We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Vis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vis
Ranked #59 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great location”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Me and my husband stayed at hotel Vis for 4 nights in early October. The cost for 4 nights half board, sea view was £228, which is a great price for what we got. The hotel is in a great location, our sea view room overlooked Lapad Bay which is beautiful. The hotel has a lovely large terrace where you can sit and have a drink with a great view. Bus no. 4 stops directly outside the hotel which takes you to the old city of Dubrovnik, cheap and easy. The breakfast and dinner is ok but not fantastic, the rooms are basic but cleaned every day, there was no lift, however, the price of the hotel was very reasonable so we didn't mind at all. The staff were nice and pleasant. Overall very satisfied with our hotel stay. I strongly recommend a visit to Mostar and Montenegro during your stay in Dubrovnik, these trips can be arranged at the hotel, or through Viator (which I recommend). Dubrovnik is a stunning city drenched in history.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a bit extra for a sea view room and if you have reduced mobility let the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hande_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
According to your review, it seems that you had nice and very pleasant stay in our hotel and the City and that makes us very proud.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with hotel location, excursions we offer, closeness to the Old Town, but the most of all with friendly hotel staff.
Thank you for your recommendations to your friends.
Hopefully see you next year.
Greetings from entire hotel staff.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    218
    177
    76
    67
See reviews for
74
301
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

stayed 4 nights 8-12 oct 2013.
friendly helpful staff,great location for Dubrovnik old town .No4 bus outside front door about £2 or 40 minute walk.
hotel right on sea front with terrace and beach,sea view worth paying for.
Plenty of cafe,restaurants close by (must try cave bar opposite beach,around bay on the walking trail)
Room done everyday
Food fine.Normal array to suit english germans french etc.Not piping hot but microwave provided.Constantly refreshed.
Would definately go again

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are very pleased that we have provided you with the memorable stay in hotel hotel.
Thank you for your compliments to hotel staff and location.
Thank you also for planning to visit us again.
Greetings from the entire hotel staff.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Hotel Vis is in a good location on the Lapad Peninsula. Buses into Dubrovnik stop just across from the hotel every 15 minutes. The staff are friendly and the reception area is bright and has free wiki fii. Access to the hotel is difficult for all but the fittest with a large number of steps down to the entrance and no help offered with luggage. There is no lift so again getting to the dining room or your bedroom isn't easy. There again you will probably only eat once in the dining room, the dining room is reminiscent of school canteens and the food was barely warm, the vegetables were soggy and tasteless and the dessert was the same every night. The rooms are clean but need updating. The pebble beach is only a few metres away but is at the bottom of 2 very steep flights of steps. The snorkelling and swimming in the beautiful bay were both good. The cleaning and waiting staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: A sea view is nice but involves more steps, our side room was quiet with a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penrithperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are aware of hotel shortcomings which we strive to improve and enhance each of them every year.
We are glad that you were pleased with hotel location and good bus connection to the Old Town.
Thank you for your visit.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed at the vis (1st-5th oct.) Found it to be very clean and well maintained, staff were very helpfull.Food was ok, didn't have a complaint about anything.Juice from fruit machine at breakfast really good, not watered down like you find at some hotels.Great location and lovely view across bay from back of hotel.Pebble beach at back of hotel, if you turn right,on the beach and keep walking you can walk right round to other side of the bay where there are numerous spots that have stairs to walk down to sunbath or swim quite privately. A visit to Dubrovnik old town is a must.Buy bus tickets from hotel (cheaper than on the bus) cost about £3 return.Bus every 15min.across from hotel (at yellow post box and 2 benches.)Croatia is lovely and if I do go back I think I would go back to Lapad and the hotel vis.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are very pleased we provided you with unforgettable vacation in our hotel.
Thank you for your compliments to the staff, hotel cleanliness, food and location.
For your next visit, we are going to do everything to make your stay as memorable as it was the first time.
Until the next time, greetings from all hotel staff and myself.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel was clean but tired looking . Some staff were friendly especially the cleaner of our room we gave her the tip. Waiting staff were not so helpful. The food was not good and we ate out on several nights at a hotel across the bay. It was cold and did not look appetising. The bay was lovely and it was a great site for swimming etc. I would not return to this hotel even though I will go back to Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: With a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lollypop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
We are aware that our hotel is not new. However, we are going to do everything we can in order to increase accommodation standards and standards of other hotel segments.
Thank you for your compliments to hotel cleanliness, location, and housekeeping staff.
With regards,
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having been sent to the Hotel Vis at late notice by our travel company, I was disappointed by the number of steps and steep drive on arrival. The lack of lifts made carrying of luggage up to all floors very difficult and awkward for those of us with mobility issues.The hotel was very clean and the staff helpful, but the facilities are very basic- a typical concrete Yugoslavian hotel. Breakfast was ok but evening meals were poor and all the 'hot' choices were lukewarm or cold!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience due to the late notice by your travel company.
Hotel Vis is good three star hotel, although it does not have an elevator.
If we had known in advance that you have mobility issues, we would have found a suitable solution for your stay.
Thank you for the compliments to hotel staff and cleanliness.
We will put all our efforts to improve the standard of dinner – thank you for your observation.
Respectfully,
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dartford
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A fine hotel for three star. Free wi-fi in Reception and bar area. Friendly, helpful staff - particularly the waitresses and housekeeping staff. Happy to practice a bit of Croatian! Our twin room, 231, was adequate in size with a well equipped bathroom and large balcony looking out onto the beautiful Lapad Bay. The seaview rooms face North, so the balconies will never get the sun, but the views more than compensate. There seem to be rooms of varying shapes and sizes. I had a peek into another twin room which was much narrower to the extent that the beds were foot to foot against the same wall. It seemed from the outside that some balconies were somewhat smaller than ours, too. We would have been disappointed to find ourselves in a room smaller than we had. A couple of rooms on the first floor (must have been 125 and 127, I think) had absolutely huge balconies as these were the roofs above the public areas below.

The food was very good, offering a wide variety at both breakfast and dinner. Always a good selection of cereals, breads and rolls, cold meats and cheese, plus the constituent parts of a cooked breakfast. Fresh fruit always available, as well as stewed plums and fruit cocktail, yogurts and the most delicious croissants and little cakes and biscuits. Coffee, teas and fruit juices on tap. Plenty of choice at dinner time also. Always fresh salads, a choice of soups, a mix of "mayonnaise-y" salads and local cheese, pasta dishes (really excellent spag bol), meat, fish and vegetarian dishes and vegetables. A variety of cakes and strudel for dessert. Sadly no icecream! You could easily stay a fortnight and not put together the same meal! The House Red wine was very acceptable and they'll put your bottle aside for you to have next night.

No coffee available at dinner, but a good sized bar terrace overlooking the twinkling lights of the bay, where you can buy a coffee afterwards. The inside bar is very comfortable but bathed in a rather strange pink light!

For some people the number of steps might prove a problem, particularly when bringing in and taking out suitcases. There are no lifts. There are 50 steps in total from the rear doors down to the beach area. The beaches are stoney and you do definitely need something on your feet. Swim shoes are available everywhere, very cheaply, and well worth the outlay. Beds and beach umbrellas are available for hire at a fair price, particularly if you're planning to have an all-day beach-day. There is a snack bar above the beach - bit pricey, we felt.

The hotel is ideally located for getting the bus into Dubrovnik. It stops just across the road to go out and right outside the Vis on your return. The hotel reception sometimes has tickets to buy at 12 kuna per journey (rather than 15 from the driver). If not at reception, then they are available from the little newspaper kiosks all over the place.

The hotel is bright and clean, in a spectacular location. A great benefit is the availability of free safes in Reception- just large enough to store passports and return tickets. If I had to find one failing, it would be that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, meaning you can't have that early morning cuppa! Maybe this is not something that happens in Croatia!

A lovely holiday. I would happily return to the Vis.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank DartfordLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hotel Vis, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your time and your effort to write a detailed review which will definitely help us in our everyday business.
We also thank you for all your compliments.
We will do our best and more to make your holidays pleasant for your next visit.
Until the next time, greetings from the entire hotel staff.
Niko Zuhovic, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#38 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#41 of 68 in Dubrovnik
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#48 of 68 in Dubrovnik
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vis

Property: Hotel Vis
Address: Masarykov Put 4 | Lapad Bay, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vis 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and comfortable hotel Vis is ideal for family vacation and for all those who like to relax on the beach as it is located directly on the clear blue Adriatic Sea in the Bay of Lapad. The view of Elafiti Islands at sunset will most definitely become one of the most cherished images of your vacation. The cozy and comfortable, pleasantly equipped and air-conditioned rooms open onto balconies with views of the pine tree forest or the beautiful blue sea. You can enjoy your complimentary breakfast in our main restaurant featuring one of Dubrovnik's most beautiful terraces with magnificent sea view. You can also enjoy light Mediterranean meals or just have a cold drink in our Lido beach bar. The popular Lapad Bay promenade with numerous restaurants and cafes is in walking distance, and a bus stop to the Old town is just in front of the hotel. A regular bus line will get you there in 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vis Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Vis Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing