We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best location in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Grand Villa Argentina in Dubrovnik. We initially booked for 3 nights, intending to go to another hotel the second half of our week in Dubrovnik. But after seeing the second hotel we agreed: the GVA has the best spot in Dubrovnik! We managed to cancel the 2nd hotel and extended our stay with Kristina at the reception (after first trying to extend with another young male member of staff who wasn't very helpful). Kristina made us feel very welcome and handled our request efficient and professional. She gave us the same room price as on the internet and we could stay in the same room.

GVA is approximately a 10 minutes walk (downhill) from the Old Town and has the best views of Dubrovnik. The room is not big, but is has everything you need (satellite tv, safe for laptop, hairdryer in the bathroom, L'Occitane toiletries). Beds were very comfortable.
We didn't have a balcony (2nd floor) but it has sliding glass door windows. There is a little fridge (which is quite full with mini-bar items, but you can easily take some out and use it for your own items). The room has A/C but we hardly used it as the evenings were cool (but still nice enough to have dinner outside).
There are bathrobes and slippers in the room - very handy when you are going to the pool.

The breakfast is very good. There is a large buffet with everything you could wish for at breakfast. Besides this, there is the possibility to order from the menu (porridge, omelet, boiled, poached or fried eggs - all free of charge). The terrace outside has the view to die for. Over the Adriatic sea and towards the Old Town - so beautiful!
Waiters are friendly and efficient.

The swimming pool is on level 0 (reception on level 6). It has good lounge beds and a towel service. The nice pool man will arrange it for you. From here you can go for a swim in the sea which is so clear, that you can see all kinds of fish. Try feeding them some bread and it is as if you are swimming in an aquarium.

On the first level there is a small gym, an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel. We preferred going into the Old town as there was always a nice buzz and lots of people. We had nice dinners at Konoba Jezuiet, Gusta me, Storia and Oliva Gourmet. Price for 2 including wine is around £50.

The hotel is close to the harbor where you can book trips to Cavtat (very quiet but beautiful village and not much to do there) or the Elaphite islands. We took the ferry from the port in Gruz to Lopud (38 kuna per person return). Bus 8 which stops in front of the hotel takes you straight to the port in about 15 minutes. Very easy and cheap to book other trips to islands here (like Mljet).
Other things to do: glass bottom boat, kayaking, semi-submarine, etc.

There is a beach close to the hotel with rocks and shingle/sand with beach bar Eastwest.
Also a bakery and small grocery store just before the entrance to the Old town.

We took the shuttle bus from the cable car station back to the airport (20 minutes) for 35 kuna each. Ask reception for departure times.

We can't fault this hotel and will definitely return to Grand Villa Argentina!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank justagirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Justagirl12345,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
As you wrote that you would come back again we would be more than happy to welcome you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    422
    141
    37
    21
See reviews for
178
776
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Deluxe room on top floor is the way to go ! Great room, great views. Close to Dubrovnik old walled city. Food excellent, and varied choice. Drinks a tad expensive but probably in keeping with 5 star establishments.

Room Tip: Floor 7 with sea view (701)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityboyNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr. CityboyNewport,

Thank you for taking your time and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that you spent nice holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our staff and services offered.
As you wrote that you would come back again we would be more than happy to welcome you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just returned from the Grand Villa Argentina and quite frankly it is living on its location which is probably the best in Dubrovnik. Everything else falls far short for a very expensive luxury hotel. I was travelling with my elderly mother and we arrived mid morning so the room was not ready. That was to be expected and we were told to come back at 2pm. No drink was offered nor were we told where the bar was. I enquired and the receptionist suggested we go into town and the bus stop was outside. Hardly a warm welcome!! We walked into town (and contrary to some reviews it really is an easy walk) and on return were then shown our sea view room. The room view was fantastic but the room itself was just ok. The balcony furniture was IKEA standard, there was a lack of hangers for clothes and there was no tea and coffee making facilities. The curtain was hanging off the runner and stayed like that for a week. We found the tie backs for the curtains behind a chair on our last night. I had a drink from the mini bar and the glass was never replaced with a clean one. On our first morning the bed day cover and cushions were put onto a chairs and never put back on the bed. I don't think the bathroom was cleaned all week, and if you were in the room when the turn back service arrived in the evening the chocolate was merely handed to you and that was that. I always leave a tip for the maid service but not this time!!! There was no service.
The weather was good so we decided to make use of the beach facilities. The lift was out of order more often than it was working, the beach bar was shut and the toilets were locked. We asked for a sun shade and were told they had been put away for the winter. The area was extremely dirty and wasn't swept at all. The safe bathing area ropes had also been put away for the winter so if you wanted to swim in the sea.you took your life in your hand with the many passing boats. The pool man was lovely, the nicest and friendliest member of staff in the hotel. He was very apologetic about the lack of facilities open.
We decided to bring our concerns to the management only to be met by the most rude and arrogant man I have ever met. We were made to feel like we were just a nuisance and were fobbed with excuses. The same manager was at reception the next day and he totally blanked us and we were made to feel really uncomfortable.
We ate in the hotel a couple of times and the food was good and the waiting staff were friendly and efficient. I would have liked to sat in the piano bar and listened to the pianist but he had probably been laid off for the winter as there was never a note struck throughout our stay, just the TV blaring out every night. That was the sum total of the entertainment.
I hate to leave such a negative review but this hotel is badly run and does not live up to its rating. I thought Dubrovnik was lovely and may well return one day...but not to this hotel

Room Tip: Sea view on 7th floor. Don't get lumbered with 701 (which was next to ours). It has a palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel.
Comments regarding room honestly surprise me and moreover ones regarding cleanliness of the room. We are very sorry that you experienced these difficulties.
Thank you for all other comments which we will take into consideration.
In the end we hope to see you in our hotel in the future so that way we can make your stay better.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel very nice ,staff ok.but room i was allocated was at front and subject to noise 24 hours a day,had to upgrade at high cost to enable me to get a reasonable nights sleep.Also in the restaurant,as half board menu choice very poor,just one meat course and one fish course.Location to the old town very good except the walk back uphill

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr. Edward m,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write a review.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration. One more time, we apologize for noise probloems you had during your stay.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with nice rooms and places around the hotel to relax.

The room was very comfortable. We enjoyed using the outside deck area and the bar service was very good.

We didn’t really use the bar in the reception area as it’s brightly lit. The main restaurant suffers from the same problem in my opinion.

We did have to change rooms after getting to the hotel as our bathroom was quite damp smelling. The second room was not as bad and we discovered that by leaving the window open in the bathroom it was fine. This is maybe something the hotel could look at as is not an ideal welcome. I did find the lack of a manager to speak to on this both in the evening and in the morning a little frustration. Nobody followed up on this either which is a bit disappointing for a five star hotel.

This aside we did enjoy our stay at the hotel. The staff at breakfast and in the bar downstairs made it a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr. GaryE71,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing nice review about our hotel.
We are glad that you liked ambience.
We hope that you will stay with us again

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent a long time researching the different hotels of Dubrovnik for our several day holiday. We wanted to get a place within walking distance of the old city, but also that had a nice perch on the Adriatic. This hotel delivers on both of those accounts, however it is pricey. There is a group of luxury hotels in Dubrovnik called "Adriatic Luxury Hotels" of which the Grand Villa is a member, and I think there is a bit of price fixing that happens amongst these nicer hotels. They call themselves "5 stars," but although location is amazing, the service and the rooms aren't quite perfection. I do believe that it is the best beach club on the cliffs of the Adriatic. Watching the sunset over the old city from the hotel bar is amazing. My favorite part of the hotel was the pool/cliffs area. In order to get to the pool, you take the elevator down, and walk through the most amazing natural rock-walled tunnel. There are plenty of chairs with a front seat view of the Adriatic, but get there early if you want one of the more secluded chairs. The snorkeling is just "okay." Jumping off the cliffs into the sparkling water is priceless, but the snorkeling is just okay. You're more likely to see old deck chairs that have been thrown into the sea than a wide variety of fish. From the hotel pool area you can see most of the other hotels that are also on the coast. It would appear that the Hotel Excelsior is a bit closer to town, but their waterfront is not nearly as dramatic (and doesn't have the cliffs of the Argentina). In the distance, we could see Villa Dubrovnik as well, which also looked like it had a smaller waterfront area, although both of those hotels appeared to have porches for the rooms, which I don't think that the Argentina has. The rooms are really a bit dated in Villa Argentina and our room which was "city side" was staring directly at another building, but we spent very little time in the room, but that's why I would say calling it "5 stars" is a stretch. On the positive, the bath products, L'Occitane, were very nice, and we really enjoyed the breakfast that was included. It was a huge spread, with sparkling wine included. One final note, I was a bit disappointed by the service given their "5 star rating." One of our bags didn't make the connection to Dubrovnik, and we were told at the airport that they would deliver it to our hotel when they located it. We asked the front desk to call the airlines to check on it for us later to see if they had located it. When they called (I'm sure this happens a lot, as the hotel had them on speed-dial), the airline asked the hotel to call later as they were busy. The front desk said they would do this, and would let us know when we might expect our bag. We went out into the old city for the day, and when we returned and inquired at the front desk, they had already changed shift, but there was no message for us if our bag had been found or not. The next day we slept in, and went down to the front desk to inquire again, and our bag had arrived. They had not delivered it to our room because we had the "Do not disturb sign" on, which I don't fault them for, but I wish they had been able to let us know about its whereabouts sooner, since they had promised to call back to the airlines. However, overall, a fantastic location on the cliffs does make up for some minor flaws in this pricey Dubrovnik hotel and I would recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: "city view" is pretty terrible, but don't expect to spend much time in the rooms, so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Travelrabbit2003,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina for your vacation and for taking time to write such detailed review.
Thank you for dividing and writing all things you liked and disliked, we will take all of them into consideration.
We hope you will come and be our guest again and enjoy even more next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Definitely the right side of town, just a short walk from the east entrance to the walled city, although the uphill walk back to the hotel when tired and on a full stomach with good Croatian wine is a bit much, Excellent facilities and the view from our top,7th, floor room over the Adriatic, the old harbor and the walled city was breathtaking. Attentive staff, good recommendations for restaurants in the Old City and a day trip around Kotor Bay in Montenegro, good valet parking facilities, but somewhat ho-hum buffet breakfasts given the star rating of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Avidtraveller24,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,020 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing