We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overall good experience”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Chania, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An overall good experience”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at hotel Vis during October 2-7, attending a conference in another hotel near by. Since the reviews are contradicting, I wasn't sure on what to expect, but everything was really good.

The first thing you have to bare in mind is that this is a 3 star hotel, so you cannot expect or demand amenities that you would find in 4-5 star hotels. Moreover, since this is a highly touristic area, you have to book early in order to get good room prices (or prices reflecting 3 star hotel).

The hotel itself is located in a bay, offering fantastic view and a semi-private pebbled beach. There is a pedestrian street near-by, with a variety of good restaurants and coffee shops.

The rooms are quite basic, with renovated bathrooms. They look a bit tired, but they were spotlessly clean (which I value more than a flat-screen tv), as the cleaning ladies did an excellent job all the days of my stay. The only thing I regretted, was that I booked a room with garden view (actually it was overseeing the parking lot), assuming it would be more quiet. Well it was, but the view from the sea-view rooms is breathtaking and, in addition, the sun was on my room for the whole day, forcing constant use of the AC. Go for a sea-view room!!!

As for the food, starting with breakfast, it was tasty but pretty basic and I really missed some baked cakes, but for a 3 star hotel it was more than enough. For lunch I went a couple of times at the bar above the beach, which I found a bit pricey for what it had to offer. But both the beach bar and the hotel bar offer amazing view at the bay in front of the hotel. Dinner was a pleasant surprise, since there was an open buffet, with a great variety of soups, salads, meat, seafood, pastry and fruit. Don't expect a fine dinning experience, but everything I tried was really well-cooked, tasty and fresh.

The staff was quite helpful and professional. Starting from the front desk, which were really helpful on a problem with my debit card, moving to the waiters at the restaurant that were attentative and discreet, to conclude to the servers at the hotel bar, who struggled to serve large groups of people every night.

Overall, it was a good experience, with respect to the price I got and the fact that this is a 3 star hotel. I would definitely return to hotel Vis when back in Dubrovnik...

Room Tip: Pick a room with sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    222
    179
    77
    69
See reviews for
76
306
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This would be only an average hotel apart from its location.

The rooms are ok but a bit tired and on the small side. You can do a lot better than the buffet dinner by eating out in the old town. Breakfast is acceptable but nothing to write home about.

Four of our friends were bumped to another hotel a few hundred yards down the road so until that was sorted out a couple of days later we were unable to breakfast together.

Having said that, the location is terrific. Although quite developed, the bay the hotel stands in is delightful. The bar and restaurant terraces are very good. The beach is pebbles but the swimming is great. Access to the old town is easy via the local bus service which runs every 20 minutes and takes 10 to 15 minutes. Tickets can be bought on the bus or (more cheaply) at hotel reception.

Free wi-fi in reception.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Basic 3 stars hotel near Dubrovnik.
The bad: room are small and old 50's wooden style but clean.
The good: Good location direct bus to historic city (Buy bus tickets at hotel front desk), rocky beach with very clean water, very friendly, very good terrace restaurant, cheap, small parking
If you make the total more pro than con...
May not be the best in town but we were overall satisfied for the price we paid...

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JACK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel offered basic 3 star facilities but it was clean and comfortable.The breakfast was nice and we were offered coffee,tea, corn flakes,bacon and eggs,etc.You could take away a banana,pear or orange from the restaurant after finishing breakfast and the fruit and vegetables in general were excellent.
The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom maid kept our sleeping quarters nice and tidy.You could catch a bus outside the hotel every 15 minutes and you could buy a bus ticket at reception.
We were given a room overlooking a small garden near the front of the hotel but it was peaceful and plenty sun shone on our balcony.
We booked a taxi to Dubrovnik Airport from the hotel for €35 approx on our journey home.

Room Tip: We made friends with some British visitors who also liked the hotel. However they were disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Having read the terrible remarks made about the hotel before I came, with a coach party from En gland, I was pleasantly surprised. There was plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meal, the bed was comfortable and the view from my balcony was lovely. The room was clean as was the shower and toilet. I don't know what some people expect after all it is a three star hotel not five star.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambler l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel is OK. The web site says rooms have been renovated, and it looks as though a good part of the hotel has, but my room had not. The size was reasonable the door and window to the balcony had definitely seen better days. The air-conditioning made a noise even when switched off.
On the plus side the room was nice and cool. The shower/toilet was OK, though the rail for the shower spray was only just attached to the wall.
The staff were OK. Breakfast was very good. Free wifi is available in reception area and was fine. Location is very good. It is in Lapad, about 5km from the Old Town. This suited me fine, being much quieter, was very close to the conference I was attending. The area is much pleasanter than the Old Town itself. Good walks around the coast, and reasonably priced restaurants in the area. Though they do all sell the same food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpuriousMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A nice and friendly hotel with à wonderful location. We have halfboard for one week, the breakfast was very good, but the dinner was not in my kind of taste buffé with meat and fishdishes.
The lokal bus only 50 m from the hotel, a lot of stairs no elevator.
Lapad is very beautiful and theres a lot of walkingareas and a lot to do, segways horseriding many nice parks for children to play in.
Go there!

Room Tip: Rooms on the seaside is very nice but not sunny, the best choise in the hot seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frasse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 68 in Dubrovnik
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#47 of 68 in Dubrovnik
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing