We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I thought Vis at the upper end of what you can expect from a 3*** hotel. The room was fine, and the staff were courteous and helpful (the maid was possibly the most cheerful hotel employee I have ever encountered). I thought the breakfast offerring was pretty good - fresh fruit, cheese, ham, bread, crossiants, sausages and eggs - and certainly set me up for the day. There is also a very pleasant cafe/ bar on the terrace overlooking the beach. But the best feature is the location. The back doors lead directly out to proabably the most pleasant stretch of the Lapad beach (NB the beach is stoney, so you need beach sandals, but the sea itself is gloriously clear and beautiful to swim in). Also, the bus stop for busses to old town (number 4, ever 10 mins) is literally just across the road from main entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ManchesterPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had to rate it 'Very Good' because it's close to that than 'Average'. No 'Good' rating for overall on Trip Advisor.

This is a good standard hotel. It's located in a nice suburb called Lapad which is 10-15mins on the local bus from Dubrovnik Old Town. The bus goes from just outside the hotel.

This I am sure was cutting edge back in the mid 90's but the standard of the hotel is still quite high. It's very clean and the staff are helpful.

Food wise I would give the breakfast and the restaurant a miss but the snack bar is good value. There are good places in Lapad and locally which are far far better.

The hotel has a private beach. It's set in a very nice bay. It's important to understand that all beaches (at least that I know of) are stony. This is no exception and once you're used to that then you'll have a good time here.

To address other reviewers comments - there is a city tax (we experienced this in Zagreb. That is in addition to your hotel price. The hill outside is steep but short. Free wireless in reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seanohealaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Great service, but the hotel had sort of an "old" feeling. The rooms were clean but at least the ones on the ground floor felt a bit damp. Breakfast was ok, but nothing extra ordinary. The location is good, especially with the beach just a few stairs down from the hotel, their part is the best beach along the bay. There is also a play area in the water that charge per half hour. The bus no 4 stops just outside the hotel and leaves almost every 15 minutes, this bus takes you to the old town in 10 minutes. If you are there during the warm season I recommend to go by bus since the town has many hills. A taxi from the airport is apx. 300 Kuna. Free Wi-fi in the reception area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights, room small for €100+ price charged 5months in advance, breakfast one of the worst ever (a banana and tea/coffee would beat it), terrace food not much better, older staff behaved like zombies (hangover from Tito/Stalin/Civil War?), younger staff (not many) pleasant, reception staff grouchy.

Steep hill into reception, no porter to help with bags or even offer, internet expensive.

Nice view of bay but beach stony, plastic shoes needed to swim and get out of water (a problem in much of Croatia).

Saving features: bus to downtown at entrance, tickets 12Kuna at desk, aircon was OK

Would never stay here again, place overrated and overpriced on all fronts

Room Tip: if you have nowhere else to stay, pay more for a sea view, otherwise look at the side of a slope (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dehlerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The price you are told by the arrival does not match the price you pay when you check out.
for us it was about. 4x.
The day before there was a guest who had the same problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kildemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Okay the location and views are amazing, and the room furnishings are somewhat okay but I guess the hotel is from Tito time and not renovated since then.

We had three rooms which three of them were different in size/quality and furnishing. The rooms are clean enough but hallways stink so bad.

No minibar in room.

Wi-fi is free only on the lobby.

They charge for beach umbrellas and sunbeds. The beach is a pebble beach with calm and clan water but I am sure it is not the best in and around(Greece and Turkey offers way better beaches to swim)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okaloocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 68 in Dubrovnik
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
Hotel Aquarius Dubrovnik
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#28 of 68 in Dubrovnik
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#54 of 68 in Dubrovnik
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £42 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing