We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good destination for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Very welcoming reception and all other staff. Food good but could be a bit more varied. We had full -board which included wine & beer as well as soft drinks.
Evening entertainments by children & afterwards by animation staff were very good
Well situated for a half=hour bus ride into Dubrovnik. Dubrovnik was quite crowded so would not expect it to be so pleasant during the festival. Restaurants are generally reasonable given it is a dedicated tourist resort.
Beaches are stony but the clear water is wonderful. You can buy plastic shoes very cheaply for swimming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankophileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed with my wife and daughter first week of June. Room was clean, albeit slightly small, nice bathroom with superb hot power shower. Paid the supplement for sea view and was worth the extra. Linen/Towels changed every day if required. The hotel itself was lovely, staff from reception to the cleaners were very friendly and a special mention to the Kids club staff who were great with our usually shy daughter.
We had booked full board, so were delighted when this included free drinks at mealtimes and despite the fact that a few people have mentioned that the all inclusive did not mean all day freedom, there were no limits to how much you could eat/drink during service times. The food itself was excellent and varied...fresh pizzas, meat/fish dishes, salads etc and it was continuously refreshed.
The hotel is in babin Kuk which is a 15 minute walk from Lapad, where there is a nice harbour with bars and restaurants and a separate strip with more of the same. Dubrovnik is about 20 mins on the bus which is every 15mins and runs into the early hours, a single ticket costs about £1. All in all a great week and would def go back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guinness1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I have just returned from a 3 night short break and we had a wonderful time. the hotel was lovely. It is worth paying for a room with a view as it is spectacular. Rooms are a little small and tired but perfectly adequeate for three star. Swimming pool was lovely. the bus to Dubrovnik was cheap and ran every 10 mins up to 2am. Picnics provided by the hotel were great for days out. Croatia is a lovely country and we will all definitely be returning

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank ladytraveller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed for a week at the Valamar Club Dubrovnik during the first week of May 2009, and traveled with Thomson - well recommended. Flight and transfer went very smoothly and Thomson reps were very helpful. My husband and I traveled with our 4 year old son. We went on an all inclusive basis, but it was full board with drinks included with meals. We found it very good value. We were very lucky with the weather and only had a couple of showers over the week. It was pleasantly warm and neared 25degrees on some days, and was a lot warmer that we had anticipated.

The hotel is situated a few miles outside Dubrovnik city and is situated by the sea. It was lovely to see cruise liners passing through into Dubrovnik harbor. It has a lovely outlook over trees, hotel grounds out to the islands, sea and mountains. We paid extra for a sea view, and it was worth every penny. The best view I have experienced from a hotel. The sunsets over the mountains were breathtaking. Our room was on the small side but had modern furnishings and a small but modern bathroom with an excellent shower, no bath, but this wasn't a problem. The room was on the small side but was fine for what we used it for. The breathtaking view more than made up for it. As it was early in the season the pool water was very cold, but it didn't stop my son having a dip and he loved it. Also excellent playground for kids and a mini club, plus plenty of activities going on for all the family if you wanted to join in, but there was not pressure and we pleased ourselves. There was nightly entertainment for those who wanted to have a drink in the bar, but we tended to have a stroll around the hotel after dinner. We slept very well during our stay.

The nearby beach Copacabana was disappointing. Its a few minutes walk from the hotel. It was some sort of rough gravel and very uncomfortable to walk on. We walked to the Lapad beach which is a nice walk along a tree lined path which starts near the Dubrovnik Palace hotel. It must be a couple of miles about 15 minutes walk from the Valamar Club. We had trouble trying to find the path to begin with, but asked for directions. We stopped on the way and had a coffee in a cafe which has lovely views over the sea. The Lapad area has a promenade and has restaurants and a park and some amusements for kids, its was a nice change. The beach has fine pebbles, but the water is lovely and clear. But it was a little cold for early May. It was generally quiet because it was early in the season but Dubrovnik was much busier as there are daily visits from the cruise liners.

There are a few shops and cafes near the hotel - souvenir, groceries mainly. We went into Dubrovnik twice on the public bus which was convenient but gets very busy. The bus starts at the Dubrovnik Palace Hotel. Tickets can be bought at the shop at the hotel for a few pounds each. We loved Dubrovnik. The city is a nice size so you can get around easily. We walked around the city walls and I think it’s a must. The views are breathtaking and there's something magical about it all. We found it clean and safe to walk around. Lovely ice cream too! We also took a trip out to Lokrum island. You can get a ferry from the harbor which was less than £10 return each, and I think free for under 5’s. It was well worth it. The island is beautiful and highly recommended. It has a botanical garden, fortress and has a natural pool and children's park and you can also swim in the sea. Also lots of birds, especially peacocks which are charming. It's tranquil and its cool in the shades areas. Very idyllic and restful.

Food at the hotel was lovely, lots of choice. It was very good value. Drinks were ok for the price paid. We also liked the option of ordering a picnic for lunch, you had to order before a time on the previous day. But it was very nice and convenient if you wanted to go out for the day.

Overall, we had a lovely holiday and would have liked to have stayed for longer. I would go back, but we like to visit different places and are thinking of taking a holiday in the Istrian region of Croatia this year, and staying in another Valamar hotel in the town of Porec. The standard and quality of the hotel was very good and we have been impressed with the Valamar hotel chain and with Croatia, it really is a lovely country.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Elmo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

travelled to dubrovnic on oct 4th.weather was fanastic,staff were very helpful and pleasant.hotel was very nice and rooms were very clean although a little on the small side.very good and clean shower,
Food in hotel was very nice and plenty of choice,
Good size swimming pool and i had a massage while there and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Nice family oriented hotel with a large pool, lots of activities and animation. Also good location near a beach and good views.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank mundofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Having read some of the reveiws from earlier in the year i was a liitle un sure as what to expect from the Hotel / area. As you can see from my Title we had a great time. As with every where you cant please everybody, but a always work on the basis that you are on holiday and make the most of them. Firstly the Hotel on first impression from outside isnt the Ritz but having seen pics on here easnt a surprise to me at all, once inside and beyond that "perfect". i earlier read a reccomendation to book a sea veiw this is a must as it adds to the size of the rooms, and the endless stream of boats and cruise liners passing by becomes part of your holiday. The pool area is spotless, as was most of the hotel on our visit, The staff both on reception and in the Restaurant were most helpfull, and at most very curtious..which we found very surpriseing again having read earlier reviews.The near by beach, again came up trumps with a couple of well stocked bars to help with the hot waether which was excellent. I saw a note earlier about the beach being small, but if you move round the bay a little you will find a bit more room rather than just pitching at the first point you see!! Ther hotel is also in a great spot to get to other resorts notibily lapad which is around 10/15 min wak, and Dubrovnik which is a lovely city around 20 min bus ride at acot of 10k each way. There is also am independent agent desk at reception which organises day trips to which we found were at least half price from what our tour company was offering.......all in all a great base in a lovely holiday location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheshirewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Club Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Club Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 38 | on the Babin Kuk peninsula, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £89 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valamar Club Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an action-packed, fun holiday in Dubrovnik's only family hotel! The only family oriented hotel in Dubrovnik, located on the shores of the scenic Babin Kuk peninsula and just minutes away from the old town, puts the spotlight on your family's needs. All inclusive light service and interconnected rooms are all designed for your peace of mind. You can relax by the spacious outdoor pool with a view of the sea or on the nearby attractive pebbly beach. Imaginative activities at the Maro Club, children's restaurant corner and an incredible range of sports and entertainment activities for adults make this hotel a firm family favourite in Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valamar Club Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Club Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Hotel Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Valamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing