We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Rooms: Absolutly okay. A bit on the small side, but you're not there much. Be sure to pay extra to get a balcony, you wont regret it.

Poolside: Great! Big pool!

Food: Not that great. It's not much food and you have to stand in queue for quite some time. Not that good at all.

Staff: Okay, but not more.

Supermarket is just to the write whe you get out f the hotel. Don't do the same mistake that we did and go all the way to the village.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UlrikaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2008

Just got back from a stay here. Would highly recommend this hotel. Staff were so friendly, most amazing views from the complex, short bus ride from old town (£1 ish)
Regarding people comment about all inclusive, we had bed and breakfast and ate in the hotel a few night which was quiet expensive for what was a very basic buffet, However we thought most to resurants weren't cheap (about the same price as at home)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank claireharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We were in Dubrovnik to attend my nephews wedding so decided to make it a weeks holiday. The Valamer Club looked great in the brochure and reasonable as an AI holiday so 4 couples booked in with 3 children. The hotel was clean, staff not so friendly and our hotel room balcony was 10 inches deep, just enough room to dry our towels. The biggest shock of all was that the holiday was not as AI as it stated. Drinks were only available at meal times so it was not long before my bar bill topped £240 for the week. Daytime and evening entertainment was good and the reps tried to get everyone to join in the fun. Contacted my holiday company on return to complain and got nowhere. Can only ask you all to beware because although this is a lovely resort be prepared especially if you have kids to take at least £250 extra to spend on the complex per week.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kentish_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Just returned from a weeks break at the Valamar Club. This was not our normal sort of holiday, but we wanted somewhere to just chill for a week, and wanted all inclusive so we didn't have to bother thinking about anything.

As another reviewer has pointed out this is not the all inclusive deal that most of us customers think of. If you want to eat or drink anything outside of the very regimented breakfast (7-9.30am), lunch (12-2pm) or dinner (7-9pm) hours you have to pay. The poolside bar, lobby bar and beach cafe all charge 15K for a bottle of water, 20K for a beer etc. I had to play cat and mouse all week with the restaurant staff so that I could fill up my water bottle. On two occasions it was snatched away from me and filled with tap water. The tap water is supposed to be fine, and is for washing, brushing teeth etc, but even the Thomson tour rep advised visitors not to drink it.

The food was good and plentiful, depending on what time you arrived for meals, don't leave it later than half an hour before closing or you'll get leftovers. Good selection of cold salads, freshly grilled meat and fish, and lots of cakes! The free Lowenbrau beer and wine with lunch and dinner were also good. Food did get repetitive after a week.

The ventilators above the grilling area need to be improved. After every visit to the grill you came away smelling of whatever they were cooking. Not great after breakfast and heading out for the day to smell like a fryer.

The room was small, and very basic with plastic table and chair which a neighbour took out and left in the corridor for extra room.

However, the air conditioning was useless. Its lowest setting was at 24 degrees, and would come on when it reached 25 degrees. Apparently it shouldn't be lower than 5 degrees from the outside temperature but this made it quite uncomfortable until we finally got used to it. There was a ceiling fan, but that had a speed and life of its own, and even on the lowest setting at night had an irritating repetitive noise, so we turned it off and coped with the air-con coming on and off repeatedly - hence the earplugs. We would have kept the doors open but the nightly entertainment went on from 9.30 to 11.30 every night, and not quietly.

We requested a sea view room, and indeed the view was lovely, but the noise was not. In-house band Dora and musical theme nights were loud and intrusive, to the point you could not sit peacefully on the balcony, nor escape from them in the room with the doors closed. Nor could you escape from them at the beach bar, or the outside balcony of the lobby bar.

The in-room safe also broke, and was not fixed again during our stay. Heard other guests at reception complain about things that had been reported as faulty but still not fixed by the time they departed.

The pool was clean and big, which it needed to be with the amount of people in it. If you want to swim lengths forget it unless it early morning, but if its just for a dip to cool down and bob about then its fine. Never had a problem getting a sunbed as there were plenty, just don't expect a great deal of personal space.

We still chilled, relaxed, and had a good time laughing away these little annoyances, but will be returning to our more independant way of travel in future......

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizzieRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

A warning to anyone booking their holiday at the Valavar Club Hotel thinking that they are booking a "All Inclusive" holiday think again.
The only time you don't have to pay extra for ANYTHING, is with your meal at meal times, Breakfast 7.30-9.30am, lunch 12.00-2pm and Dinner 7-9pm. as it was 32 degrees every day we were there, you needed to drink throughout the day and drink is dearer than in England. Water, soft drink and local beer (works out about £4 a pint). If you have children you can soon spend a small fortune ondrink and ice cream. The resort seems to run with a skeleton staff it can take quite a while to get served (which may be a blessing financialy) There were very few English people there during our stay and no Engish information on the notice board.

After saying all this we had an very enjoyable holiday weather was great, pool complex and beach were lovely, the hotel though a bit dated, was clean and beds comfortable, Dubrovnik old town lovely and there is a host of boat trips to various local Islands.

Steve
from Bucks

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Steve-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

I am just back from a 9 day stay at Valamar Club with my family. Having stayed at numerous resorts in all diferent price ranges, I feel Valamar Club is a very good value, especially considering this is only a 3 star hotel. My three children enjoyed the large swimming pool and close proximity to a small pebbled beach. Lounge chairs at the pool area were plentiful and the towel service dispensed beach towels of excellent quality. At the beach it is possible to rent kayaks and jet skis.

Our bedrooms were small, but kept impecably clean. Inside the rooms everything worked properly - TV, phone, hair dryers, etc. The showerhead was one of the best I have encountered in quite some time. As to the meals, a healthy selection of grilled meats and fish is offered daily. The pizza was very popular with the children. Unfortunately they seem to have more staff clearing the tables then behind the grill actually making the food. That meant that at peak times you might have to queue for your food, which is never fun. That could stand to be improved upon. Again, one must keep in mind this is not a 5 star all-inclusive, so 5 star cuisine should not be expected... My opinion is that they offer a decent meal considering what we were paying for it. Also, on two occasions we requested picnic lunches and they packed plenty of food for us to eat on the go.

To get to Dubrovnik you have a 5 minute walk uphill to catch a bus (the local #6 or a shuttle bus for tourists). Tickets for either bus can be obtained at the lobby of the hotel and they are very cheap (10 KN for shuttle; 8 KN for the local bus). The ride into town takes less than 15 minutes on the local bus; less than 10 minutes on the shuttle. We felt it was convenient enough to get into the old town, and did so several times. Also, at the hotel lobby it is possible to book day tours of nearby attractions. We took two trips with a tour group called Atlas - one to Montenegro and another to Mostar, Bosnia. We really enjoyed both these tours and thought that they were well worth experiencing.

We had a very pleasant stay at Club Valamar and felt all our needs were met. The staff was always accomodating and addressed all our requests. I suppose the hotel's nightly entertainment and mini club offerings were bellow average, but one thing that more than made up for this was the relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere we found there. In addition, we are a family of animal lovers and we truly enjoyed the four cats and one dog that hang around the hotel grounds - all very sweet and gentle. Our children were delighted to have them around, and we were all especially taken with a very small kitten we befriended there. This kitten (who my children called Denis) is all white except for black markings on its face and tail (and a very small spot on the back of a hind leg). It seemed harder for him to compete with the other, bigger cats and the dog for some food scraps and attention from the guests... I know it sounds crazy, but if you stay there and happen to see this lovable cat, feel free to spoil it. And if you can find the time, I would truly appreciate it if you could message me to let me know that you saw Denis :)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wonderlust5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £96 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an action-packed, fun holiday in Dubrovnik's only family hotel! The only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town, puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. You can relax by the spacious outdoor pool with a view of the sea or on the nearby attractive pebbly beach. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing