We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury View but sometimes spotty service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Billed as a luxury hotel and looks like one. Service can be spotty and sometimes indifferent. But the views of the Adriatic from the room are definitely "Luxurious". Breakfast on the open deck set up like a Ship gives a nice start to the day. For the hardy, I recommen a dip in the cold Adriatic conveniently marked off by the hotel after a work out in the gym. Skip the hot tub, not really hot. Some rooms can be noisy; it is an old hotel. It is conveniently located close to the city center ( ~1km) but walking back can be a climb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Adriatic side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrParticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear DrPraticle,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel.
We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Having recently spent a week at this hotel it amazes me that it retains its 5 star rating. While the location and the views from the sun terraces and sea facing rooms are stunning we had a room with a street view and all that goes along with it i.e. traffic noise. The room itself was on the small side with a lack of wardrobe space. The decor and furniture was to say the least tierd and the bathroom which was tiny was in need of a complete make over. Every time the shower was used the floor was flooded due to the sealent around the bath tub requiring to be renewed. On the whole the room was dull and shabby and the carpets could have done with being replaced. There was also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room nor was there an iron or ironing board. when we asked about this we were told that the hotel did not provide self ironing facilities but we could have clothes ironed at a cost. We complained right away and requested another room preferably with a sea view. We were told that the hotel was fully booked that night but we would be able to change rooms tomorrow and so we did not unpack. When tomorrow came we were given the same promise and again it did not happen. If it wasn't for the fact that we were with another couple we would have explored the possibility of moving hotels. We resigned ourself's to the fact that a change of room was not on so we unpacked and made the most of it. At a five star hotel you would expect the facilities to be a bit better. One evening having been out for dinner returning to the hotel at about 0030 Hrs we asked if we could have a drink to be told that the bar was closed. We then enquired about a coffee to be told that this service was not available.

Room Tip: Reqest a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zen615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Mr. Zen615,


Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
We apologize for your room dissatisfaction, we are sure if we were able to that we would upgraded you for free but as hotel was fully booked that was unfortunately impossible to do.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Upon arrival at this hotel our first impression was that it was nothing amazing but quite a nice reception area. Unfortunately the rest of the hotel was a very mixed bag. Starting with the bedrooms. Our first room was quite frankly on par with a cheap bed and breakfast room in a 2 or three star hotel.
The carpets were stained with what appeared to be bleach and the bathroom had an awful smell similar to cats urine. On top of this there was a constant rumble throught the wall which sounded like someone next door had their aircon on maximum. This sound was at its worst right where the headboard of the bed was, making it impossible to sleep. At two thirty am on the second morning after absolutely no sleep we had no other option than to see if we could change to another room. We were most annoyed with the attitude of the staff member that dealt with the problem (on the front desk), basically shaking his head as if we were being difficult and had never experienced aircon before.
We were moved to another room which was smaller but a lot cleaner, didn't smell and was possible to actually get a nights sleep in.
We then realised during the room change we had nine items of clothing missing. We asked at reception but were told that the cleaners were very trustworthy and had worked at the hotel for a very long time? Two days went by and after asking if there was any news on our clothing our clothes appeared on our bed with a couple of apples and kiwi fruit. Somehow the cleaners missed them and presumably the guests in our first room didn't report the clothing until they checked out a day or two after arriving?
This left us feeling a bit uneasy for a couple of days afterwards but other than that the breakfasts were fairly nice and the views and location were lovely. The pool area staff were very nice and one lady on reception was very apologetic about the clothing issue but we found some other front of house staff very cold and stand off ish. The hotel should consider updating some of the bedrooms as we paid around £350 pounds a night and quite frankly that is too much compared to 5 star hotels in other countries.
Chris Gloucestershire.

Room Tip: Pot luck I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Lisa, H,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
We will take into consideration your comment for updating and renovation.
Regarding the air conditioning it would help us of you could tell us which was your room number in order to check and try fix the problem.
We are glad that your clothes was found at the end, and we apogize one more time for the inconvenience.
We are glad you liked breakfast and that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope you will come back again in the future!

Best regards,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I recently stayed in in Grand Villa Argentina for seven nights. Yes the view from the pool and the breakfast room are beautiful. This hotel is a five star Thomson,Sovereign or Jet 2 holiday hotel. Their holiday excursions and books are available in reception. This is the reason I mention this comment. The bedrooms are quite shabby and in need of refurbishment.The showers and bathrooms again require an overhaul .I listened to quite a few people complaining to reception staff regarding their rooms. On departure on Tuesday 3rd September an American lady was deeply unhappy with her room.This hotel is not the equivalent of five star establishments in many major Cities throughout Europe.I do feel travel sites should reflect on their generous ratings especially to up and coming travel destinations that are not quite on par with their many European counterparts.When you pay £340 pounds per evening you do not expect bleach stained carpets and burns in the chairs. Marian St Andrews

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Anne G,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at Grand Villa Argentina for seven nights and to date, this has to be the most superb hotel I have ever experienced.

The hotel has several levels each benefits from breathtaking views of Dubrovnik's old quarter and port. It also hosts beautiful gardens and the swimming pool area is superb.

The service was second to non. Breakfast (champagne) was gorgeous with something for everyone.

Yes it is expensive but you are paying for the location, service, views and pool area. The room was rather small but I only sleep there, so was I that bothered - no!

Suffice to say I will be returning very shortly. Would HIGHLY recommend.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are a little noisy as they face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plopsidoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Plopsidoodle,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing such a nice review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you enjoyed many things, like sitting on your balcony, breakfast etc.
Thank you for reccomending our hotel and we hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just spent a week here excellent location and great facilities only let down by the unfriendly welcome and 3 hour wait for our room by the front desk. This was the only negative to an otherwise relaxing stay all the the other staff housekeeping restaurant and front of house staff were very friendly which just highlighted the the unfriendly welcome we received.
Only other slight blip were the reserving of sun beds by some guests which the pool attendants did not police .

Room Tip: We were allocated a room in the new block which was extremely comfortable with just a slight obstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Mr. Martin L,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
Comments regarding front desk suprises us, but we are glad to hear that you were happy with all other aspects in the hotel!
We hope you will come back in our hotel again and we hope that we will meet your expectations.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Good value 5*. Breathtaking views from most rooms of the old town. Room was of decent size and beautifully furnished. We loved the pool / sun-lounging area with the option to swim in the sea also. Service pool side was fantastic. Breakfast was the best we had experienced in our 6 week tour of Europe - even the option of bubbly if so inclined. An easy 5 minute walk to the old town

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Dianne M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £102 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing