We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old but clean”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“old but clean”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The hotel was among the cheapest in the list so we didn't expect too much. My wife found the room a bit small but I could live with it. The interior design was too old fashioned, tv had 20+ channels, no minibar, an old air condition but worked well. Breakfast was very poor next to Turkish standards but I guess it is same everywhere in Europe. The beach was rocky but again clean though they charged us 10 euros each day for two chairs and an umbrella. Still not bad but don't expect any service we even had to carry our luggage from bus up to stairs to our room. The staff is also a bit out fashioned.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eroltoksoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    218
    176
    75
    67
See reviews for
74
300
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This hotel was simply ok, and although it is rated as three stars, I am not sure about that. Breakfast was very average. My room was tiny, with two single beds, very light curtains and no blinds, so I was awake at the crack of dawn. Good location with a beach right in front, and the bus #4 which is a short ride to the old town. The reception staff were very helpful and always able to give you information about where to go/what to do, etc. I only stayed one night. As this hotel belongs to group, you are able to use services in the other hotels nearby, such as spa and wellness. If I was to return to Dubrovnik for a vacation, I would choose another hotel, however as I was just staying one night for business reasons, this hotel was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisbonNZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Exciting location, although a few miles from the center there’s a convenient bus stop just in front. Every 20 m. you can go to a 10 m. ride to the Dubrovnik ramparts. So as the hotel have a parking is advisable forget your car and avoid the traffic or loosing your time looking for a place to park in the centre. Back to the hotel: People is very nice and ready to help, rooms are not extraordinary, but the view is magnificent. The restaurant balcony is lovely. Very nice place to stay and eventually return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Arrived very early in the morning, straight off the ferry from Italy and we were greeted by wonderful service from Hotel Vis. They showed us straight up to our room (highly recommend a sea view room!), and then we hit the beach which is literally right out the back door of the hotel!

The beach is wonderfully tranquil and I happily stayed on it for a whole day, just ducking up to the terrace restaurant for lunch and a few drinks. You do need to pay for a chair and umbrella on the beach if you would like some comfort - but I found it very reasonable if you intend to stay for the day.

The location of this hotel is ideally suited - you have the beach right out the front, Lapad Bay strip full of restaurants and bars if you dont feel like venturing far for dinner and the Old City of dubrovnik is only a short cab or bus ride away if you want to head in for sightseeing.

The tour we booked through the hotel was fantastic as well and very reasonably priced. (We would also recommend this, it was the 3 island tour - lots of fun and lots to see!). A special mention must be made to the wonderful reception staff - especially Brano - they were always super friendly to deal with and very accommodating for any requests.

We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone else wanting to make their trip to Dubrovnik a memorable one!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missey102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is perfectly located just outside of Dubrovnik - with incredibly easy bus service to the city center. Less than a 10 minute ride, and the bus literally stops in front of the hotel. The staff were friendly, but after that, one wonders.... The number of stairs is amazing. No lift - so lots of hauling of luggage. There were no towels for the hotel's private beach. In addition, it is an additional 10 euros per day per person to use the sun chairs or umbrellas. There was trash on the beach - even in the early morning, that had not been cleaned up. The room itself was very simple - nothing to write home about. I would argue that this is not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Very nice 3* hotel, clean, good service, plenty of tasty food, bus station in front of the hotel and most important the location in front of the sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripadviser
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The only thing good about this hotel is its view. The staff are absolutley dreadfull at reception and especially in the restaurant in the mornings when having breakfast. The staff at breakfast actually made tea/coffee for themselves whilst peole where still getting theres and they always remarked that the problem is english speaking tourists whilst drinking there tea.....so so rude. The breakfast variety of food at breakfast is sparse, chocolate mousse and the fruit looked like it was found in the nearest bins of another hotel. The reception staff Frano and his sidekick were hordenous, they give the worst rooms to the english tourists first then each time your not happy they keep moving you til you actually get a decent room, something to what the picture looks like on there website, those rooms are to the left of the building so if your given a room on the right dont even bother looking at it go straight back to reception and change it, mould on lampshades!!!!! They have no mini bar or ironing facilities at this hotel and you cant get an iron any time after 12oclock!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayHottie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#41 of 68 in Dubrovnik
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#48 of 68 in Dubrovnik
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing