior sea-view" and the room was about the size of my last cruise-ship cabin. Room had fridge so you can remove mini-bar and fill with beer/wine. Lunch menu reasonable but attached restaurant expensive. Front desk staff very helpful. Overall good but not 5-star. Hotel is built into side of hill on south side of Old Dubrovnik. About 10 mins. walk downhill to Ploce gate. There is a useful small supermarket just before gate for cold beer!

Room Tip: MUST pay for seaview as others overlook busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanK599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear IanK599,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write such detaild review.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We cannot get over how beautiful the hotel was and what a great location, would love to go back.
It was a special occasion for us and the holiday lived up to all our hopes. Every view from the hotel is beautiful looking across to Lokrum Island, the many different boats/ships that moor in the bay and, of course, the old town of Dubrovnik itself which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel entrance. We found the service was very good and any request was attended to, cannot understand some people who seem to moan for the sake of it. The staff work incredibly hard and for long hours, but are always solicitous. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty with lots to choose from, a special touch being chilled champagne available if you should wish and we did! We ate in both the Caravelle Restaurant and the Victoria a la carte restaurant and found the food quality very good and delicious, but you can eat much cheaper in town depending on your budget. Here we found a little gem of a pizza/pasta restaurant called 'Storia' just off a little square (same street as the aquarium just round the back from the jetty) offering simple, delicious food at a very affordable price, has received a Trip Advisor Award we realised after visiting several times! Currency preferred is the Croatian Kuna, some shops will give the approximate cost in Euro for reference only, but they don't actually take it over the counter.
A trip to Lokrum Island to explore and visit the Botanical Gardens was only about £10pp return on the ferry boat (not suitable for buggies/small children or elderly as very rough terrain in places).
A visit to the old pharmacy located in the ruined monastery (other end of the Stradun approximately £2.50), to walk the city walls was approx £11pp (this is best done in a cooler part of the day as lots of climbing), starfish mini submarine trip around the bay was approx £11pp for 45 mins, ice creams are delicious and approx £1. The bathing area at the hotel was wonderful, approaching it from inside via a tunnel cut through the rock, which was very cool as we had such hot days, phew! If sunbeds were taken the staff would do their best to source one for you or even remove articles left by selfish people who had 'saved' a bed for later and then left, I'm ashamed to say that we saw this for ourselves and they were English! I could go on a lot longer, but my husband wants to use the computer so I will just say that I envy anybody who is about to go, we miss it already and only returned on Sunday.
PS - the cocktails are delicious too
PPS Konzum mini market is at the bottom of the hill just before the Ploce Gate for cheap drinks etc. as minibar expensive.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the top two floors and can be booked direct, but as we were with Thomson the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Sarah M,

Thank you for taking your time and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff food and facilities that we offer.
As you wrote that you would come back again we would be more than happy to welcome you!
Hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A great hotel in a great location. Very good location for the old city. Only a short walk downhill to the city walls. Rooms are relatively spacious and if you choose a sea view they are stunning. Excellent facilities and a lovely seaside pool with steps straight into the sea. Breakfast on the 4th floor terrace is also excellent. Very helpful concierge service who we book a car through bettering my lowest Internet quote. Not the cheapest but it is 5star. Recommended if its in your price range.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must have. Even without a balcony you get wide opening sliding doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mr. Clive1954,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just returned-28 July after spending 10 fantastic days. Dubrovnik is beautiful and totally unspoilt. The hotel benefits from having scenic views overlooking the sea where you can idle away besides the pool area that has a very clean pool and also steps leading direct into the sea which is safe to swim or dive into. The pool staff will reserve a sun bed if asked but some people did this and didn't use them until late afternoon leaving some guests searching for available beds. This is something the management really need to review. The view takes in all the yachts, cruise liners, clippers, galleons, ferry boats, pleasure trip boats and fishing boats. The hotel is extremely clean, friendly, helpful staff, good facilities. Cocktail of the day is a must. Buffet breakfast catering for all tastes- excellent selection.
The hotel is situated at the top of a relatively steep incline but is only a very short walk into the Old Town so ideally placed re location and views.
Would highly recommend but not for people with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Trees block views from the room. If you want a see view I could recommend room 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Christine T,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with all services, from staff, facilities and room. We will do investigation regarding sun beds on the beach area, thank you for letting us know about it.
We hope that you will be our guest again sometimes in the future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hotel has its own private beach and outdoor pool and the view there is simply breathtaking.
It is about 5-10 minutes walk to dubrovnik old town, fairly straight forward and easy to navigate.
Unfortunately dropped my diamond necklace in the changing room - thought that was the end of it, however the staff member who found it returned it to me! Very impressed with the service offered as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Zoe L,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing nice review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and I am glad our staff member found your neckles!
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £101 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing