We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel in in Sept 13. We are a middle aged couple. The hotel was very clean and the location was excellent, steps down to beach directly from hotel so you could have a swim then go back to your room to shower. We had a sea view room with balcony, the view was lovely and if you left the door open at night you could hear the sea. Bedroom had plenty of room, it is tired and dated but very clean and comfortable. The bed is huge and very comfortable. When we were there is was quiet and peaceful at night. No fridge or safe in the room which was a shame. The air con though was great.

Breakfast is ok, everything you need and you can sit and eat it looking at the wonderful view. There is free wifi in this area and the reception.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with buses into town every 20 mins and they ran until 1am.

There are lots of steps to the hotel and in the hotel. Steps to rooms, restaurant and to beach. Not a problem for us but would be a big problem to people with mobility issues.

Staff in reception area were not overly friendly, but they were not rude either. Staff in restaurant and room cleaning were very friendly.

Good hotel if you are on a medium budget. Dubrovnik is amazing! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room with balcony, and if it is not too hot sleep with balcony door open and listen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anwen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your detailed review and all the compliments.
It is our pleasure to hear you spent enjoyable vacation in our hotel and town.
We will try to maintain and to improve hotels standards. Each year we provide our entire hotel staff with all kinds of trainings. We will continue to do so.
Hope to see you very soon.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    218
    172
    71
    66
See reviews for
73
297
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

a great value hotel ,superb location overlooking the bay . rooms were basic but cleaned everyday excellent air conditining.staff were very friendly and helpful.food was well presented and always a different choice every night.only a short walk down the stairs to the pebble beach and very refreshing sea !. will certainly be returning !.

Room Tip: well worth paying extra for a sea view room fantastic views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your visit and intention of coming back to our hotel and beautiful town.
We are really proud that we provided you with pleasant and nice vacation – that is a purpose and goal of our business.
We look forward meeting you again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked a sea view room at hotel Vis almost 4 months before travelling and when we got there we were told that they didn't have a room for us and that they had arranged for us to stay at the sister hotel next door. This was not impressive at all and we had to then drag our luggage back up a hill and down the road. Our room at the 'sister hotel' the 'Splendid' had a view completely obstructed by trees and bushes. So we then had to complain and were given a different room with a better view. This is not exactly the best way to start a trip so be prepared for this type of nonsense. All of the hotels along this strip have an amazing view of the water and sea though so in the end it was fine and breakfast at the hotel Splendid was good.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Raman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Madam / Sir,
We are deeply sorry and we apologize that you had inconvenience upon your arrival to hotel Vis followed by your transfer to hotel Splendid. Overbooking is not an excuse, but, unfortunately, it does happen. In the situation of overbooking, we always upgrade guest’s original reservation as we did in your case.
However we do apologize again and we hope that you will choose our hotel for your next visit to our beautiful Dubrovnik, regardless of this situation.
Best regards,
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Relatively budget friendly hotel on a beautiful beach of Dubrovnik. Rooms are simple, but pleasant, but a safe and mainly a fridge is really missing from the room equippment.... Food in the restaurant is pleasant but not a luxury. Sea is clean, excellent place for swim and sun. (Bill Gates spending his holidays 300 meters away, on the same beach....).

Restaurant staff kind, at the reception a bit less..... but still helpful.

Good place for medium budget family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write such a great and detailed review.

We are all happy, hotel staff and I, to hear that you enjoyed at the beach, great food, kind staff, restaurant services, etc.

The reception staff needs a little more training and we will work on that for the next season.

We look forward to have you staying in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadsbygd
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel has a great location on the pebble beach - and that's great! The staff was positive and serviceminded. But the hotel is old and worn and there is no doubt that this hotel is from the old east european Yugoslavia. We were there in July and it was, in our opinion, too much music and noise on the beach. Both in the daytime and in the night. Unfortunately, this actually made our holiday a lot less relaxing that it could have been...

Room Tip: Seaview is great - but in the high season - it might be more quiet on The back....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with hotel location and hotel staff.

Beach in front of the hotel is public beach and we can't control the noise coming from it during the day, and in the night the noise is coming from the other hotel across the bay which is not a part of our hotel group.

We will do our best to improve hotel standards till the next time you come and visit us.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have just arrived back from a fantastic stay in Lapad. Very pleased with the hotel. On arrival to a clean, spacious reception area, we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff(who had left us a nice wee bottle of wine in our room for our honeymoon). Our room was extremely clean and well maintained with excellent air condtioning. A few steps out of the back door of the hotel and we were blown away! The pebble beach and views of Lapad Bay greeted us every morning as we sat out eating breakfast(best to sit inside however if you do not like sharing your food with wasps!) The bar area was an excellent place to watch the sunset every night. By far the best views of the bay(and we walked around it A LOT so we know!) The hotel is located well for a nice walk around the bay both day and night taking in the scenery or popping in for a drink/lunch to one of the many bars. Very safe and very clean. The bus to the old town stops right outside the hotel also! Breakfast had a brilliant choice of fresh fruit, bread and pastries and the hotel also offer an evening buffet which is a good way of sampling some local treats! After reading some negative reviews after we booked (which I really don't understand! Some people are so fussy!) we were more than pleasantly surprised and will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends and family!

Room Tip: You can pay an extra £100 for a sea view, however you only have to go down a few steps out the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissKEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very proud that we contributed in wonderful honeymoon with our services.

Thank you for all the positive comments you made about hotel location, cleanliness, room comfort, food, etc.

Wasps are no longer a problem, we eliminated that problem from the hotel terrace.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that your friends and family will come to our hotel also.

Till some next time.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice hotel, with one of the best locations. Down the steps right onto the beach (Pebbles) Hotel is clean and bright. Staff very friendly and courteous. B'fasts - Plenty to choose from. We ate only 2 x evenings in the hotel restaurant - Very good. Rooms have Air-con, tv, en-suite shower over bath, and balcony. No fridge though which is a small minus point.
If I was to visit Dubrovnic again I would stay at the hotel Vis again. No swimming pool available nor any entertainment of any sort within the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffTile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for choosing our hotel and our city for your enjoyable holiday.

We are truly glad to see that you were satisfied with hotel location and thank you very much for all the positive comments you made about hotel staff, food quality and hotel cleanliness.

We will make an effort to install small fridges in hotel rooms.

Thank you for your trust and we hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Niko, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 67 in Dubrovnik
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 67 in Dubrovnik
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#61 of 67 in Dubrovnik
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 67 in Dubrovnik
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#46 of 67 in Dubrovnik
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ivka
Hotel Ivka
#36 of 67 in Dubrovnik
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing