We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 16 March 2013

One of the most interest hotel I ever been. Very clean with fabulous view, great food, perfect and very kind people. Although it is big hotel you feel like home. It is close to the historical center and the old town. Always available to serve you and not so expensive as it could be.

Room Tip: Sea view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for sending your valuable review on Valamar club Dubrovnik hotel, and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are very happy to read your positive impressions from your holiday in Dubrovnik.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

Valamar is quite an old hotel. We picked a basic room so didn't expect much from it. Room was quite old-fashioned but bathroom was new, and all was clean and provided everything we needed. Hotel is on the beautiful Babin Kuk peninsular. The pool is stunning, was a little cold but peaceful and fantastic views. We never struggled to get a sunbed. The beach by the hotel is quite small - we preferred to walk on the path round the stunning peninsular to Lapad beach, about 30mins walk away but worth it for the views. Hotel has an entertainment team who provide activities by the pool in the day and a show at night. Not really our cup of tea but still good fun. Only negative for us really was the dining experience. Food was good and varied - lots of choice from freshly-made pizzas, to freshly grilled fish but overall it was very busy and hectic. The hotel is frequented by lots of older groups and the seating in the dining room is aimed towards these groups. We struggled to find a table just for two and often had to queue for food or for the drinks (there is only one machine). But overall, the all inclusive light deal is good value for money and the hotel is in such a beautiful area with a great pool, so we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonAsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our on-going task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.
Regarding the rooms, I am glad to inform you about the investment which is being done for season 2013. Investment refers to new balconies, new balcony doors and new TVs for all rooms.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit when you will enjoy your stay even more, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We have been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik during August 2012. We spent a nice holiday, but we have been a little bit disappointed about the the way the hotel building looked and especially about the rooms. The room was small, with a strange shape, thin walls, not very nice decorated. Part of the facilities were old, we had no carpet on the floor (but, as far as I remenmber, I sow that other rooms had); only the bathroom was small really ok.
The good point of this hotel is the position, the animation team with really nice shows in the evenings (I think the best shows that I ever seen in summer hotels) and special activities for the children. It was obvoius that they really worked hard to prepare them.
We have been to Valamar Club

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InVacanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels & Resort and me personally, I would like to thank you for staying in our hotel. It is pleasure to read your nice comments about our Animation team. They are young talented team who truly highlight our hotel. Also, allow me to inform you about room investments which are being done for season 2013. Rooms will be bigger, with new windows, new balconies and new TVs.
We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Dubrovnik, when you,for sure, will fully enjoy the entire service of hotel Valamar club Dubrovnik. In the meantime, please, receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you're after a family friendly hotel in Dubrovnik with all-inclusive, you can't go past this one. The food isn't spectacular but there is more than enough of it, plenty of wine and beer at dinner, and the breakfast buffet is nearly as big as the dinner buffet.
The pool is large, clean and there are plenty of sunloungers - not much shade, but oh well! If you feel like the beach, walk 100m to the Copacabana beach - concrete and pebbles, crystal clear, no waves, roped off from boats, with it's own kiosk serving lush hamburgers and drinks, plus a waterplayground for bigger kids.
At night there are entertaining free shows such as Grease the musical, Michael Jackson tribute etc - well worth watching, they are hilarious and very talented, and it's all in English - although most tourists are Russian or German.
Rooms are average but definitely adequate, and the bar upstairs does brilliant cocktails. 10mins by taxi or 20mins by bus into Dubrovnik old town, it's a perfect location "just out of the way" for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transcontinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf Valamar Hotels and Resorts and me personally, I would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read your nice review on Tripadvisor. Also, it is my great privilege to inform you that hotel is being renovated at the moment, which will for sure upgrade guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit. In meantime, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at the Valamar Club in Mid-October, and enjoyed a pretty decent holiday at this "new build-style" (but actually slightly tired) 3-star hotel, which is situated in Babin Kuk in amongst a large estate of 3 or 4 other Valamar hotels (including the higher-rated Lacroma and President, whose facilities guests are apparently allowed to use although this doesn't seem to be widely advertised).

The hotel is about an hour or so from the airport, so the transfers are fairly pain-free (although it is a little further than Dubrovnik's old town). The location itself is reasonable - although it's a bus ride (or very long walk) into the old town, the hotel is situated near a reasonable (at least by Dubrovnik's limited standards) pebble beach ("Copacabana"), a short walk (up a steep hill, admittedly) to the bus stop (15 mins or so to the Pile gate of the old town), and with a small shopping precinct (with some bars and travel agency outlets) nearby. The reception staff are generally helpful and speak good English, and you can buy bus tickets from the small shop in the hotel (definitely recommend this as the price is lower than buying on the bus).

We had a room at the front of the hotel (it's planned and laid out bizarrely badly - the shape of the hotel would allow nearly every room to have a sea view, yet because the main corridor is situated on the sea side of the hotel, about half the rooms on each floor face out into the car park). The room itself was perfunctory, but fine for a 3-star, although the bath was exceptionally small (really only for midgets!) and quite deep, meaning that if you used the shower it was a BIG step to get out. I would say, however, that the room was kept extremely clean by housekeeping throughout our stay.

The main issue with our room was noisiness. Like a lot of inexpensive hotels built 20+ years ago for package holiday business, it feels a bit like it's been built very much "on the cheap". Thin walls, thinly glazed patio doors. You'll hear people talking (not even shouting) outside, and if, like us, you had the misfortune to be in a room next door to a noisily amorous couple, expect to be kept awake by moaning, squelching and bed thumping for half the night. This was, I think, especially bad due to having a (locked) adjoining door to the next room - try to get a room without this if you can.

We didn't use the facilities in other hotels (I was keen to have a go in one of the gyms) but we did use the pool (which was pretty good & large for a 3-star hotel, if a little chilly in October), poolside area (not the prettiest but again, pretty good, and open, so it catches the sun most of the day), table tennis tables, indoor and outdoor bar (again, both pretty good and average prices for Dubrovnik).

Food was up-and-down. Our first night experience was pretty horrific - a virtual fight for tables as a number of package trips descended all at the same time, we ended up sitting at a grubby table and having a pretty noisy, unpleasant dinner. The experience generally improved through the week, though.

Good mealtime tips - the smaller dining room (turn left as you descend the stairs) and the outside areas are generally more pleasant to eat (the canteen-like accoustics and large size of the other dining area make it noisy and at times unpleasant). The food from the "live cooking" hot plates can be very inconsistent - some fish was excellent, but I also had some very tough meat and a tuna steak that was bone-dry. The freshly made pizzas and salads are all very good, however. The hotel is "all-inclusive light", which means that drinks (including reasonable lager and mediocre but drinkable red and white wine) are available for free throughout meal times. We found this to be an excellent cost-saver.

All in all, I guess you'd think this review is more negative than positive, but this hotel does have some very good points and we did get it very cheaply, so for the price (under £500pp for a week, including flights, out-of-season) I was actually very happy with it, really. If you can afford it I might consider upgrading to one of the nearby 4-star Valamar properties, however.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank born_to_knit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our on-going task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.
We are glad that you consider to choose one of Valamar four star hotels for your next stay in Dubrovnik.
Kind regards,
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

we had fantastic holiday, very nice hotel more than 3 star. Staff is very good. Especially suzanna our housekeeper always smiling and very polite. Breakfast is very good. Too much choıce on buffe. Nice pool wiev and beach wiev from our room. We prefer to come summer season next time. Also the receptionist girl who wrote post card for me. thank you very much for your help.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASHASTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for sending your valuable review on Valamar club Dubrovnik hotel, and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are very happy to read your positive impressions from your holiday in Dubrovnik.
In hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, please receive my kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We had a rejuvenating one week stay outside of Dubrovnik, a new destination for us. We chose Valamar Club for two reasons: (1) the ebooker agent got us a sizable discount as we were booking on line and (2) it had tennis courts. Unfortunately, all of the courts were taken all of the time by the Dubrovnik International Open organizers. This was very unfortunate. Also, the hotel was crawling with a wild combination of very aged French and young tennis players. The latter was very loud in the evening (the comment about the large dining room being acoustically very bad is absolutely true. While the second, smaller dining room is better for conversation, it has major ventilation problems...) The hotel itself is a very low 3*. It is going to have to make some major adjustments to its rooms very soon, in my opinion. The shower curtain was mildewed, repairs (to two doors in the room) had been shoddily done. The TV was not working (later fixed). Beds rather comfortable but linens not so. Food also very much in the low 3* category. Lots and lots of cabbage--too bad as with the gorgeous climate, we were expecting more Mediterranean.

Room Tip: It will pay to upgrade to a sea view, as we did. We were told that all rooms were the same size but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarbyRosengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasa V, General Manager at Valamar Club Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear guest,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements. We are glad to inform you that new hotel investments are being planned for year 2013 and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Valamar club Dubrovnik on your next visit, when you will fully enjoy your stay.
Kind regards.
Saša Vasiljević
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,109 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £84 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an action-packed, fun holiday in Dubrovnik's only family hotel! The only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town, puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. You can relax by the spacious outdoor pool with a view of the sea or on the nearby attractive pebbly beach. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing