We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realistic Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Realistic Honest Review”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I recently stayed in in Grand Villa Argentina for seven nights. Yes the view from the pool and the breakfast room are beautiful. This hotel is a five star Thomson,Sovereign or Jet 2 holiday hotel. Their holiday excursions and books are available in reception. This is the reason I mention this comment. The bedrooms are quite shabby and in need of refurbishment.The showers and bathrooms again require an overhaul .I listened to quite a few people complaining to reception staff regarding their rooms. On departure on Tuesday 3rd September an American lady was deeply unhappy with her room.This hotel is not the equivalent of five star establishments in many major Cities throughout Europe.I do feel travel sites should reflect on their generous ratings especially to up and coming travel destinations that are not quite on par with their many European counterparts.When you pay £340 pounds per evening you do not expect bleach stained carpets and burns in the chairs. Marian St Andrews

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Mrs. Anne G,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    413
    137
    36
    21
See reviews for
170
761
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at Grand Villa Argentina for seven nights and to date, this has to be the most superb hotel I have ever experienced.

The hotel has several levels each benefits from breathtaking views of Dubrovnik's old quarter and port. It also hosts beautiful gardens and the swimming pool area is superb.

The service was second to non. Breakfast (champagne) was gorgeous with something for everyone.

Yes it is expensive but you are paying for the location, service, views and pool area. The room was rather small but I only sleep there, so was I that bothered - no!

Suffice to say I will be returning very shortly. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are a little noisy as they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plopsidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Plopsidoodle,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you enjoyed many things, like sitting on your balcony, breakfast etc.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just spent a week here excellent location and great facilities only let down by the unfriendly welcome and 3 hour wait for our room by the front desk. This was the only negative to an otherwise relaxing stay all the the other staff housekeeping restaurant and front of house staff were very friendly which just highlighted the the unfriendly welcome we received.
Only other slight blip were the reserving of sun beds by some guests which the pool attendants did not police .

Room Tip: We were allocated a room in the new block which was extremely comfortable with just a slight obstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Mr. Martin L,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
Comments regarding front desk suprises us, but we are glad to hear that you were happy with all other aspects in the hotel!
We hope you will come back in our hotel again and we hope that we will meet your expectations.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Good value 5*. Breathtaking views from most rooms of the old town. Room was of decent size and beautifully furnished. We loved the pool / sun-lounging area with the option to swim in the sea also. Service pool side was fantastic. Breakfast was the best we had experienced in our 6 week tour of Europe - even the option of bubbly if so inclined. An easy 5 minute walk to the old town

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Mrs. Dianne M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and found the whole experience to be top class. Great room and lovely place to eat a comprehensive breakfast. Best was sea level pool and sun bed area. It would be hard to beat for location, standards and value

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 869peterw869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear 869peterw869,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

After reading some awful reviews of this hotel, we were pleasantly surprised to experience the opposite of what we had read. The hotel is 5* luxury! We were in the main hotel. Our room wasn't particularly large however it was decorated beautifully & was very clean. Toiletries in the bathroom & hairdryer. Minibar available. The beds were extremely comfortable. The maids came to the room every evening placing 2 chocolates on the bedside tables, nice touch! Loads of hotel information provided in the room. Downside was the air con was not very powerful, even on cold it wasn't cold enough.
The only complaint I have is they really need to put coffee/tea makers in the room, I took a travel kettle. For a 5* hotel this should be available in all rooms. This lets it down a little.
I can understand their fire policy about irons, I took a travel iron.
One thing I noticed that after other guests had complained on trip advisor about breakfast finishing at 10.30am, the hotel had extended breakfast till 11am. Customer comments had been listened to by the hotel.
May I say the breakfast was lovely, hot selection, meats, bread/toast/croissants, cereals, yoghurts/fruits, salads, juices, water, & coffee/tea, however one comment I wrote on the customer feedback form was it is boring eating the same every morning. Maybe the hotel could vary just the hot breakfast selection a little??
Being a huge coffee drinker in a morning, the waiters got used to bringing a coffee pot for 2! just for me. Thanks for this!
It was lovely to be able to sit & have breakfast, then walk a few yards to relax on settees overlooking the sea. Lovely place to chill out.
Nothing was too much trouble for the waiters/waitress the snacks from the bar were lovely, well presented & not too overly priced.
The Victoria Cocktail Bar is amazing, we had cocktails there in happy hour 6-8.30pm well worth it, due to the bar being quiet one night, the bar staff let us have cocktails at happy hour price well after 8.30pm!
The pool bar is lovely, serving snacks & full meals. Overlooking the pool & sea. The views are unbelievable.
I will agree though, that guests reserve the pool loungers so it is hard to grab one! I suggest the hotel makes a rule on this please as it was very annoying. Beware if the red flag flies, it means DO NOT SWIM IN THE SEA. Due to the rocks, the current can steer you into them, causing injuries.
Also generally be very careful if you have children, on the other side of the pool area, you can get into the sea there are no barriers. If the waves are high the children could be swept into the sea as the waves splash out onto the pool area. Generally this is not a children friendly hotel there are a lot of steps everywhere. It is a very quiet hotel. Our kids are adults ages 21 to 29.
We took a full day boat trip just 5 of us around the islands, had lunch on a remote island cant remember what it was called. Waded off the boat to the beach to have a drink. Swam in the sea & into the caves! Visited Lokrum on the way back, worth the visit. Boat cost around £250 for the day. Nothing included although there was a cool box available to put drinks in.
To say the hotel was full when we were there, there was never any queue for anything. The pool area was busy in the day but none of the bar areas were. At night I think everyone walked into the old town to eat as the hotel dinners were on the expensive side.
The indoor pool & hot tub were awesome, beautiful place to swim & chill out. Massages were available, book in advance as gets busy due to the massage bed in its own area overlooking the sea! Other treatments available as well.
I can highly recommend the (Food & Wine Restaurant) located just outside the old town gates to the right on the hill, they have a singer every night, the service & food is amazing, lunch for 5 cost £60.
There is also a Mexican Restaurant up the same hill, 3 of us ate dinner there for £30!
Meals on the Stradun are very expensive, go up the side streets to get a better deal, the food is still excellent. The Croatians know how to cook! We were very impressed with the quality of the steaks & fish.
We ate at Proto on the last night, exclusive fish restaurant off the Stradun. Very expensive but well worth the money, the food was wonderful!
There are a selection of fast food places as well, so you can eat on a budget.
We loved the Irish Bar Gaffe, off the Stradun it is signed. They have a wonderful musician playing a good selection of music for all tastes. The food is mediocre, but good atmosphere.
Overall we thought Croatia was a beautiful place, wonderful views, good food & very friendly people.
I would highly recommend the Grand Villa Argentina, we felt pampered after our stay & very chilled out. Thank you for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: On floor 5 some of the sea view balcony rooms overlook the breakfast terrace (everyone can see you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 144couple000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear 144couple000,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice and detailed review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you enjoyed many things, like room, breakfast, beach area..etc.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel has absolutely beautiful grounds and the location is great for walking to the old city. The staff is unfriendly at best and the rooms need real renovation.

The idea was to make this hotel our splurge after 2 weeks of island hoping around the country. We arrived early afternoon and were told that we needed to wait until "past 2pm" for our room to be ready. The first room we were brought to had a dingy view of the parking lot, several stains on the carpet, and a bottle cap on the bed. We complained and were then brought to another room, this one with excrement still in the toilet. Totally disgusting. We complained again and were then upgraded to a very nice sea view room with balcony. If we didnt end up with the sea view room, I would have been very disappointing with spending so much money to stay at this place.

On the positives, the pool area on the sea was one of the most beautiful spots and made an excellent afternoon after the hot days in the old City. The breakfast was okay, we would get there pretty early and the food would generally be cold. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with balcony are fantastic. The standard rooms are small, dirty, and provide a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear M. Jcbelec,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
Comments regarding room honestly surprise us and we are sorry that you experienced these difficulties. In the end we are glad that you got the room you wanted and were happy with it and to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#27 of 68 in Dubrovnik
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing