We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with brilliant views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with brilliant views”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Enjoyed a week in this hotel. Very comfortable. Lovely terrace for breakfast overlooking the old town. Wonderful view to start the day. Great breakfast. It's also a restaurant in the evening, but we didn't try it. Lovely swimming pool area at sea level. You can also swim in the sea straight from here (warmer than the pool when we were there, as warmed by the sun all week). 10 minutes walk to the old town - but uphill coming back, so a bit tiring in the afternoon sun. Easier in the evening.
Our room was nicely furnished and had a very comfortable big bed. Slept very well. The only thing was that the room was a bit dark. I would recommend paying the extra for a sea view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burgess91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Burgess91,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our facilites and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regads,
Matea Brnin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    422
    141
    37
    21
See reviews for
178
776
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just had 3 night stay after week long island hopping trip {which was awesome}. Hotel is fabulous, definitely 5 star. Clean,fresh, one of the best breakfast spreads we`ve ever seen. Outside pool by the sea with amazing views of Lokrum and the old town. Lovely indoor pool and spa for the day it rained.
We stayed in room 510 -sea view with balcony.Def worth the extra money. Good choice of bars and restaurants.Beer not too pricey! Ten minutes walk downhill into Old City, 80 Kuna taxi back if feeling lazy/stuffed.
Dubrovnik is amazing, great atmosphere, fabulous place to sit with a bottle of wine and watch the world go by. Would definiteley return, and wouldn`t think of staying anywhere else

Room Tip: Higher the better, with balcony on level 5 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCB987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear CCB987,

I would like to thank you for staying at our Hotel during your recent visit to Dubrovnik and also for writing a positive review of our hotel. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our facilites and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel not really 5 star but very pleasant for an early week in the sun. We were in the block across the road. Only problem was the bed which was two singles pushed together and I always seemed to end up falling down the crack! Swimming area really lovely gorgeous views of the old city and helpful couple of friendly blokes who were happy to help with beds and brollies. The old city is only a 10minute walk down the hill and there are plenty bars and restaurants to keep you amused for a week. Best meal was at Gils Bistro just off the Main Street - however it was the most pricy by far. Also good was Azur though it takes abit of finding. There were a couple Irish bars one of which was happy to put the cricket on for the evening which we thought was great in Croatia! City itself is absolutely stunning and has a great vibe at night. Do the city walls at night - the last entry is at 7.30 as its less busy and you can work up a thirst and then go for a beer.

Room Tip: In the rooms over the road the room we had 808 was the biggest on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Gill F,
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. We sincerely hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful week at the Grand Villa Argentina for my sister’s wedding. We stayed B&B (so many lovely restaurants to experience in and out of the old town), the breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice and the staff couldn’t do enough for you, very polite. The views from the breakfast area are simply picture perfect.

Our room was on the 1st floor, large and just as lovely bathroom. Again the view over to Lokrum Island was breathtaking! I would strongly suggest to anyone staying to pay for a sea view!

The hotel is very clean and kept to a high standard. I genuinely cannot complain about anything at this hotel. The pool area is lovely (again idyllic views) and the pool staff are wonderful, so polite and helpful. You do not have to reserve sun beds (we certainly didn’t at the start of June).

This hotel is perfectly positioned, only a 10 min walk to the Old Town etc. Highly recommend...especially for a wedding/wedding reception!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Rebecca S,
I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay. We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel was fine. I was on 4th floor and had a nice sea view. My daughters were on the 2nd floor with a wedding one night during which they got no sleep due to very loud band playing until very late in the night.
Air conditioning is not up to American standards so be warned in the hot summer months.
Don't order wine and cheese on the patio. $200 for a bottle and 4 glasses plus a plate of cheese slices. Food at the beach was good and reasonable.
Overall, this is a nice hotel and reasonably comfortable.

Room Tip: You enter on the 5th floor and the rooms go down instead of up. I highly recommend a room no lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBHAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear PBHAlabama,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay in our hotel and we are glad to see that you liked our location. We apologize about noise in the hotel during your stay.
We truly hope that you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What a special place this is! The location is stunning and the staff so attentive to every detail. We had been looking forward to our stay here for some time, and had read many reviews, but nothing came near to actually staying there and experiencing it! Words and pictures are just not sufficient to describe what a beautiful place this really is. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We started off in room 728 but found it a bit dark, despite the fact it was high up with a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroljanefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mrs. CaroljaneFall,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff, facilities and location.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a night during our annual vacation--our biggest regret was that we didn't stay longer (we spent most of our time on Lopud island, which was also idyllic, but the Villa Argentina surpassed it all) From the pool right on the edge of the Adriatic Sea to jumping from our lounge chairs right into the perfect ocean water to the excellent staff and perfect setting/delicious food, this is the place to stay. And don't even get me started on the spa!! My friend and I both had facials that were to die for.

The location was also great; just a short walk to the old city.

The only caution I'd give is to make sure you as for a renovated room so you don't have to stay in the older part of the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Beachgirl428,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad that your holiday in our hotel was magical and that you were satisfied with your room anf facilities.
We hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,025 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing