We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect service, we plan to stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect service, we plan to stay again!”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Arrived very early in the morning, straight off the ferry from Italy and we were greeted by wonderful service from Hotel Vis. They showed us straight up to our room (highly recommend a sea view room!), and then we hit the beach which is literally right out the back door of the hotel!

The beach is wonderfully tranquil and I happily stayed on it for a whole day, just ducking up to the terrace restaurant for lunch and a few drinks. You do need to pay for a chair and umbrella on the beach if you would like some comfort - but I found it very reasonable if you intend to stay for the day.

The location of this hotel is ideally suited - you have the beach right out the front, Lapad Bay strip full of restaurants and bars if you dont feel like venturing far for dinner and the Old City of dubrovnik is only a short cab or bus ride away if you want to head in for sightseeing.

The tour we booked through the hotel was fantastic as well and very reasonably priced. (We would also recommend this, it was the 3 island tour - lots of fun and lots to see!). A special mention must be made to the wonderful reception staff - especially Brano - they were always super friendly to deal with and very accommodating for any requests.

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone else wanting to make their trip to Dubrovnik a memorable one!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missey102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    210
    164
    64
    63
See reviews for
71
281
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
263 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is perfectly located just outside of Dubrovnik - with incredibly easy bus service to the city center. Less than a 10 minute ride, and the bus literally stops in front of the hotel. The staff were friendly, but after that, one wonders.... The number of stairs is amazing. No lift - so lots of hauling of luggage. There were no towels for the hotel's private beach. In addition, it is an additional 10 euros per day per person to use the sun chairs or umbrellas. There was trash on the beach - even in the early morning, that had not been cleaned up. The room itself was very simple - nothing to write home about. I would argue that this is not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Very nice 3* hotel, clean, good service, plenty of tasty food, bus station in front of the hotel and most important the location in front of the sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripadviser
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The only thing good about this hotel is its view. The staff are absolutley dreadfull at reception and especially in the restaurant in the mornings when having breakfast. The staff at breakfast actually made tea/coffee for themselves whilst peole where still getting theres and they always remarked that the problem is english speaking tourists whilst drinking there tea.....so so rude. The breakfast variety of food at breakfast is sparse, chocolate mousse and the fruit looked like it was found in the nearest bins of another hotel. The reception staff Frano and his sidekick were hordenous, they give the worst rooms to the english tourists first then each time your not happy they keep moving you til you actually get a decent room, something to what the picture looks like on there website, those rooms are to the left of the building so if your given a room on the right dont even bother looking at it go straight back to reception and change it, mould on lampshades!!!!! They have no mini bar or ironing facilities at this hotel and you cant get an iron any time after 12oclock!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayHottie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fagagna, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I read the other reviews about the hotel being 'old fashioned' and a little dated but decided to take a chance anyway. I was decently content with the decision to stay here. The room was clean, the balcony with the ocean view was the selling point. Breakfast was moderately attraction, lunch at the restaurant was just ok and I did not partake in the dinner buffet, I was more interested in seeking out local restaurants that had better options in Old Town. The bus to Old Town is convenient, it is right across the street and the tickets are cheaper at the front desk of the hotel instead of buying them on the bus. I walked to Old Town in about 45 minutes and it is a pretty walk, also safe with lots of sidewalks. I had trouble printing my boarding pass and instead of having to keep paying to use the computer in the lobby to access the website (just to find out the server was still down) two of the receptionists let me use the computer behind the desk or checked for me, this was very kind until the manager yelled at one of them and at me and told me I had to pay each time. I found this a little brash and rude, he had zero understanding of the situation and was less than at all compassionate. The housekeeping staff was exceptional and extremely accommodating, in the event that I had lost something from my room, they did everything they could to find it and although their efforts were unsuccessful, they still made an effort and I appreciated this. The beach was really nice, you have to pay for the chairs but they are reasonable, it is about 5euro, and it is really nice to have the beach right outside the door. I had mixed feelings coming home from this trip about if I really did enjoy it and feel it was worth it, I am still deciding...

Room Tip: Go for the room with the balcony and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyInMyShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a long weekend with my partner, read the reviews so was choosing for the veiws and lcoation and hoping everything would be ok. Which, in general, it was.

The reception staff were perfectly fine (young man checkin/out was helpful and polite, older woman was stern but helpful with advice and curtious), same with cleaners and breakfast staff.
The room was very clean and tidy, we paid for a sea view room and the view did not disappoint! It was gorgeous to stand on balcony during daytime or at sunset! However it was a bit old fashioned, the furniture basic and nothing special. Bathroom was newly fitted however and very clean and functional if not a bit small.
Was very easy to catch the bus from Old Town to Hotel and vice versa and it is so close. Buy your tickets from the hotel, much cheaper than buying on the bus, and if the hotel runs out, try another hotel!
Only problem we really had was the neighbouring hotel, we arrived Saturday and having been up super early we decided to get a short nap in however there was loud pop music being played all day time from the hotel next door. That night they either had a private party or just a very loud disco which i *think* involved kareoke (at least I hope so otherwise they're live music was rubbish!). Even with all our windows shut (which id rather not do - air con was fine but id prefer a fresh breeze off the sea) it was still loud and woke me up STILL GOING AT 4.30AM! There was no problem any other night, although the walls of the hotel are thin so balcony doors and room doors can be heard clearly and the cleaning staff start early....7.30am I was woken up to the sound of hoovering and trolly movements.
Breakfast is plentiful....but not particulary brilliant. Hot and cold items but not of the best quality.
We paid little for this hotel compared to any others available for the weekend, and I get the feeling less than other reviewers as I consider it value for money, so I am not disappointed and we werent expecting the Ritz, the view really was lovely, our holiday was lovely and I just caught up with sleep when I got back instead!

Room Tip: Do get a seaview room, it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Best thing this Hotel has against many in the area is its position on the sea shore. For the price we paid for half board it is great value for money. Go for a sea view if possible, we didnt and as hotel was full we couldnt upgrade. The room we had was quite big and the shower was better than my power shower at home. Bed was a proper kingsize not two pushed together, everything spotless. Telly crap but who goes on holiday to watch TV.
Food is average to good, plenty of it.
Best walk is turn right at beach and follow round the whole penisula, stop at the Hotel More for lunch which did a superb meal and is were I would stay if I could afford it, and were to return to Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 66 in Dubrovnik
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 66 in Dubrovnik
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 66 in Dubrovnik
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 66 in Dubrovnik
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#46 of 66 in Dubrovnik
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing