We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family oriented hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Oeiras
1 review
“Nice family oriented hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Nice family oriented hotel with a large pool, lots of activities and animation. Also good location near a beach and good views.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mundofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    324
    173
    53
    21
See reviews for
248
309
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
n/west england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Having read some of the reveiws from earlier in the year i was a liitle un sure as what to expect from the Hotel / area. As you can see from my Title we had a great time. As with every where you cant please everybody, but a always work on the basis that you are on holiday and make the most of them. Firstly the Hotel on first impression from outside isnt the Ritz but having seen pics on here easnt a surprise to me at all, once inside and beyond that "perfect". i earlier read a reccomendation to book a sea veiw this is a must as it adds to the size of the rooms, and the endless stream of boats and cruise liners passing by becomes part of your holiday. The pool area is spotless, as was most of the hotel on our visit, The staff both on reception and in the Restaurant were most helpfull, and at most very curtious..which we found very surpriseing again having read earlier reviews.The near by beach, again came up trumps with a couple of well stocked bars to help with the hot waether which was excellent. I saw a note earlier about the beach being small, but if you move round the bay a little you will find a bit more room rather than just pitching at the first point you see!! Ther hotel is also in a great spot to get to other resorts notibily lapad which is around 10/15 min wak, and Dubrovnik which is a lovely city around 20 min bus ride at acot of 10k each way. There is also am independent agent desk at reception which organises day trips to which we found were at least half price from what our tour company was offering.......all in all a great base in a lovely holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheshirewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Stayed at the Valamar Club Dubrovnik in August 2009 with my husband and 10 year old daughter. Room was a bit small but clean and this was more than compensated for by the fantastic sea view of passing liners/boats and fabulous mountains. The pool and enterainment team were without fault with aqua aerobics every morning which I enjoyed. Also message's and facials at the pool very good given by qualified physiotherapists, excellent.Food was very varied and tasty and we all thoroughly enjoyed every meal. Dubrovnik people can be a bit cranky and intollerant but I found the staff at the Valamar in general very friendly especially the reception staff, extremely helpful. I would recommend the Valamar and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mollymonkey
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The hotel is in a fantastic location a stones through from the beach. It was always being cleaned throughout our stay and was spotless, the chambermaids were very good especially as we requested extra towels every day. The rooms are a bit on the small side but as we weren't in them very long this wasn't a problem.
There are steep steps down to the pool but there is another way round for pushchairs/wheelchairs. The pool area has amble sun beds and unbrellas; you can get towels from the pool office and you can pick up a beach towel token from the main reception. The beach is behind the pool and easy to get to but the beach is quite small and not sandy.
The food was good quality, plentiful with plenty of variety. One of my family members is lactose intolerent and another vegetarian but this didn't present any problems at meal times due to the wide range of foods available.
The staff were all very friendly and spoke excellent English. The animators (entertainers) worked really hard and there were plenty of poolside activities and entertainment. There were various different bands and shows in in the evening, something for everyone!
There are shops nearby but if you need a chemist - the midges are a problem - you have to take the bus into the nearest town. The buses run frequently and tickets can be purchased from the hotel. Bite cream is quite expensive so take some with you along with repellent.
Dubrovnick town is beautiful and the walk along the city walls is well worth doing. The cafes and bars within the city walls are more expensive than the ones a short walk outside the main gates.
The whole area is beautiful, the sea crystal clear and the people friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Spent one week at Valamar Club, room was not ready on arrival 3pm in the afternoon. Hotel was clean, excellent location, room was small had to remove a table and chair so we could move around the bed. Balcony view was worth the extra money. Animation team was excellent. Unfortunately meal times were too restrictive, if you did not get there at least 15 mins before meal times closed staff were clearing away, restaurant staff very unfriendly, restaurant was noisy. Meals very repetitive potatoes, pasta, fish meat every night. Had to wait at the Grill for food to be cooked along with everybody else. Lots of steps from hotel to pool not practical with a pushchair so we went out of the hotel in the evening as entertainment was by the pool unless we did not take the buggy (hard work). Drinks in the hotel expensive outside of mealtimes, drinks with meals not same quality as the hotel drinks you could buy!! Close to Old Town Dubrovnik which was lovely, like a little venice. This hotel could easily become a 4* but I do not think they can be bothered, would gladly pay extra on holiday price for soft drinks to be included all day. Not the AI you think, been to a lot better. Air conditioning in room set at 24C no lower so was difficult to sleep at night as too hot and could not leave balcony doors open for fear of being bitten alive by knats which were plentiful. Overall disappointed but one off the list for croatia.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We had an excellent time at this hotel.
The Location: the hotel is on Babin KuK. If you turn right when you come out of the hotel there is a shopping area. This was rather quiet whilst we were there but there were shops, first aid/doctors ( which was not open whilst we were there) some bars and restaurants. We only went to one restaurant called Lindo. All the restaurants we went to were in a booklet we found in the hotel of places to eat, all are worth a visit. It was excellent and the waiter was very attentive. Other hotels like the Argosy and The President are sister hotels. I think they do share some facilties but you may need to double check that. There was a new one being built which was close to the Argosy, so you might here building noise from this hotel. There were other hotels within walking distance, one had a very nice restaurant called Zoe. There is bus service very frequently to the old town. This was 8 kuna when you buy the ticket from the shop and are valid for an hour or 10 kuna on the bus and the buses run till about midnight. There is also a nice walk around the coast the the marina.

The Hotel: The hotel was fab. The rooms were a little small and the walls were a little thin so i could hear people talking in the corridor and the shower room was a little small but all very clean. I would reccommend paying for the sea view. You could end up facing another room if you have an inland view. The cocktails were excellent. The buffet meals were pretty good as buffet meals go. They have fresh pizza which was lovely. soft drinks, wine and beer were free but at MEALS TIME ONLY. THE DRINK ARE NOT FREE ALL DAY so please take extra money for drinks and it is not all inclusive as most people know it, but to be honest i prefered this because i didn't get rubbish cocktails in a plastic cup that came out of a machine.

Dubrovnik: The old town is the place to be. It a lovely area but be prepared to be surrounded by tour groups. i recommend going early in the morning or early evening. There are many boat trip etc available. We went on a boat trip to the elaphiti islands which was 240 kuna but this included a meal, which was ok and drink which you could help you self to throughout the trip. We enjoeyed the trip but was disappointed with the beach on the far side of the island of Lopad, it was not worth the trek over the island as the water was quite dirty. Lokrum was a nice little island which you can get to by ferry which run frequently.
The restaurants we went to in the Old Town were the Renaisance, Olivia and Chahuahua just outside the city walls. All were very good.

I would say that it roughly cost the same if not slighty more in Croatia as in England but bare in mind Dubrovnik is one of the main tourist places so they are always more expensive. Also, we found it hard to get the currency from our local travel agents and had to order it in. The enchange rates were much better in the Old Town then in England.

Overall, I would definatley reccommend Dubrovnik and this hotel. We had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I stayed 2 weeks at this hotel and it was quite ok. The rooms were a bit worn, but the bathrooms were new and nice, although a bit small. The reception was nice and the taff helpful. We stayed on an all inclusive package, and the food was nice and varied, but the reaturant was very noisy so we found it essential to sit outdoors. The pool area was clean and attractive. The animation team were very active engaging the grown ups, but they were not good for the children compared to other hotels we have stayed at. There was however possible to borrow different sports equipment including minigolf at the hotel, and there were a basketball, volleyball and soccer court as well as a minigolf course nearby, so the children were not hard to entertain ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hufsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an action-packed, fun holiday in Dubrovnik's only family hotel! The only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town, puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. You can relax by the spacious outdoor pool with a view of the sea or on the nearby attractive pebbly beach. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing