We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right on the beach!”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right on the beach!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The best things about this hotel is the location and the staff! The staff is very friendly and helpfull, they try to help you in every way they can, and sometimes more than that! Breakfast is better than we had before around the medetiranian and the Adriatic Sea, but you should try to get there in time, the seem to stop stocking up the last hour. The rooms are nice, basic and clean, they are what you expect of a three star hotel. Don't miss the bar, quite, cosy and overlooking the sundown over the bay. The bus to old town goes right outside the hotel and takes about 15min, it's a 45min walk, nice and easy but hot! We got the Dubrovnik card, which is highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are truly happy to see all the positive comments you made about our hotel and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied in our hotel.

Thank you for all the great things you wrote about hotel location, hotel staff and breakfast service. We will do our best to improve buffet offer at all times.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Hotel staff and Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    217
    172
    71
    66
See reviews for
73
296
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The first impression of the hotel isn't great, however, once you settle in and the staff begin to know who you are they are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are basic but very clean with a tv and balcony. Bathrooms are very clean and showers are good. The terrace where you eat breafast and dinner has lovely views over the bay. Breakfast has a wide selection of croissants and bread as well as meat and cheese. Dinner is buffet style with a strange but tasty variety of foods. Even if you go half board you still have to pay for drinks at dinner which is a pain. Also even though a 'private' beach is advertised anyone can use it and you still have to pay for loungers (not expensive 70 kuna for 2). The location is prime with just a 45 min walk into the centre of Dubrovnik and a 2 min walk to a variety of ice cream places, bars and restaurants. I loved my holiday and would definately return!

Room Tip: when we arrived they gave us a double room even though we booked a twin room, however the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for an awesome review. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay in hotel Vis.

We hope that you will choose our hotel again next time when you come to Dubrovnik.

Kindest regards,

Niko
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köping, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
288 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a typical 3 star hotel in Croatia. It has a standard that is what you can expect from an " Ex eastern Europe" country. The hotel has the best location on Lapad beach, nice and typical Croation pebble beach. On the down side is that, as a hotell guest, you have to pay for the sunbeds... The breakfast was better than expected. If you choose seawiew you will overlook the bay. I recommend that.

Room Tip: Third floor has best seawiew, but no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Kindest regards,

Niko,hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stays in room with view to rear of hotel, found the staff to be fine and mostly helpful and easy to deal with. Would have been good to have a small fridge just to keep sites cool, but had great bed, 5 ft, 6 inches wide, and very pleased with cleaning of room. Breakfast was spot on, mega better than place in Turkey went to two years ago. Evening meal was enjoyed on one occasion and really good selection.

Room Tip: Pity the daily bus ticket can't be used beyond one hour. Get tickets before boarding bus saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for returning to visit us after a long time. It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed in evening meal and clean room.
As far as daily buts ticket, we offer you Dubrovnik city card which includes bus rides and tickets for the museums and city walls. This card is available for 1 day, 3days and 7 days.

Best regards
Niko,hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great location, excellent service, great breakfast overlooking bay. Room does not have fridge or safe. Lower floor was convenient. View overlooked deck below and yucky water play equipment.Annoying to pay for chairs on beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.

Thank you for your review.I am happy to hear that you enjoyed in hotel services and especially in breakfast offer.

We will try to put safe and fridge in the rooms when you come to visit us again.

Warmest regards,

Niko,hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Planning a 7 night stay in Dubrovnik through Newmarket holidays, I checked through Tripadvisor for the different hotels available. And even though it had a few dodgy reviews, I chose Hotel Vis. And I am so glad I did. How can you be disappointed with a hotel when you walk straight from reception, out the back door and you are on the beach with the clearest blue sea?

Ok, so a few bad points first. There are steps down to the hotel entrance which was a bit of a struggle with large suitcases. And there is no lift in the hotel. But it is only 3 floors.

Now the positives. That location, brilliant. Probably the best location in the whole of Lapad Bay. Eating breakfast on the terrace is great. Lapad Bay itself is a pleasant area. You can walk right round the bay, with beautiful scenery. There is one main street with restuarants and bars.

The bus service - buy tickets from reception for 12 kuna each way (less than £1.50) Bus to old town is 15 minutes and is the last stop and are every 20 mins. Catch it on the opposite side of the road from Vis. Head to the yellow post box and 2 benches and that is the bus stop. Coming back, the bus stops right at the entrance of Vis.

Every room has a balcony. So even though you might not have a sea view, you do have outside space to sit and relax. The lido bar serves good cheap food during the day. Rooms were always clean, cleaned daily and fresh towels daily. Staff friendly. Evening meals are basic. Food is buffet style but satisfied a fussy eater like myself. The cakes for dessert on the other hand, amazing.

All in all, a good hotel, with a spectacular location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank garda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous and detailed review.
Not only that we appreciate all the great comments you have made regarding our hotel, but we will do our best to try to fix steps down the hotel entrance for the next year.

We are looking forward to have you stay with us again.

Best regards,
Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Location right in front of the beach. Easy access to downtown bus.
Staff is very rude and seems not happy to help guests.
No refrigerator in the rooms.
No elevators and many stairs.
Breakfast not good. Juices are terrible.
No wi fi access in rooms. Even wi fi in reception was poor and didn't work consistently.

Room Tip: Ask for a groud floor because there isnt elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sergiogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Mrs. /Mr.,

Thank you for your detailed observations which will help us to fix all the weaknesses in our hotel in order to provide the best quality service in the future.

Warmest regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 67 in Dubrovnik
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 67 in Dubrovnik
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 67 in Dubrovnik
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 67 in Dubrovnik
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#46 of 67 in Dubrovnik
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#35 of 67 in Dubrovnik
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing