We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great times in a great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Villa Argentina
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great times in a great hotel!”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Hello,

I´ve spent a great time at Hotel Argentina, all the staff went beyond my expectations.
The locations is great, very reserved with worderful views of the old town and Adriatic from the room balcony and restaurant terrace.
Their Mimosa is extremely good.... try it while enjoying the view during the dusk.

Estevam.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MineiroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    394
    129
    34
    20
See reviews for
161
721
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Grand Villa Argentina this August and were delighted with our discovery. The location is incredible, and the service is a cut above. It was a 5-star experience without a glint of stuffiness. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

In Villa Argentina, Dubrovnik. Just excellent location and property. Awesome view, very close to old town and cultural sites. Staff anticipating your needs, very friendly, pro-actice management makes you feel welcome, relax and home. Great place to be!
Michael

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankfurtMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I have traveled around the world and stayed in 5 star hotels, in Amsterdam, China, Puerto Rico, Spain, Greece, but in the Grand Villa Argentina the staff had a relaxed competence and personal touch that made our stay unforgettable. The hotel manager was always willing to pick up bags and help us in any way possible. The customer service manager went out of her way to get us a room with sea view. During the exquisite breakfast, the staff attend to every detail. The location was perfect, a breath taking view of the old town and only few minutes walking distance. What can I say, I did not want to leave.
Dr. GT, New York City.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We got a little surprised when we arrived at the hotel. We had booked a room with a sea view, we got a room at the first floor and when I opened the courtains I could only see trees covering the whole view. We did not even get any light in the room. After the first excuses saying that the hotel was complete I mentioned that I would not definitely pay the sea view for that room and all of a sudden they found another room with a nice view.

The hotel is very well located only 10 minutes walk from the old city. I loved to have breakfast at the terrace with an incredibly nice view of Dubrovnik. But I think the hotel advantages stop there. The first night we went for dinner to the hotel restaurant. We are not too picky for restaurants we we almost did not touch the 100 EUR/person dinner (and we were hungry).

The rooms are decorated like in many two stars hotels (pensions ?) around the mediterraneum, but the price was still as in one five stars hotel.

I do not know if there are better choices for hotels in Dubrovnik. We didn't find it trough Internet. And this is the sad thing about this wonderful city. It will still need some years until they reach the service and confort for the tourist, that you find in the other mediterrenean countries.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed in the Hotel Argentina for 10 days in August. The location is fabulous: fantastic views of the sea, islands and Dubrovnik, tree lined terraces, rocky shoreline. If only the management could move beyond its 3 star mentality it would be a great destination. The director [Mario Matkovic] and Guest Relations Manager [Lindita Zecevic] need to stop communicating with guests via memos and get out and talk to them. Maybe then they'd pick up the many small details that are being missed and make this a 5 star hotel. A trip to Asia would give them an idea how it should be done. Examples: guests should not have to find waiters to get poolside service, dirty glasses in rooms should be removed the same day, there should be enough sun loungers for all guests [yes, we know it's August - we're paying the premium!], beer cans should not be left on the floor in public places, gardners should be told not to use equipment next to breakfast terrace while guests are having breakfast etc etc. All these things may sound picky, but 5 star hotels manage to do them.
Apart from the beach [actually terrace] restaurant, avoid eating in the hotel. We were disappointed by the quality of the cooking in the Victoria restaurant although the service was good. Breakfast is mediocre. The spa worked well for us and we enjoyed the treatments and service.
The sea water pool is OK but is not filtered and becomes a bit soupy by the end of the day. You have to hope that little boys ask their mothers to take them to the toilet! The sea by contrast is fabulous: clean , clear and chilly. Great to dive in from the rocks [there's no beach]
The guests were an interesting, cosmopolitan crowd and generally friendly. There were few small children and that was probably for the best. The pool area is too crowded to run around and there's quite a drop to the sea
Does this mean that we wouldn't recommend Hotel Argentina? Funnily enough, no. We may even go back ourselves, having first written to Mario to tell him to deliver on his 5 star promise. If you're thinking of going, maybe you should do the same.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FootlooseBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matkov, Hotel Manager at Grand Villa Argentina, responded to this review, 11 August 2009
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you on your comments you have posted on this site.
We agree with you that it would be nice to meet guests and discuss their feeling in hotel which we do on a daily basic. This is the reason why Lindita and myslef send a memo to each guest. We want that our guest know who to contact in hotel and who we are.

Please have in mind that it is sometimes hard to meet all guest but whenever called we are there for you. I am very sorry that you have not contact us or left us a message to meet with you while you were staying with us.

While our team members here at the Grand Villa Argentina are trained and motivated to extend every courtesy and service, I do recognize that occasionally we may not have exceeded your expectations. Therefore I would like for you to accept my sincere apologize. It is our concern to make your visit in our hotel enjoyable as possible, from the first contact till the end of stay.

We hope we shall meet next time you stay with us.

Best regards

Mario Matkovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MV
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Staying at the GVA was the highlight of our trip to Croatia. The hotel was beautiful but the real highlight is the location and magical views. Our room overlooked the sea and upon sticking my head out of the window I was greeted with the postcard view of the old town. The room was clean and most importantly quiet. The pool area is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korculani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Villa Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Villa Argentina

Property: Grand Villa Argentina
Address: Frana Supila 14, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Villa Argentina 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Villa Argentina is Dubrovnik’s traditional luxury address, combining exclusivity and attention to detail with spectacular views of the sea, backdropped by pine tree-clad mountains. This five-star hotel in Dubrovnik has a regal, old-world charm. Just minutes from the Old Town, it has been an exclusive enclave in the city for nearly 60 years. Sitting on a steep cliffside, leading down to the sea, the views of the Adriatic stretch from the island of Lokrum round to the old harbour of Dubrovnik. As soon as you walk into the hotel reception, the incredible scenery stops you in your tracks. Lush gardens, with stone fences and secluded corners in which to sit, are filled with lemon, wild orange, rosemary, lavender and bay leaf plants – the flavours of a Mediterranean kitchen. Whether you’re sunbathing on the private beach, with its seaside pool, dining on the restaurant terraces or quietly reading your book in the gardens, spectacular scenery follows you wherever you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Villa Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Villa Argentina Hotel Dubrovnik
Grand Hotel Argentina
Grand Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Argentina Dubrovnik
Villa Argentina Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing