We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Positives- location is stunning. Views are amazing. Dubrovnik breathtakingly beautiful and full of history and culture. Weather - hot! N reception staff very friendly and helpful with lots of local knowledge' especially Frano And Pave. Recommend the scenic walks in the wood behind the hotel with stunning views' this isn't advertised so ask reception. Visit dubrovnik at night as well as day as it is heaving with cruise people in the day and beautiful at night under the moon. Highly re commend the cable car at sunset and war museum also lokrum island is beautiful.
Beware- very expensive in all tourist areas! Beer about £5 a pint. But you can get good local food and drink if you go outside main tourist area at half the price. Sun beds and parasol £8 per day! Hotel was clean but definitely not luxury. Enough home cooked food to fill up on but not a treat. Breakfast average.
Mosquitos
Air con good
Conclusion - go for the views the history and the location. Vis adequate budget hotel. Spend more if you want luxury. Take plenty of cash - charges on everything! Suggest the dubrovnik tourist Card to save money as it has discounts

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Madam / Sir,
Thank you choosing our hotel and city for your pleasant vacation.
We are glad you found our staff professional and at your service at all times as you indicate in your review.
We are also glad that you liked hotel location and our destination in general.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    218
    172
    72
    66
See reviews for
73
297
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June, single traveller was offered a 'basement' right next to the entrance steps laughingly described as a single room. I declined the room and was offered another, twin slightly better. Rooms in dire need of maintenance and updating, restaurant is ' self service' dinner served between 7-9pm, is rushed, no service, lots of food but quality basic, don't stay here if you want a relaxing holiday, if I hadn't been part of a tour I wouldn't have chosen to stay, very disappointing. Only plus is right on the bay and near to buses to Dubrovnik

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Mrs. /Mr.,

Thank you for your review and your comments which will help us to improve our service.
The water in the restaurant must be charged because that is the company’s policy.
We will work on fixing all the weaknesses that you stated and we thank you again for doing that.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

First impressions were good, however this hotel would not be suitable for anyone with a disabilty.
It was a struggle to get two suitcases down all the steps to the reception, and up to the rooms on higher floors. This hotel has NO LIFT.
Air conditioning was not available despite Newmarket Travels brochure stating every room had it. Yes there was an aircon unit in the room, but it did not produce any cold air. When queeried the desk receptionist said it was to early in the season to have it working! ANA the Newmarket rep, said it's probably at the hotels owners discretion.
Room temperatures at night were 28*c+, and being on the ground floor we felt uncomfortable about leaving the balcony doors open. Kind of ruined the trip as we found it difficult to sleep.
On the food side, meals were generally very good, well cooked on a buffy help your self style.
The first, second and third evening we had cold bottled water given to us at the dining table, on the fourth evening they presented us with a bill for it, we asked why had we been charged for it tonight but not before but did not get any explination and they took the bill away.
The next evening we were totally ignored by the waiter staff.
With It being my brother and sister inlaws wedding anniversary, he quite rightly made his views known on the treatment we were given. We were not even offered the wine list.
By chance the evening after that, the hotel manager was doing his rounds, and we were being treated like lords and ladies by the staff and there after for the remainder of the holiday after we had spoken to him.
There is no swimming pool as the hotel is located on the Lapad bay beach.
The water is crystal clear, and looks very inviting.
Entertainment in the evening at the Vis is nil, I suggest you walk along the shore line to the Hotel KOMPAS on the opposite side of the bay as they had live music playing every evening, giving a nice ambience.
Easy access to Dubrovnik via the local No 4 bus which stopped outside the hotel opposite and tickets are avaiable from reception, there is a time table posted on the information board. They run about every 20mins.

Room Tip: If I had a choice I would ask for a room that receives the sun first thing in the morning and not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,
thank you for all of the observations you wrote.

The water in the restaurant is being charged as a result of company's policy.

We will make every effort to improve our services in the future.

Thank you again for writing the review.

Kindest regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nothwest uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We were well satisfied with this hotel.It is a bus ride from Dubrovnik (marvellous).Rooms yes basic (small old TV) but very clean (311) fantastic view over Lapad Bay which in June was nice and quiet. Evening buffet not really much over acceptable, breakfast was fine for us, usual choices.Lovely terrace overlooking blue/green transparent waters of Adriatic.A very short walk to good restaurants across the bay. A big negative however is Steps, plenty of them, after a flight this can be tiresome people will help if you ask. It is true Croatians can seem gruff, engage in conversation and they will be OK. Remember this is 3 star not 4 is right on the beach and is clean Go, but do BB and eat out at night.Do not go if you dislike steps, this hotel is built into the hillside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we truly appreciate you choosing our hotel during your vacation in beautiful city of Dubrovnik. We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay and beautiful location, cleanliness of the hotel, sea view and breakfast offer.

In the future, we will enrich buffet offer during the evening meal and also we will fix the stair way at the hotel entrance.

Thank you again for writing the review and we hope that you will come and visit us again.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nothwest uk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We were well satisfied with this hotel.It is a bus ride from Dubrovnik (marvellous).Rooms yes basic (small old TV) but very clean (311) fantastic view over Lapad Bay which in June was nice and quiet. Evening buffet not really much over acceptable, breakfast was fine for us, usual choices.Lovely terrace overlooking blue/green transparent waters of Adriatic.A very short walk to good restaurants across the bay. A big negative however is Steps, plenty of them, after a flight this can be tiresome people will help if you ask. It is true Croatians can seem gruff, engage in conversation and they will be OK. Remember this is 3 star not 4 is right on the beach and is clean Go, but do BB and eat out at night.Do not go if you dislike steps, this hotel is built into the hillside.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

As said, view to the seaside is beautiful. Also surrounding is very green and lush. In walking distance there is probably the best variety of restaurants/services in the city outside walls of Old town but don't let that fool You because there is for example hardly anything to buy in entire city.

But back to the Hotel Vis. We agree with standard of service of the staff with some other travellers, not good. If You have one person behind counter who smiles and is friendly, that is not enough. Grumpy faces are not welcoming anyone. Also when there was a small "accident" with our luggage the attitude was quite rude.
Rooms are worn out and small, balcony is nice plus. When your neighbour is having a shower, trust me You'll notice it. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast was disappointment but with a variety to take your hunger away. Overall, nice surrounding outside of hotel but advising You to take rental car/scooter and get away and see places outside the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for staying in our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with hotel staff and in the future we will enrich our buffet offer.

As far as transfer to and from the hotel by the travel agencies, we will contact them and ask them to be even more pleasant and helpful.

We hope that you will come and visit us again.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

The good: easily the best location for the price. Cleaning ladies are super nice. Easy access to bus routes.
The bad: beside the cleaning staff, the rest of the staff is very short. Not mean, and could be language barrier, but still. There are things you have to pay for that you may not expect (they advertise a private beach, but you have to pay to sit on the chairs even if you are a hotel guest).
Overall, it is the quality of a decent Motel 6 with a great location. If you are not planning on staying at the hotel much, I would recommend. Also, at certain times if the year, there are bands playing on the beach and it is VERY loud, FYI.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking your time to write this review that will help us to improve hotel service.
I am glad that you were satisfied with room cleanliness and unique hotel location.
I have to mention that hotel beach is not private and that the sunbeds are charged because that is the e company's policy due to high maintenance cost.
Loud music you could hear if from the other hotel across the bay that is not a part of our resort and unfortunately we can't do much about that.
We hope that despite these slight uncomfortable situations you will come and visit us again.
Best regards,
Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#41 of 67 in Dubrovnik
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 67 in Dubrovnik
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 67 in Dubrovnik
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 67 in Dubrovnik
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#46 of 67 in Dubrovnik
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing