We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to improve desperately”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Needs to improve desperately”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Okay the location and views are amazing, and the room furnishings are somewhat okay but I guess the hotel is from Tito time and not renovated since then.

We had three rooms which three of them were different in size/quality and furnishing. The rooms are clean enough but hallways stink so bad.

No minibar in room.

Wi-fi is free only on the lobby.

They charge for beach umbrellas and sunbeds. The beach is a pebble beach with calm and clan water but I am sure it is not the best in and around(Greece and Turkey offers way better beaches to swim)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okaloocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    215
    169
    67
    63
See reviews for
71
288
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The overall experience with this hotel was horrible. Our room was about 5 feet wide with twin beds set foot to foot, and entrance that was like 2 feet wide, and a water pump that made you go mad every time you turned the water on. There was also no internet in the room, the beach was ridiculously rocky, you had to pay $6 for a beach chair and since the beach was made of baseball size rocks you really didn't have a choice but to pay. And the beach that is claimed to be a private beach is definitely not private. The desk staff was very unhelpful also topping off the whole hotel stay.

Room Tip: You're better off going with a cheaper place or one that's nicer and the same price off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our time here, the staff have been very helpful, the bus stop is just outside and you are right on the beach. The beach is clean and restaurant is also right on the beach. The rooms are ok. Nothing special but they are clean. For the price I think it is very good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed half board at the Hotel Vis during the first week of June 2012. On arrival reception staff were very welcoming and all spoke very good English. Rooms are basic but they are clean with comfortable beds, we did not have a sea view. Breakfast is a continental style buffet with some limited hot food. Evening meal was also a hot and cold buffet, there was an adequate choice and food was very well cooked and presented. We also found the dining room staff helpful and efficient. The location was picturesque, and would ideally suit couples or groups of adults as children could easily become bored due to lack of ammenities and activities to do nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms either have a 'park' or 'sea view', it is worth paying extra to have a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed 7 days B&B May 2012

Vis occupies a privileged position on the beach which allows for splendid views from the rooms and dining adjacent to the beach. Brilliant. You should be aware that the hotel is only 3 storeys high but because it is built into a hillside there are a lot of stairs & steps and no lifts. Not really a problem unless you have difficulty with them. Definitely a 'no go' area for the disabled.

Our room and balcony was on the small side but clean, very quiet, comfortable and well appointed. The air conditioning was one of the best ever encountered. Decor was a little old fashioned but OK. The ensuite was fine. Rooms are cleaned every day.

Staff are were very friendy and helpful.

Breakfast is buffet style and offers an excellent and plentiful range of hot and cold dishes between 7am and 10am. Not good if you are on a diet!

Dubrovnik 'Old Town' is a couple of miles away and can be walked in approx. 45 minutes, but better to use the very efficient bus service (number 4) which stops outside the hotel every 20 mins, (early to late) and costs 10 Kunas (approx. £1.20). Tickets available at reception. Very good.

If you are looking for a boat trip, we would recommend the all day Elafiti Islands tour. Several boats run the trip at a very reasonable 250 kunas (£30) per head. This includes an excellent grilled fish (or chicken) lunch with plenty of wine and soft drinks. A great day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Most (but not all) rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CandidReviewer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had read that the food wasn't that good on some reviews, but we found it very nice. Good selection, well prepared. The French and Germans are normally fussier than we Brits, and i didn't see any of them complain. A decent 3star hotel, very nice staff, very clean, and at night we never heard a sound. Just one tip, if you pay extra for a seaview, you dont get the sun on your balcony as the bay is north facing, some prefer the view, some prefer the sun, take your pick.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spanner1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed half board. Comfortable hotel in a quiet location. The room was of a high standard (possibly recently refurbished?), with a spotless modern bathroom and comfy beds. My balcony was very small, but the view across the bay was beautiful. The local bus to the old town was cheap and regular, and stopped a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The only slightly negative for me was the food. The quality was generally good, but breakfast became very boring, with the same options every day. Evening meals were fairly good, with the highlights being when they had fish on the menu. The bar was a little pricey, but there were plenty of other options locally.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chinaman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#39 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#24 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Uvala
Hotel Uvala
#29 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#53 of 67 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing