We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Dubrovnik...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Dubrovnik...”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in GVA in June 2014 for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it! The most amazing thing was its actual location and how it is situated over the most beautiful sea we have ever swam in and overlooking the island of Lokrum. It is a 10 minute (in high heels) walk to Dubrovnik old town, passing hotel excelsior and Banje beach.

The service in hotel: Front of house reception team were just soooo lovely, couldn't do enough for you. Anything you wanted, they would get it for you. Always smiling and welcoming! The maids were also delightful, and very efficient at cleaning and tidying your room daily. We loved the chocolates on our pillow at turn-down, Infact after we had walked back from dubrovnik (there is a slight incline to the path) we felt we deserved the chocolate from all the exercise ;-)

The room: The hotel is of a very high standard, therefore I can only imagine all of the rooms to be highly taken care of. We loved ours, it was perfect for us. From the toiletries to the incredibly comfortable bed, everything was great.

The breakfast: Well, it is definitely true what they say about breakfast here; pretty much everything is available! There is a very large fresh buffet selection with pastrys, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt, continental breakfast, full English breakfast... Sea food, cereals, compotes and all fresh juices... Lots of champagne which was a real treat! They also had a small menu, which they did the most gorgeous porridge and poached eggs on toast.

The beach: Peaceful and serene. You wouldn't imagine the bustling old town was just around the corner!! Very comfy sun loungers, towels are supplied, you can get a spot anywhere you like! The beach bar was fab and the waiters would bring all your refreshments to your spot... Try the iced coffee... Seriously the best we have ever had !!

Although we certainly paid a lot for this hotel, we did get the quality and were treated very well :-) we love this place and are even looking to return to this hotel or one of the ALH hotels in July next year when we get married out there! Xxxx

Room Tip: Higher floors are more peaceful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaymarieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear KaymarieBristol,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of hotel Grand Villa Argentina in Dubrovnik. It is a great pleasure for the personnel of hotel Grand Villa Argentina to read that you found their service friendly and helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay.
Compliments for a job well done are the best reward for our personnel’s hard work in trying to keep every guest feel special.
We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection. This review will certainly encourage us not only to keep up the good work, but keep striving for the better, as well.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    413
    137
    36
    21
See reviews for
170
761
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently visited dubrovnik before a 10 day cruise if the Adriatic coast. We stayed at villa Argentina . Had the best view of old town dubrovnik and wonderful sunsets. The hotel was perfect location and the pool and walkway were landscaped into the rocks and fell into the sea.
The food was excellent with full breakfasts to hold you for the day.
Superb fresh fish for dinner! We had room with view of the sea and the staff went out of their way to make everything perfect. A must see town on the Adriatic coast.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear merlot25,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed our facilites and that you had a pleasant stay. We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rooms were across the street in the "annex". Climb about 30 stairs, then 4 floors up. A lift would have been nice but the rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast across the street was good with great views of old town and Lorcum island. Staff member Robert was so helpful trying to locate lost luggage by Air France. We were leaving for a 10 day kayaking/hiking trip and 4 members of our group of 7 had lost luggage. Robert went out of his way calling the somewhat responsive airport over a 2 days...and he was partially successful! It would have been a lot worse if it had not been for his efforts. Many thanks from all of us.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex across the street are not accessible by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved this hotel, which has an authentic and historic feel while being clean and modernized. Our group of 6 especially enjoyed the rocky sunbathing area by the outdoor saltwater pool. Jumping into the sea and basking in the gentle waves was a special treat. The location is far enough from the old town to be a peaceful retreat yet close enough to easily walk in for dinner, shopping or other activities. Our 3 rooms were a bit small, and faced the road, but we didn't spend much time in our rooms. Toiletries were very good quality, breakfast was delicious and plentiful, views gorgeous from common areas. Pool staff were very helpful; it was not easy to get needed help from some of the reception staff (other than restaurant recommendations.) We would happily stay here again, as it was overall a lovely and relaxing experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LYehia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear LYehia.

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our pool staff helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay. We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights here wanting the chance to relax with some sight seeing mixed in. Didn't get off to the best start as the guy on reception was really miserable and unhelpful. Apart from that my family had 2 lovely rooms with a sea view. The only blemish was our room had a smell from the drains in the bathroom. When we reported it we were told it was due to the direction of the wind (never heard that one before).
Lots of choice for breakfast and good quality. Eat out in the evening so couldn't comment on evening meals.
The distance in to town is an easy 10 minute walk down hill, which is a real bonus as most hotels are a bus journey.
Overall lovely hotel with beautiful views and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2011 and enjoyed it so much we thought we'd break our no hotel/location twice rule so visited again in July 2014. The location is excellent being just a short walk into the old town, and it was so nice to get away from the crowds as Dubrovnik was even busier than last time. This hotel has lots of lovely well-lit communal areas with comfy seating, which was great for those rainy or overcast mornings and evenings. We sunbathed every day. Although we did have a few rainy mornings where the sea was so rough it covered the pool/sundeck area, the pool guys were great and just brought the beds to wherever you wanted them. Also, special mention for the beach bar manager. He was so friendly and accommodating of my frequent requests for iced tap water. There was plenty of choice for breakfast but no strawberries or scrummy chocolate cake this time, and you had to be quick to get the bananas before people pinched them for their lunch!
We found our room large enough, the toiletries were good and we loved our evening chocolates from housekeeping. My only slight gripe was that we found the bed quite uncomfortable. It was better when we changed the pillows for the ones at the top of the wardrobe but a softer bed would have been nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylooWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear loobylooWokingham,

I would like to thank you for staying again at Hotel Grand Villa Argentina during your recent visit to Dubrovnik and also for writnig a positive review of our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Only had a few days at the hotel but I am happy I stayed there. On the top of terraced gardens leading down to the sea the hotel offered a lovely relaxed place to sit and unwind. The water was too cold in April but the sea was crystal clear and I can only imagine irresistible in summer.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing