We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Villa Argentina
Nearby Hotels
US$466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel More(Dubrovnik)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$758
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$723
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$562
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$524
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valamar Argosy Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neptun Hotel(Dubrovnik)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lapad(Dubrovnik)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveller rating
761
454
146
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
454
146
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria restaurantsea viewpool arealokrum islandold citypool attendantl'occitane toiletriesminute walkolder partsalt water poolbeautiful hotelstar hotelbreakfast terracethe main hotelbeach restaurantwalled citysparkling wine
Filter
Updating list...
703 - 708 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As a number of previous reviewers have stated, this hotel is a mixed bag. The location is fantastic as it is an easy 10 minute stroll to Old Town and the views from the balconies and pool deck are amazing. This has to be one of the most beautiful pool areas I have ever seen. The pool is built into the rocks with a view over the city walls. It is absolutely breathtaking, especially at night.

The public areas are also very attractively furnished, though extremely confusing. It is nearly impossible to take the elevator directly to the pool area as only one elevator goes to that level and it cannot be called separately. Also, the restaurant and bar require elevators and long walks to reach. Once you are at the pool, you need to travel up two long flights of stairs to reach the rest rooms. It appears that the hotel was built in stages and they don't properly connect.

Finally, the rooms are hit or miss. Our first room (facing the road) was very dated with a musty smell and damp spots on the carpet. The shower also leaked horribly. The hotel did move us the next night to a sea view room and it was much brighter and fresher, so it might be worth it to specifically book a seafront room.

Overall, we believed that the uniqueness of this hotel and it's location made up for the negatives but I agree with other reviewers that I wouldn't consider this a 5 ***** property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Traveler227,


Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and giving your comment!
I am glad that we were able to give you upgrade to sea view room but also, I am sorry that room you were accommodated at first did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Dubrovnik is the only place in which I have experienced the feeling of being transported back in time, five centuries.as you enter the walled town through the medieval gates, you enter a different world; the world that the citizens of this marvelous place must have lived when this port city was the economic center of the Adriatic sea. Visiting Dubrovnik is a must.
perhaps that is why we came back again, for our fourth time to this city. And every time we go back we stay at the Argentina.
Although the hotel was built many years ago, by a croatian emigré who made a small fortune in Argentina and then came back to build an hotel in his city of birth, it has been renovated by its present owners to the best standard. Service is impecable, breakfast delicious, food at the Victoria restaurant - try the black rice - delicious.
And the view is incredible. When you open the windows and look at the sea the blue color of the water will remind you of Domenico Modugno's song Volare.....the blue di pinto di blue. Get your bathing suit and walk down the tairs to one of the prettiest swimming pools we have seen in the world. Next to the sea, it fills with water brought by the waves. Plunge into the sea - it was at 24 degrees centigrade when we were there in early september - an incredible swim.
And the hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the old town.
My wife and I promised to ourselves that we will return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Matko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Mr. Matko K,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are very glad to see that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that our facilities and services met you expectations.
We are looking forward to see you again in our hotel!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Billed as a luxury hotel and looks like one. Service can be spotty and sometimes indifferent. But the views of the Adriatic from the room are definitely "Luxurious". Breakfast on the open deck set up like a Ship gives a nice start to the day. For the hardy, I recommen a dip in the cold Adriatic conveniently marked off by the hotel after a work out in the gym. Skip the hot tub, not really hot. Some rooms can be noisy; it is an old hotel. It is conveniently located close to the city center ( ~1km) but walking back can be a climb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Adriatic side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrParticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear DrPraticle,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel.
We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Having recently spent a week at this hotel it amazes me that it retains its 5 star rating. While the location and the views from the sun terraces and sea facing rooms are stunning we had a room with a street view and all that goes along with it i.e. traffic noise. The room itself was on the small side with a lack of wardrobe space. The decor and furniture was to say the least tierd and the bathroom which was tiny was in need of a complete make over. Every time the shower was used the floor was flooded due to the sealent around the bath tub requiring to be renewed. On the whole the room was dull and shabby and the carpets could have done with being replaced. There was also no tea or coffee making facilities in the room nor was there an iron or ironing board. when we asked about this we were told that the hotel did not provide self ironing facilities but we could have clothes ironed at a cost. We complained right away and requested another room preferably with a sea view. We were told that the hotel was fully booked that night but we would be able to change rooms tomorrow and so we did not unpack. When tomorrow came we were given the same promise and again it did not happen. If it wasn't for the fact that we were with another couple we would have explored the possibility of moving hotels. We resigned ourself's to the fact that a change of room was not on so we unpacked and made the most of it. At a five star hotel you would expect the facilities to be a bit better. One evening having been out for dinner returning to the hotel at about 0030 Hrs we asked if we could have a drink to be told that the bar was closed. We then enquired about a coffee to be told that this service was not available.

Room Tip: Reqest a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zen615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Mr. Zen615,


Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing review.
We apologize for your room dissatisfaction, we are sure if we were able to that we would upgraded you for free but as hotel was fully booked that was unfortunately impossible to do.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we will take all your comments into consideration.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Upon arrival at this hotel our first impression was that it was nothing amazing but quite a nice reception area. Unfortunately the rest of the hotel was a very mixed bag. Starting with the bedrooms. Our first room was quite frankly on par with a cheap bed and breakfast room in a 2 or three star hotel.
The carpets were stained with what appeared to be bleach and the bathroom had an awful smell similar to cats urine. On top of this there was a constant rumble throught the wall which sounded like someone next door had their aircon on maximum. This sound was at its worst right where the headboard of the bed was, making it impossible to sleep. At two thirty am on the second morning after absolutely no sleep we had no other option than to see if we could change to another room. We were most annoyed with the attitude of the staff member that dealt with the problem (on the front desk), basically shaking his head as if we were being difficult and had never experienced aircon before.
We were moved to another room which was smaller but a lot cleaner, didn't smell and was possible to actually get a nights sleep in.
We then realised during the room change we had nine items of clothing missing. We asked at reception but were told that the cleaners were very trustworthy and had worked at the hotel for a very long time? Two days went by and after asking if there was any news on our clothing our clothes appeared on our bed with a couple of apples and kiwi fruit. Somehow the cleaners missed them and presumably the guests in our first room didn't report the clothing until they checked out a day or two after arriving?
This left us feeling a bit uneasy for a couple of days afterwards but other than that the breakfasts were fairly nice and the views and location were lovely. The pool area staff were very nice and one lady on reception was very apologetic about the clothing issue but we found some other front of house staff very cold and stand off ish. The hotel should consider updating some of the bedrooms as we paid around £350 pounds a night and quite frankly that is too much compared to 5 star hotels in other countries.
Chris Gloucestershire.

Room Tip: Pot luck I guess.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Lisa, H,

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel!
We will take into consideration your comment for updating and renovation.
Regarding the air conditioning it would help us of you could tell us which was your room number in order to check and try fix the problem.
We are glad that your clothes was found at the end, and we apogize one more time for the inconvenience.
We are glad you liked breakfast and that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope you will come back again in the future!

Best regards,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews