We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated, although best if in main building.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfectly situated, although best if in main building.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for three nights as part of a touring holiday in Croatia.

This hotel is in a great location a few minutes walk from the old town, and therefore has great views of the old town and the sea. It's an 'upside down' hotel.... you take the lift down from reception to access other parts of the hotel, which is effectively built down the cliff face. The lowest level takes you down to sea level and the hotel's own sunbathing and pool area with direct access to the sea.

The location - overlooking the bay and the old town - and the facilities in the hotel are excellent. The restaurants have great views and the food was very good and made better by eating it on the outdoor terrace in the warm evening air. The restaurant staff in particular were friendly and helpful. All public areas were of a high standard.

One slight drawback of the design is that you do end up taking lifts regularly... not a major problem although one of them is very small and therefore cramped when more than two or three are in it.

There is a separate villa (Glavic) on the opposite side of the road from the main hotel which is an annex where we stayed. It's the room that stops me from giving the hotel a '5' rating. The rooms here were quite dark as our windows looked directly out onto the surrounding cliffs/buildings. This was true for both our room on the first floor and our daughter's which was on the ground floor. The décor was also slightly dated and the 'hemmed in' feeling was exacerbated by a lot of furniture in relatively small rooms. The shower was small and above the bath, which I find awkward to use, and the temperature seemed to vary a bit. The towels were very thin - one of my particular bugbears.

However the main hotel was superb and I would recommend staying here if visiting Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temple1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Temple1960,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel Grand Villa Argentina. It is a great pleasure to read that you found our restaurant staff friendly and helpful, which, along with the comfortable facilities you enjoyed, contributed to the pleasantness of your stay.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Matea Brnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    405
    132
    35
    20
See reviews for
163
744
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second visit to GVA and we will return. The location is perfect, easy walking distance to the old town with fabulous views over Lokrum island and of the old city itself, particularly from the outdoor pool, beach bar, restaurant and cocktail bar. Two years ago we had a room with balcony which overlooked the sea but also the restaurant. This time we just opted for the sea view and we were delighted to have a top floor room, admittedly slightly smaller than in the new part of the hotel, in the original, old Villa Argentina, full of character with an arched french window and stunning uninterrupted views over the gardens and the bay. We had peace, quiet and total privacy in this room and slept well for all 10 nights of our stay. The service in the hotel in inconsistent and varies according to individual staff member. Some were smiling, warm and exceptionally helpful, for example the barman in the cocktail bar each evening and the exuberant, be-curled leader of the beach platform team who always went that extra mile, including rescuing a couple of canoeists out in the bay! Others gave the impression that their life would be much easier if they did not have guests, finding it hard to smile and having to be dragged to the table to take drink orders. The breakfast was always superb with fresh poached eggs prepared to order, fizz every day, lots of fruit and an amazing choice of hot and cold dishes to suit every palate. We enjoyed fabulous live music in the bars most evenings and generous supplies of thick towels and robes and Occitane toiletries in the bathrooms and the pool areas. The hotel is spotlessly clean and we were provided with whatever we requested ...sometimes it would be good in this standard of hotel to have needs pre-empted more often. A lovely touch, however, was when we returned to our room on my partner's birthday to find a complimentary cake and candles from the hotel manager. So lots to recommend, there is just a need for consistency across the board.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is old but well furnished and charming. The rooms are large enough, and the seaview was fantastic. The private beach had good space, good service, and with easy access to both sea and pool. The breakfast was very good. For excursions it is recommended to use the staff in the reception area, good service, well qualified and not more expensive than the simpler agencies in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reverence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and beautiful view from the balcony. Location, near the old city and beaches, is excellent. The restaurant is spacious with good food and a panoramic view over the bay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dupisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is incredible - the best breakfast ever in a hotel, amazing restaurants, views, bars and service. The set menu in the main restaurant is amazing value (240 kuna for three large courses ) and the fine dining restaurant is also really good value. The private area next to the sea is wonderful too. Cant recommend enough. The old town is a 10 minute walk max. Perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lantalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely couple of days spent at this hotel, great location, 10 minute (hilly walk) to Old Town but away from the bustle. Hotel staff kindly upgraded our room to a suite which was lovely and had lovely views of the Old Town. Breakfast was great, we didn't eat at the hotel apart from that. The pool area is lovely although the pool attendants weren't particularly attentive, didn't matter though as they happily jumped up to get cold drinks when asked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is situated with only 10 minutes walk to the old town of Dubrovnik. A fantastic view from the hotel and restauarants towards the sea and the old city.
Very good breakfast, nice rooms and a top service from the staff. Easy with car parking just acros the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPKTONSBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#32 of 67 in Dubrovnik
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing